No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Madingley Hall

5Visit England Assessed Campus Ratings explained
MADINGLEY HALL , CAMBRIDGE, CB23 8AQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Luxury 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Madingley Hall is a University owned estate set in 7 acres of delightful landscaped gardens, 3 miles west of Cambridge. The Hall has easy access from the M11, the A14 from the North and East, and the A428 from the West, with good links to the three London Airports and ample free car parking on site.
The Hall is regularly used for educational and training events and has 61 ensuite bedrooms (12 double, 10 twin and 39 single) which are welcoming, comfortably furnished and have garden views. Each room has a digital television, free broadband internet, direct dial phone, tea and coffee making facilities and a personal safe.
Although not an hotel, Madingley Hall offers quality campus accommodation, 24 hour reception, a Bar, a personal service and a full choice of English or continental breakfast served in our historic Dining Hall
Picture of Madingley Hall, CAMBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outstanding
we only booked on the day. Turned out to be like staying in a stately home, with exceptional gardens, with rabbits hopping around on the lawns.

Reviewed by
A Parry

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What you expect from Madingley Hall, good quality accomodation, good food and value for money.

Reviewed by
A Wright

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spectacular setting
A wonderful spot, magnificent to look at and maintained to a very high level.
My room was a standard single so I am glad I did not book a compact single because that must have been as big as a rabbit hutch.
The bar is very pleasant but the menu very basic ( there is a very good pub in the village, but not cheap)
Quality of food at breakfast was very good but I did not like the dormitory table set-up, like Harry Potter or Oliver Twist.
Overall good value for the price in the area

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Excellent staff, very helpful and efficient. Quality of room far better than expected and location is very quiet

Reviewed by
Marie G

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
I booked a small "compact" single and it was as described. Comfy bed, clean throughout and a powerful shower followed by a wonderful breakfast. Everything I needed. However not recommended if you want to spend any time in your room due to its small size.

Reviewed by
Emma C

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money
It is not over priced like other B&B's in Cambridge, it is in a quiet location and is not too far from the center of Cambridge. The rooms are of good quality and are en suite, and the food is great as well. I didn't get the chance to look but the gardens seemed nice as well. The staff were also helpful. Overall a comfortable experience and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Mark Skelton

From West Molesey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic Tudor estate

Reviewed by
A Fife

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Five star
We arrived to be disappointed in the quality of the rooms and hotel. This is falsely advertised on late rooms as 5 star accomodation. This is essentially a halls of residence and the rooms effectively is that and that only - student accomodation.
We walked straight out of the place and asked for our money back. Initially they said no but after explaining the false advertising and the fact that they do not have a cancellation policy for people who are not satisfied they accepted this and refunded the money several days later.
To be fair the manager agreed and said they advertise themselves as 5 star "lodge style accomodation" (although he couldn't explain the brochure next to him titled "bed and breakfast". He mentioned he gets a lot of people from late rooms with the same problems and they have tried asking late rooms to change how they advertise it...to no avail.
Anyway we got our money back several days later so no harm done.

Reviewed by
C McKay

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful setting at excellent value
The information provided via email prior to our arrival was helpful and informative.
When we arrived we were delighted with the accommodation, grounds and the building. The room was basic but extremely clean and was of an excellent standard.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be very customer focused.
The building and grounds were gorgeous too.
Great country setting and nearby to the bustle of Cambridge - best of both worlds!!
Thanks to the team, we will definitely stay again :)

Reviewed by
L Cook

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food: breakfast OK.
Bar Food: very, vert disappointing. Expensive and very poor choice. Very slow service.

Reviewed by
Virginia V

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next