No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Central Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
8 Hill Street, , , Edinburgh, EH2 3JZ
Welcome to Edinburgh Central Guest House. Located in the heart of the city,whether for business or pleasure, Edinburgh Central Guest House offers a good standard of accommodation with the best of scottish hospitality. This 3 storey Georgian Townhouse is situated in the relaxed and tranquil Hill Street which is only a stones throw from George Street. The Edinburgh Central Guest house in a perfect spot to explore the wonderful and historic city of Edinburgh where guests can enjoy the surrounding attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street Gardens, Holyrood Palace and the famous Royal Mile. We are only a short walk to the Waverley main railway station also close proximity to Edinburgh International Airport. You will find the very best of Edinburgh's shopping, restaurants and nightlife right on the doorstep. Why not take a wander into the Oxford Bar where you may see Inspector Rebus enjoying a pint of 80! Edinburgh's tourist attractions are also easily within reach, including Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. Why not walk in the Gardens in Princes Street, dare to go up the Scott Monument, the highest decking view is reached by a total of 287 steps. Morag and Paul
Picture of Edinburgh Central Guest House, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good guest house
We were very pleased with our choice of accomodation. Very clean, spacious bedroom, large bathroom, excellent location, very welcoming host. It is a pity that there wasn't any cooked breakfast however our main concern was the amount of road noise that we could hear in our room. The hotel is on a cobbled street and our room had single glazed sash windows. The amount of noise that came into the room, especially at night, from passing traffic took the edge off our stay as we couldn't get a good nights sleep which is a great pity as the accomodation was so comfortable otherwise. We would stay here again however we wouldn't want to have a room at the front of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Joseph H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Managed to book the room last minute and couldn't believe how cheap it was. A lovely room and right in the city centre which was perfect. The continental breakfast was lovely the next day and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. Would have preferred to have had an ensuite bathroom but for the price we paid we can't really complain about that! Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Victoria L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central
Great for overnights in the middle of things

Reviewed by
Rod M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and modern guest house in the heart of Edinburgh New Town
Morag is very attentive and puts you at your ease by taking the initiative, e.g. asking what time you expect to arrive and making sure you are met- even though it maybe before your check in time so you can drop your case off.
Also, on departure date the option to leave your case till nearer your travel time is freely offered - again this was a relief to us.
The rooms were well appointed and modern with good quality linen and towels - we were only staying fro one night however a longer stay would have been comfortable.
Edinburgh is a large, cosmopolitan and vibrant city, as you are staying at the heart of it - like other city centre hotels I have stayed in you do hear the noises of the city - we did not have a problem with this.
If you think you will be disturbed by this then you need to stay out of the city centre - it is not the hotel's fault and you will have no one to blame but yourself.
Breakfast is continental however there is a comprehensive selection on offer and we are converts.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
We had a great time in Edinburgh and the accommodation was ideal for our stay, well located and very clean! Host was very helpful! Some noise noted from traffic but really Couldn't fault the guest house at all! Will definitely be returning within the near future! Would highly recommend!!

Reviewed by
r mckeown

From quigleys point, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, comfortable, generous
Came to Edinburgh for weekend with 13 year old son. Morag (who runs the guest house) was really warm, welcoming & friendly - as was the house itself. She provided a fantastic continental style breakfast, and was happy for us to eat in our room instead if we preferred, and encouraged us to take food with us for lunch too.
The guest house is fantastically located; everything we wanted to see in our weekend being within walking distance - including Waverley Station.
If there was any slight discomfort, it was that on one occasion, the shared bathroom next to our room was in use by someone else for a rather lengthy time. In the end, I decided to nip upstairs to find another to use, so no real big deal. The room was very well sound-proofed too, so having the bathroom next door was no disruption at all.
Big towels & fleecy dressing gowns provided.
I'd highly recommend.
Thanks Morag for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Fiona G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent b&b in Edinburgh
Very good central location. Less than 5 mins walk to Princes Street.
Lots of good pubs and restaurants very close by.

Reviewed by
ANDREW K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

British Open golf break
Stayed for 2 nights during the British Open.
Ideal for an Edinburgh break - only 400 yards from the shops in Princes street.
Double bed was firm and very comfortable.
Clean and modern separate shared bathroom.
Room was sheltered from the sun during one of the hottest days of the year, so was pleasantly cool.

Reviewed by
M Withe

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelent room close to town centre great choice at brekfast i would recommend this guest house to anybody looking for good value accomadation

Reviewed by
c urquhart

From Alness, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
I walked into this lovely building which was like stepping back in time and I was immediately taken with it. I had a pretty room that looked over the narrow and quiet street. This was a brief walk uphill from Princes Street which was very convenient. Unfortunately I had to leave early in the morning and it was before breakfast was served, so I've no idea if the food was good or not. I would like to return to Edinburgh in the future and would have no hesitation about staying here again.

Reviewed by
C Cuthbert

From N Bennington, USA
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next