Reviews - Donnington Valley Hotel Golf and Spa


Oxford Road Donnington, Newbury, RG14 3AG

Price From 207 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • June L

  • April 2015

This hotel is superb, & the staff excellent nothing was to much trouble.The first roOm we were allocated had a perststent drone & we were unable to sleep, the following morning we were allocated an executive room which was superb, the staff even offered to help us move our belongings, excellent customer service !!!!!!!!

  • george davis

  • November 2014

Perfect hotel made a perfect weekend

Stayed at donnington for two nights for my girlfriends 22nd, the hotel was absolutely amazing, very posh but not so posh that you feel out of place.

The spa was brilliant and the food was exceptional, very modern restaurant. The staff were super friendly and the room was great, I would definitely stay here again, they rang me up a few days before to makesure they had gotten all my special requirements ie birthday cake Etc so that just made it even better, all in all 10/10 it was perfect.

  • Caren E

  • November 2014

Fantastic hotel with amazing spa facilities.

Great room and great food. Very good customer service and the staff were very friendly and very helpful.

  • Leonard W

  • August 2014

Hotel does not have ambience.

The bar staff were pleasant but not well trained. Dining experience very good, food was excellent. Think hotel may need refurb and brightening up somehow. Not a holiday destination more a business/conference venue.

  • B Kanda

  • July 2014

Terrible hotel not value for money more like a 1*

I booked this place for my husbands 30th birthday and the first break for our 6 month daughter.

before I booked I called to ask if children can use the pool facilities and what times they can use them. Upon reach we checked in and once we got to the pool my 6 month daughter was

Not allowed in the pool as it is only open till 5 for children. The duty manager was extremely unhelpful when I complained I was not told this information on the phone. Also the pool reopened for children at 10am and checkout is at 11am.

I also found the £5 room service charge rediculous how can carrying a try cost that much just for 1 drink. The food in the restaurant was pub food and we were charged over a hundred pounds for this.

I had been recommended this spa by a family member but I got nothing but disappointment from this place and it ruined what I had planned for my husbands birthday. Very unhappy with the service and bad management in this place would definetely not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Dave C

  • July 2014

Lovely Anniversary weekender!

We popped away for a weekend together, wanting a hotel near Oxford, with a pool and sauna.

The Donnington fitted the bill and had the availability. We liked our swim and sauna, these areas were nicely kept and clean. The facilities, hair dryers and costume dryers were good also. The bedroom was tidy and very comfortable and clean. The bed was big and comfortable, linen was clean and fresh. The bathroom was clean and nicely presented, but if you were nitpicking, there were signs of wear and tear evident in the fittings. Food wise we just had the buffet breakfast, which generally was fine, most of the usual food was available. I did have BBQ sauce put on my food instead of the Brown requested (without apology) but that was scraped off my egg and replaced with the Brown requested. Overall our stay was fine we had a nice time .

  • K Andrews

  • June 2014

Nice Stay

Good stay with pleasant staff and good facilities.

  • Stephen B

  • April 2014

Clean and comfortable

An overnight stay to attend a local wedding, we had a clean comfortable well presented room, would have been nice to stay longer to sample the spa.