No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Osborne Rd, Jesmond, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2TB
*Hotel completely non-smoking* Personally operated hotel in quiet suburban area, with a consistent reputation for good food, friendly and efficient service, in a warm and congenial atmosphere. Ideally situated for commercial area, shopping, rural and historic attractions. A welcoming and comfortable base for business and tourist clientele alike. Lower rates available at weekends.
Picture of BEST WESTERN New Kent Hotel, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Best Western uniform standard, shame about the thin walls!
I booked to stay here as it was good value for money and a known brand, which lived up to the standard I would expect from a Best Western. The staff were friendly and approachable. Unfortunately this hotel has very thin walls - I was woken up by snoring coming from adjacent rooms or people getting out of bed noisily both nights I stayed. It was also Christmas party season and my room was directly over the sound system for the function room on the floor below - vibrating floorboards and no possibility of sleep before the 1130pm curfew. Staff were apologetic and I managed to negotiate a free breakfast for the inconvenience, but were unable to move me to a different room as the hotel was full. I would prefer to have been made aware of the issue prior to booking. If I was better at sleeping through noise, I might stay here again!

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty Kettle in the room which left a burn on my hand.
In summary, kettle was faulty so failed health and safety regs in my opinion. Informed the night receptionist of this incident who accused me of causing this accident myself being under the influence of alcohol when in fact the only drink i had since arriving was water. nothing was recorded in the accident book and no signature was asked for to confirm this had taken place. Have requested the situation be resolved within 24 hours. If this happens then great, if not, i have made aware I will be seeking legal action on the franchise hotel.
Entered the room and could not turn off radiators nor could I turn on the TV. Did not complain about this as I had my laptop to keep me company.

Reviewed by
D Wardle

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
A Bradley

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apart from the bed being very hard the hotel was lovely

Reviewed by
Helen R

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

...and a decent bathroom
Staying for just 1 night it was the price which drew me first to this hotel. £40 for 1 night is pretty reasonable. I wasn't sure what I would get for that as I have stayed in some pretty grim 'single' rooms in the past, however I was pleasently surprised by room #19.
Very spacious, clean and well decorated. Large flat screen TV, tea & coffee and a decent bathroom.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will probably stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
M Gledhill

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money in Jesmond with a friendly welcome
I was met with a friendly welcome and the hotel was happy to look after my bag for several hours after I checked out. The room was comfortable, though the TV reception was awful on anything other than BB1 and 2.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great North Run weekend
Although busy, staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
The New Kent offers comfortable and clean accommodation, very good value for money and has a great location in Jesmond, comfortable surroundings and a great find.

Reviewed by
Neal C

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel good location
Lovely clean room nice touch withi toiletries on the wall. Only drawback not a lot of car parking space . Would definately stay here again .

Reviewed by
Isabel N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impression
Nice place to stay, staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Michael Wilson

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next