Reviews - Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel


Fitzwilliam Arms, Taylors Lane, Rotherham, S62 6EE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • david w

  • October 2015

Great value

Easy to find and handy for town - clean and staff friendly and helpful.

  • S Edim

  • August 2015

Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel

I have stayed several times this hotel, very valuable for,the cost,, yes u can find few thinks in room like damaged ceiling, but it's it's clean and comfortable

  • Ian Roberts

  • April 2015

Change from my normal venue, leap of faith.

Not my normal venue but booked on the fly as an alternative.

I use Rotherham hotels to stay in to see my daughter and my usual venue was fully booked. This is not for families or young children. It's a social club for the Ron Hull Group of Companies that has working men's accommodation above a pub and social club. Got there at nine pm but no food and bar packed so staff focus was on the bar not guests. Room immaculate and locals extremely friendly. Breakfasts are nice but need a prepaid voucher and a set working mans meal so no choice. Room was above a function room that's hired out at weekends so extremely noisy. Great for a working man or traveller during the week who needs a room and breakfast and great value for money and immaculately clean rooms but that is its target clientele.

  • Shane Smith

  • February 2015

Last Minute Booking

This is excellent value for money.

Does exactly what it says on the tin. The attached function room was lively so avoid if you have small children. Very nice atmosphere in the Bar / Lounge very friendly locals.

  • w hall

  • December 2014

Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel

The hotel was very clean and tidy but we were disapointed to find they stopped selling food from 2pm and we had to walk miles to another pub for our evening meal.

  • d wilkinson

  • December 2014

great hotel and fantastic price although in industrial estate.

Does what it says on the tin on a budget but clean with goid beds.

  • B Lambert

  • December 2014

Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel

Stayed with family for wedding celebrations.

Arrived just after 6pm, reception was closed so obtained keys from bar but staff seemed a little unsure of what to do and didn't give us much information about our stay regarding meals etc. The Bar Meal we had was excellent, the wedding reception and evening buffet was beautifully prepared and served. We also had breakfast both mornings, again there was a little confusion amongst the guests regarding breakfast as it wasn't clear that this had to be paid for before ordering. Also having paid by card, when I went to sort the breakfasts out at Reception I wasn't given the opportunity to pay by cash it was automatically taken from my card and I wasn't given a receipt for it. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would probably use the hotel again when in the area.

  • John F

  • November 2014

A real curate's egg

The Good - we stayed in the bridal suite which was a very large room with a good bathroom (although the toilet seat was broken and the bath panel was adrift.

Free wifi which was OK

Nice lady on reception who was clearly embarrassed about some of the failings so gave us vouchers for a free breakfast - which was OK - a good British fry up... The bad - the hotel had taken our money in advance - which they admitted they should not have done. The TV had no remote and despite promised one was never forthcoming. No food available on either the Saturday or Sunday night

Our room card didn't work on day 2 - i.e. despite booking two nights they only programmed it for one

Noise!!. - being over the entrance was a disaster on the Saturday night. We were treated to the smokers effing and blinding until the small hours. Sunday was silent - bliss

Day one - plastic tumblers - which we used - but were not replaced on day two. One one hand towel provided - we asked for a second but that never appeared - bit of a pattern here!

  • E Bayliss

  • October 2014

Not ideal if you want to get to sleep before 12am as you can hear everyword of the karaoke

Not good experience.

Noise was so loud . not ideal if you want to get some sleep before midnight.. Double bed was two singles which would have been ok but they were not level. The good side big room but Far to pricey for what we got .

  • J Ward

  • October 2014

Sleep is the key to a good night stay and didnt get it here. Suffered badly for lack of it.

Cleanliness of room, excellent.

Bed was good. Decor of room was good. All this is completely irrelevant if you cannot get any sleep. Walls are paper thin. You can hear the conversations of the people next door and any activity in the corridor could be heard. I stayed 3 nights and you quickly realise that you are at the mercy of everyone elses movements. Whoever gets up first, will wake you and whoever gets to bed latest will wake you. If you want any sleep; do not stay here.