No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hamilton Road, Strathaven, ML10 6SZ
The Best Western Strathaven Hotel is Three-Star AA and Three-Star Tourist Board rated hotel, which is owned and managed by the Macintyre family. The management and staff pride themselves on the quality of the food and the friendly efficient service provided for our customers. The main building dates back to 1797 and was originally built for a Glasgow merchant. The house was designed by Robert Adam and retains many original features. It is a category B listed building set in its own picturesque grounds.

There is a large car park for hotel patrons. The 12-bedroom extension, completed in 1997, makes the hotel the area's premier hotel. There are now 22 well-appointed rooms in the hotel, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, satellite television, tea/coffee maker, trouser press, hairdryer, basket of fresh fruit, toiletries and private mini-bar. The hotel serves bar meals daily in the East Lounge or you can choose to eat in Lauder's Restaurant where you have the choice of Table d'hôte or grill menus in a cozy intimate atmosphere. The Strathaven Suite is utilized for wedding receptions, dinner dances, christenings and conferences. Minimum numbers for weddings are 80 and 10 for conferences. The suite can accommodate up to 160 guests set theatre style, has a large dance floor, which is covered when not in use and a secluded garden outside the patio.

The Best Western Strathaven Hotel is a popular venue for weddings and has a very good reception in the area. The month of December is devoted to Christmas Party Nights and Festive Meals culminating in the Traditional New Year. The towns of East Kilbride and Hamilton are only 10 minutes by car with Glasgow within easy reach at 30 minutes and Edinburgh at 45 minutes, this makes the hotel very popular with business people during the week and with tourists during the summer months.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Strathaven Hotel, Strathaven at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hotel good service well worth a visit

Reviewed by
Adrian D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Experience.
- Excellent accommodation.
- Good food.
- Staff were friendly and very helpful.
- Would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Stephen McHugh

From Denny, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Only booked the day before having struggled to find many hotels with rooms left at reasonable prices, I was delighted with the Best Western Strathaven. The hotel is stunning and grand, yet also welcoming. The staff were so friendly and helpful, even getting us breakfast at 5.30am so we could drive home early. Would absolutely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Reviewed by
A McKenna

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and the accommodation and cleanliness were of a decent standard. I only had breakfast, so I didn't feel I could give a higher rating for the food overall. But the menu looked good and plenty were eating. The hotel is good value, but it would be better if a bit of money was spent upgrading a few things - the bathroom was beginning to show a bit of wear at the edges, for example.

Reviewed by
J Hanson

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and small room.
Paid extra for double room. Possibly the smallest double room I have ever stayed in. Disturbed early evening by noise from reception. Fire door outside room banging shut outside room. Woken up initially due to creaking floorboards outside room, then 2 residents having a conversation outside room just before midnight. Gave up trying to sleep and went for a walk. Mentioned problem to staff.
Eventually got to sleep only to be woken up at 5.45 by alarm in next room.
Bar food was OK.
Not impressed.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All Good
Yep all good for the money clean tidy and edible

Reviewed by
rob doran

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
My daughter and I took a chance on this hotel having booked it through late rooms.com - as soon as we arrived we knew it was the right choice. The staff welcomed us like old friends and nothing was too much trouble. The food was hot which is always a big plus and the room, although basic, was clean and had everything we needed.

Reviewed by
Carol M

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
Easy to find in a quiet location

Reviewed by
A Orr

From Scotland
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.