No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandalwood Hotel

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
27 LOWER ROCK GARDENS, BRIGHTON, BN21PG
The Sandalwood Hotel is nestled perfectly on the quiet side of Brighton's bustling town centre. The Hotels commanding central location offers sea views to over 70 percent of its rooms and is a few minutes walk from everything Brighton has to offer. Nearby shopping, bars, the pier, restaurants, casino, comedy and night clubs and of course Brighton's picture perfect sea beckons you to spend a few nights away and experience a totally different side of England.

Sandalwood is a family run hotel offering clean and comfortable, "home away from home" rooms. All of our rooms are en-suite and vary in size from singles to rooms that sleep three comfortably. Shampoo/Conditioner, tea/coffee facility, flat screen TV with freeview and free WIFI is included in each room. Our location is second to none and weather your in brighton for business or pleasure The Sandalwood staff will do their best to accommodate any requests and make you as comfortable as possible.

We hope to see you soon!

Check-in: 14:00-23:00
Check-out: 10:00
Early Check-in/Late Check-out available on weekdays. £10.00 charge will apply. Please enquire for weekend rate.
Picture of Sandalwood Hotel, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
35% recommended this accommodation to a friend 39% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place for the price until I realised the toilet wasn't cleaned :/
All was good for the price but I was very disappointed that the toilet, especially the seat wasn't cleaned.

Reviewed by
L Lorenz

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
clean and very central in brighton, but tired and needs updating

Reviewed by
bob wilson

From cottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short weekend
the location is great if you want to be near the sea/Madeira drive,so is the opportunity to park at the front of the hostel, it should be called Sandalwood Hostel not a Hotel, the room was dreadful, grubby along with nasty stains on the valance although the bed appeared clean and was comfortable enough.Very expensive, for what it was, I could have gone to a real hotel for the money they had tried to charged me!!

Reviewed by
Tim M

From Alresford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my thoughts
this hotel is ok if you are not bothered about customer service and just want a bed for the night

Reviewed by
S Lowe

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good value for money. I would not recommend that you stay here. It is central, but very very basic accommodation. The shower did not really work and was in a cupboard, the room was shabby. The blinds did not work.

Reviewed by
Pamela R

From Thame, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you. It was comfortable and the night was quiet and nice, but to take a shower I had difficulty to manage the control of the hot water, I took a shower barely with a cold water.
I need to ask a receipt for my payment, finally I received.

Reviewed by
Lilyana K

From Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Enough
It was nothing special, but we didn't need it to be. It was perfect for somewhere to crash.

Reviewed by
D Lee

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolutely terrible experience!
The furniture (desk and chair) was stained, there was no cupboard or chest of drawers. The room was very small and contained 3 single beds but no bedside tables! It was conveniently advertised as "sleeps 3"! The bathroom walls were dirty, and shower was 50x50cm with a shower curtain! the drain was blocked and the water was either very hot or cold. The wooden slatted blinds in the bay window all had broken slatts! We stayed in room 5 and the manager charged my credit card for the full amount because she believed we were "no show". Even though we had the room key!!!! Very disreputable practices!! It cost us £170 for one night for the privilege!!!

Reviewed by
C Loviny

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is rubbish .but it served its purpose for one night.

Reviewed by
S Bowler

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The word 'hotel' is an overstatement
I like to see the positive side of most things, but once you step foot into this 'hotel' then all the positive will drain from you. I am going to bullet point the review as its a lot quicker to get through.
. I ordered a car park space (1 of 2 available) and someone else parked in it when i had arrived so had to find on street parking.
. Walked into the entrance and no reception or welcome.
. Spoke to a lady who didn't seem to care or know the area.
. Paid £80 on entry which is weird as its normally at the end.
. Walked into the room and instant smell of damp.
. Smallest shower room in the world and had to stand in the room to use the sink.
. No extraction in the shower room (hence the damp).
. The bathroom door didn't shut or lock.
. The whole floor uneven.
. Mould on the skirting in the room.
. No remote for the TV so unable to use.
. The bed was 2 single beds pushed together and they were disgusting and frayed.
. The mattress's were lumpy and very uncomfortable.
. The 1 table lamp was flickering and couldn't be used, which was annoying as the only light switch was by the front door.
. There was only one curtain.
. The pillows were lumpy.
. There was no wardrobe.
The whole experience was just awful. £95 is a joke. A borstal would be nicer.
This is the worst 'hotel' i have ever stayed at and i cannot believe it can stay open and charge for letting people stay.

Reviewed by
david c

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next