No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Fitzwilliam Arms, Taylors Lane , Rotherham, S62 6EE
We are a family run hotel that has invested greatly in the Fitzwilliam Arms, all the rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard, there is free WiFi in the public areas and freeview TV's in all the rooms.

We are situated in Rotherham, just a five minute walk from the Parkgate Shopping Centre and only 15 minutes from Meadowhall, and easy reach of Motorpoint Arena

The Hotel is pleased to offer en-suite 3 star accomodation, free car parking and our own onsite public house where you can relax with a drink or a meal with proper home cooked meals.

PLEASE NOTE the hotel holds regular functions and events in the bar and function room which is licenced until 12 during week and up to 1 am at
weekends
Picture of Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel, Rotherham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel and fantastic price although in industrial estate.
Does what it says on the tin on a budget but clean with goid beds.

Reviewed by
d wilkinson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel
The hotel was very clean and tidy but we were disapointed to find they stopped selling food from 2pm and we had to walk miles to another pub for our evening meal.

Reviewed by
w hall

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel
Stayed with family for wedding celebrations. Arrived just after 6pm, reception was closed so obtained keys from bar but staff seemed a little unsure of what to do and didn't give us much information about our stay regarding meals etc. The Bar Meal we had was excellent, the wedding reception and evening buffet was beautifully prepared and served. We also had breakfast both mornings, again there was a little confusion amongst the guests regarding breakfast as it wasn't clear that this had to be paid for before ordering. Also having paid by card, when I went to sort the breakfasts out at Reception I wasn't given the opportunity to pay by cash it was automatically taken from my card and I wasn't given a receipt for it. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would probably use the hotel again when in the area.

Reviewed by
B Lambert

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real curate's egg
The Good - we stayed in the bridal suite which was a very large room with a good bathroom (although the toilet seat was broken and the bath panel was adrift.
Free wifi which was OK
Nice lady on reception who was clearly embarrassed about some of the failings so gave us vouchers for a free breakfast - which was OK - a good British fry up...
The bad - the hotel had taken our money in advance - which they admitted they should not have done. The TV had no remote and despite promised one was never forthcoming.
No food available on either the Saturday or Sunday night
Our room card didn't work on day 2 - i.e. despite booking two nights they only programmed it for one
Noise!!! - being over the entrance was a disaster on the Saturday night. We were treated to the smokers effing and blinding until the small hours. Sunday was silent - bliss
Day one - plastic tumblers - which we used - but were not replaced on day two.
One one hand towel provided - we asked for a second but that never appeared - bit of a pattern here!

Reviewed by
John F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not ideal if you want to get to sleep before 12am as you can hear everyword of the karaoke
Not good experience. Noise was so loud . not ideal if you want to get some sleep before midnight.. Double bed was two singles which would have been ok but they were not level. The good side big room but Far to pricey for what we got .

Reviewed by
E Bayliss

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly Hotel
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and the prices for food and beers were very reasonable, the room I stayed in was very nice, I have paid a lot more for rooms not as good as this.

Reviewed by
D Davison

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and friendly reception staff. Good bed and shower. Warm room. Good car park. Breakfast chef was grumpy next morning when we went in the breakfast lounge before 10am for a coffe. We were sat down drinking coffee when he came into the room. He was very sharp and without any politeness said "Have you paid for breakfast". I replied that we were only having coffee. He quickly removed all coffe, sugar etc. Strange man. Good job I'm laid back.

Reviewed by
david segal

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleep is the key to a good night stay and didnt get it here. Suffered badly for lack of it.
Cleanliness of room, excellent. Bed was good. Decor of room was good. All this is completely irrelevant if you cannot get any sleep. Walls are paper thin. You can hear the conversations of the people next door and any activity in the corridor could be heard. I stayed 3 nights and you quickly realise that you are at the mercy of everyone elses movements. Whoever gets up first, will wake you and whoever gets to bed latest will wake you. If you want any sleep; do not stay here.

Reviewed by
J Ward

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the female receptionist was very polite helpful and accomodating

Reviewed by
HADLEY FOX

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fitzwilliam
Very comfortable room , staff very helpfull , good food

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Barmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next