Reviews - The Ragged Cot


Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton,, Stroud, GL6 8PE

Price From 138.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (32)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jean S

  • July 2015

Excellent stopover and for the Cotswolds

We spent 3 very comfortable nights in a superior double room.

The bed was excellent. Would have liked a table (thought the wide window sill was a substitute) hence 5 rather than 6 for the quality of the room. This is a very convenient stopover for travelling to the south west. We spent time exploring the western part of the Cotswolds. There are some lovely views.

  • Valerie Gillibrand

  • July 2015

The Ragged Cot

The stay was excellent.

We also stayed the Friday before as a stop off on our way to Cornwall.

  • Carole D

  • July 2015

Superb stay in beautifully developed historical setting

An overnight stay was needed as we travelled to Cornwall on Thurs night.

What a lovely find at an agreeable price. The Ragged Cot was beyond my expectations. A beautifully refurbished and extended restaurant\public house with b n bs. Oak beams flagged floors busy bar and restaurant. Lovely well appointed rooms modern and beautifully clean. A delightfully comfy 5ft bed for we older folks!!. Breakfast was limited for cereal toast and yoghurt but cooked breakfast choice well presented cooked and large. We ate in the restaurant at night prices higher for the venue than we would have paid at home but guess this is Middle England. It would have been good to have rolls instead, or even as well as, the packaged sliced variety. Or even croissants and fruit. I had salmon on curried lentils in the evening. Not a good choice. Asked for fish to be pink in the middle didn't happen but was tasty. Curried lentils does not work with fish believe me. Feel chef trying too hard to be different. My husband had burger which was pink in the middle and tasty. We like food slightly underdone so not a problem but we spied other burgers very very pink. Not sure!!!. The menu was comprehensive with lots of choice but wished I'd chosen more simple fayre. Food was promptly cooked served hot and attractively presented. Wine by the glass was average prices as was my husbands beer. Overall a pleasing experience. A good place to stop just off main route near Stroud. Thank you. Staff were friendly attentive and helpful. This place is due for further extension and the owner has a real eye for a great business opportunity. Well done a success keep up the good work.

  • Moya Johnson-|Germaine

  • April 2015

The Ragged Cot

Property, decor and furnishings, very interesting and good quality.

Situated in lovely countryside.

Out of four rooms our party booked, all were nicely furnished, adequate storage space but none had good facilities for the ladies. No table or dressing table or lighting with mirror for make up and hair.

  • K Gunderson

  • April 2015

Good hotel in great location!

A delightful inn located in the gorgeous Cotswolds.

Very good location for exploring other parts of the area.

The room came equipped with two hot water bottles which, sadly, we didn't need to use. The room wasn't the quietest. We could hear the telly and the conversations of the people in the room above. The heated towel rack made the shower a bit like a sauna. Very nicely decorated room and comfortable with the added bonus of a Bose sound system.

Staff were very friendly.

A very pleasant place to stay where can eat and drink without having to drive anywhere afterwards.

  • j amron

  • March 2015

The Ragged Cot


  • john harrison

  • March 2015

2 day break

Exceeded expectations and the staff were very friendly and most helpful.

  • K James

  • February 2015

Excellent hotel in a beautiful area.

There was only one problem and that was the wifi signal did not work for us both on a Ipad and on a tablet.

Hotel is class.

  • S Wilson

  • February 2015

High expectations sadly not met

I was really looking forward to staying at the Ragged Cot.

My husband had stayed whilst on business some months before and had raved about it and as it was dog friendly it was ideally placed for us all to stay en-route from South Wales to Dorset. Our welcome was warm and friendly but then somewhat marred when we were told that our dogs were no longer able to stay in the bedroom. We were in Room 6 which was beautifully designed and decorated with excellent quality linens and fittings, but this proved somewhat of a disadvantage. The shower head was too high on the wall to reach and adjust the direction of the spray and the hot/cold water controls were positioned so we were unable to run hot water for either a bath or the shower. There was hot water in the sink however this was designed without a plug so we were unable to fill it up for a wash. Also whilst a hairdryer was provided the only socket to plug it into was too far from the mirror to be able to see properly whilst using it. The meal we had in the restaurant was superb and all the staff were (without exception) helpful and friendly. However, had we known that the dogs were to spend the night in the car (in temperatures of -3) and we would be unable to have a bath or shower we would probably have chosen to stay elsewhere.

  • G Wood

  • February 2015

5 Star!

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Ragged Cot.

The staff were superb, the accommodation perfect and the food high quality but great value. Cannot recommend the Ragged Cot highly enough.