No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ragged Cot

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, , Stroud, GL6 8PE
Located in the heart of the Cotswolds, The Ragged Cot is a proper country inn with rooms, a local sanctuary with an excellent choice of food and drink. Dating back to the 17th Century, The Ragged Cot is a traditional Cotswolds coaching inn set beside 600 acres of National Trust common land, with 9 contempary bedrooms . Come and enjoy relaxing in comfortable surroundings – from our rambling gardens to roaring fires and deep armchairs. Whether it’s a quick pint with some homemade bar snacks or a three course feast, a warm welcome awaits. Our seasonal menus offers great pub food so why not grab a spot by one of the fireplaces, or in our garden Wellies and dogs welcome in public areas.
Picture of The Ragged Cot, Stroud at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet comfortable excellence
beautiful building, elegant and well appointed comfortable rooms with all mod cons. Friendly professional staff with a can do attitude. Food locally sourced and well presented. Worth a visit just to explore and admire the artwork and displays. Great place to 'get away from it all'.

Reviewed by
vivien k

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service was absolutely superb. owner and staff went out of their way to look aftre us. certainly go again and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Clitheroe, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent overnight stay
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening staying at the Ragged Cott. The room was a reasonable size and clean. The wi-fi signal did not work in our room. The food was very good and enjoyable. The staff were friendly and efficient. Lots of interesting and quirky things adorn the hotel.

Reviewed by
N Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic place to stay

We only stayed for two nights but are going to go back again,the staff were great and Stewart the owner was very helpful,the food at breakfast was excellent and the evening meal was even better at a reasonable price.
As for the rooms,outstanding, we were even supplied with thick toweling bath robes,this review does not do justice as to how good it is to stay at the Ragged Cot.
Many thanks for a lovely stay Debbie&Colin,Plymouth

Reviewed by
colin wright

From plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we had No 8, was exceptionally clean & well maintained. The only issue we had was the the room was very hot. A little too hot in fact. Not sure why this was as radiator in the room were not on!!. I doubt it would be too much of a problem during the winter months but this was August. Not a complaint as such more a word to the wise..

Reviewed by
M Mernin

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room
Room 2 is delightful, well laid out and spacious. Very comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
E Murray

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Amalgam
. . . of pub with hotel style approach. Enthusiasm and helpfulness of staff would be hard to beat.- if there is a down side, it's the proximity of a septic tank (but probably only noticeable in warm weather!)
Well themed decor.

Reviewed by
Susanne E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay with good food and great staff.

Reviewed by
BARRY SCHOLES

From Girvan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely time and enjoyed our stay but the room was roasting, despite the radiators being off. It felt as though there was under-floor heating, although we were told there wasn't. That said, this was a minor complaint, and we had a great stay. Bed was wonderfully comfy. Firm, but comfortable.

Reviewed by
R Tuley

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so ragged

Reviewed by
Peter Howley

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next