No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Hart Stow Limited

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Square, , , Stow On The Wold, GL54 1AF
Stow on the Wold is a lovely market town featuring mellow Cotswold stone buildings some of which date back as far as the 12th Century including parts of the White Hart Stow itself!. The large Market Square signifies the town’s former importance as at one end stands the town ‘stocks’ and the other an ancient cross. Surrounding The Square are many interesting and individual shops including a number of antique shops, art galleries, a handmade chocolate shop, country clothing and cook shops and much much more. If you would like some exercise, you can also reach some of the pretty neighbouring villages just a short distance away on foot via bridleways and footpaths. The White Hart Stow is perfectly placed for those wishing to visit the Cotswolds including Moreton in Marsh, Broadway, Chipping Campden, Bourton on the Water, The Slaughters, Bibury, Burford, Blenheim Palace at Woodstock and many other places too. Our Dining Room features a log fire, well spaced tables and interesting artifacts. However if you wish to eat more informally then why not choose our relaxed bar, not to mention the delicious food. All food is sourced locally, and prepared on the premises to ensure that your satisfaction is met.
Picture of The White Hart Stow Limited, Stow On The Wold at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff.Nothing too much trouble

Reviewed by
R Wood

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonky Floors
When we were first shown to our rooms we had the comment "from here, you tend to run straight into your room, but watch the step and your head as you go into your room". They weren't joking. The rooms were very badly subsided. Our room (approx 10' x 12') had a "10 in 1" incline, and not only in one direction either. Up 2 VERY steep sloping steps into the bathroom and yet another incline. VERY STRANGE. If we were planning on staying longer, we would have asked for a refund and booked out. The food served in the restaurant was good but very over-priced for the amount you got. We left the table still feeling hungry, and that's definitely not usual for us.

Reviewed by
Yvonne D

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect spot
A perfect spot to tour the Cotswolds from. A friendly, helpful place with excellent food. Dinner was a lovely experience but would have liked cloth serviettes.

Reviewed by
R Bunnett

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character hotel
Dont be put off by the outside appearence - this place, at the moment, lacks kerbside appeal, however inside things were good. Excellent staff, very friendly, superb meals in the dining room with a good menu choice. Our room was clean, comfortable and a good size. In the last 6 months new owners have taken over and are making improvements, the back garden was being paved whilst we were there and will be a good area for pre meal drinks. Would certainly go back again.

Reviewed by
wendy c

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxation at its best.
The white Hart proved to a really good break.It is right in the center of stow with easy bus route to surrounding areas.The room was clean and the bed very comfy.All good for a relaxing weekend.

Reviewed by
c edgar

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant surprise
The reviews on the website were not that great but as they were from a couple of years ago decided to chance it and what a pleasant surprise . Great location , great owners , superb food . Room was full of character and although a little pricey at £100 pn well worth it .

Reviewed by
B Carter

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for relaxing weekend
This Hotel is in a perfect location as Stow on the wold has many shops and pubs to visit if you want a change of venue from the White Hart. We visited the Hotel last year when there was different management and when we initially arrived the welcome this time was no way as warm but having said that after the first evening conversation did start to flow with staff . The only negative would be that the rooms could do with painting as a few scuffed walls but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom lovely. We will certainly look to return probably book a room with a bath next time as we only had a shower in our room. Food was very good , not big portions but that didn't matter as the quality was good especially the steaks. A very relaxing break indeed.

Reviewed by
Kim C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The White Hart Stow Limited
The owners of the hotel are really friendly and welcoming and the service is excellent, we had a meal in the restaurant on the first night and it was very good the breakfast was just as good, the room was very clean and comfortable and we will definately be returning in the summer.

Reviewed by
D Tagg

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Costly but the food makes up for it
The room itself was clean and well proportioned however the bath is not big enough for two and the walls were very thin we had the joys of the people in the next room arguing at 1am but if you can ignore that stow is beautiful and the food is beautiful. So enjoy!

Reviewed by
A Day

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixed bag
Was very pleasantly surprised on arrival to be shown to our lovely room by the owner of the establishment and thought we'd got ourselves an amazing bargain bagging this hotel for such a good rate. Hotel was well situated and beautifully decorated although a little shabby in some communal areas. Spent the evening exploring the surrounding area and having a gorgeous meal at Stow Lodge returning exhausted at around 11pm only to find the bar packed to the rafters with German tourists singing at the top of their lungs. Not being able to get anywhere near the bar we decided to retire to our room. This is when the downside to our bargain came to light. Our room was situated directly above the bar and we were unable to hear ourselves think let alone sleep until they left around 12.30 we turned the tv up loud to try to drown out the noise but even this did not help. Even after they left the hotel they stood on the street outside and were very noisy and as the building only has single glazed windows we could hear everything. Other revellers returning to their rooms after this woke us as the stairway isn't carpeted and you had to walk past our room to get to the other rooms in the hotel. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and almost made the stay worthwhile.

Reviewed by
Mary Timms

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3