Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > East Sussex > Hailsham Hotels > Cleavers Lyng 16th Century Country House
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cleavers Lyng 16th Century Country House

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Cleavers Lyng, Church Road, Cleavers Lyng Church Road, Herstmonceux, BN271QJ
Cleavers Lyng is a unique grade II listed luxury country house of considerable charm and character dating back to 1577. A 4 star highly commended, property, privately owned and operated. The house is situated in a quiet country lane, a 5 min walk to Herstmonceux Castle or 1.5 miles from Herstmonceux Village and benefits from panoramic uninterrupted views over the Pevensey flats towards the South Downs. Our location is peaceful and has beautiful surroundings, with very many country walks from our door. We are an ideal location for the Sussex Weald, 1066 country and the South Downs and many local beaches. Why not hop onto the famous 1066 walk, with its 32 miles of tracks, just a 5 min walk from our door.
The house sits in one and half acres of secluded landscaped gardens, which is ablaze with colour during spring and summer months and benefits from a large private parking area.
Our quality rooms are double-bedded, individually furnished and fully en-suite with flat panel TV with integrated DVD/CD player. Along with radio alarm and hospitality trays, iron and ironing boards, free WIFI. One room with balcony, which has super-king bed or converts to a twin. Some rooms with fridge. Our Top Room suite with panoramic views and sitting room, super- king bed. In the winter months sit and relax by our open inglenook fireplace with a glass of wine and enjoy a roaring real wood log fire.
The entire house is strictly non-smoking. The village has a bistro, two pubs and two restaurants. One Indian and one French.
For those that love to shop we a short car drive to the fashionable spa town of Royal Tunbridge Wells and Brighton with its Royal Pavillion and quirky lanes or visit Victorian Eastbourne with its many Theatre’s, carpet gardens and pier and of course the National Park of the South Downs and Seven Sisters. Cleavers Lyng is also surrounded by many National Trust properties and superb gardens all waiting for you to visit.
Picture of Cleavers Lyng 16th Century Country House, Herstmonceux at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gentler Pulse and a Fresher Awakening
The house is situated near the end of a rural cul-de-sac straddling the Prime Meridian, where no through traffic disturbs the visitor's sleep and where the Greenwich Observatory found a site from which to observe the night skies unpolluted by the lights of the city. So the visitor feels as if they are resting on the principal artery of the world, yet where, for the length of one's stay, Greenwich Mean Time relaxes it's insistent pulse and allows the sounds of the woodland and the singing of birds to set a slower rhythm.
Inside the house, classical music gently welcomes the guest and the lower ceilings of another century wrap you in fresh linen and give you a deeper sleep and a fresher awakening. Sally's breakfast is unhurried, generous and offers the kind of choice you would never expect at an early hour, and if you have time, as we had, you may leave your car at the house and take a stroll to Herstmonceux church, which stands on a site of pre-Christian wonder and worship, and commands a view accross the fields to the site of England's last invasion. I'm not surpised that when they had marched accross Pevensey Levels, and found shelter in this ancient forest, the Normans decided that this is where they would make their new home. A special place to rest a while.

Reviewed by
Stephen Knowers

From Estonia
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Still good second time round
Breakfast deserves a rating off the scale. Superb location, excellent standards, and dogs allowed.

Reviewed by
R Proffitt

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, lovely stay
Sally the proprietor made us feel very welcome. took us to our room and pointed out all the facilities of the room. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasted fantastic ,with a lot of choice.She even got our room cleaned to our convenience as we were going to a wedding.

Reviewed by
jan s

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended for families with young children
Although I thought this a lovely house with beautiful gardens, and the family suite huge, I had serious issues with its lack of family friendliness. The main issue being that (as previously stated in a couple of other reviews) the family suite at the top runs over the 4 double bedrooms on the middle floor. There is next to no sound insulation between these floors and consequently any sound made by young children in the family suite reverberates down onto the privacy of the 4 double bedrooms. I have to say that it was next to impossible not to make any noise in the family suite as the floorboards are so creaky and resonant. As such, we felt very ill at ease, and had to tread extremely softly throughout the whole duration of our stay; it really impaired our stay as a family. Never have I been so aware of how mobile our 2 young children are. I think there is a serious problem in the configuration of the house; the middle floor being comprised of 4 double bedrooms which will presumably suit couples who want a quiet night away; and yet immediately above them runs a huge suite that can only suit a family, and yet there is absolutely no sound insulation between them. All I can say is that the house must have a perennial issue with couples being disturbed by children above them. A final note, when I booked with Late Rooms, I did add a note asking if there was a cot at all for my 18 month child. I received no answer to my query and on arriving in the family suite, could see no cot; only single beds, with no bed guards, totally unsuited to a very young child. I resorted to putting down cushions on the floor and building my own cot. So although I did like the house, the gardens and the area, I am writing this review primarily so that families with young children in the future might be aware of my personal experience.

Reviewed by
L MO

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was absolutely astounded by the entire time we spent there,it was 5 star throughout.wonderful peace and quiet.just what we needed.

Reviewed by
j mooney

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice out of the way property
If you are after a very quiet relaxing location, then this property should be on your list, otherwise look elsewhere. Accommodation was very comfortable, clean and the food was excellent. Good choice of local pubs within a few miles radius for evening meals.

Reviewed by
B Allen

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I enjoyed a three night wedding anniversary break and Sally is an excellent host. A good night's sleep, good food and beautiful property and surroundings. Sally even dug up a plant from her garden for us to take home!

Reviewed by
Martin C

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful B&B
Immacuately presented with a wealth of charm & period features set in beautiful grounds with lovely views, wish we had longer ( stayed 1 x night) gorgeous breakfast would highly recommend!

Reviewed by
vicki elms

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing views, accommodation and breakfast highly recommended for couples
Very lovely guest house with fantastic views and even more fantastic breakfasts. Well placed for the castle and science centre, both highly recommended, and close to Eastbourne. Our 2 bed suite was lovely, it ran across the top floor of the house with the other 4 guest bedrooms underneath. This unfortunately raises a problem for young families. The owner seemed extremely stressed about our children aged 9, 7 and 4, and rather over emphasised that running about was not allowed as it would disturb the other guests below. Fair enough, but the point was laboured somewhat and we felt very self conscious. Our children are well behaved, but they are children, and it put a bit of a damper on things as we were constantly telling them to shhh so as not to upset anyone. This was the same at breakfast too. I would highly recommend this place for couples and those with older children, but not for under 10's. A shame as it accommodated our family of five perfectly with respect to bedrooms and space, not an easy task!

Reviewed by
Sarah F

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lots of space in our top floor suite, and a fabulous breakfast. This is beautiful place, and the pub recommendations for supper were also good.

Reviewed by
Edith F

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next