Reviews - The Varsity Hotel & Spa

4

24 Thompson's Lane, Cambridge, CB5 8AQ

Price From 609.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (41)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Lee B

  • June 2015

Noisy

I thought the room was overpriced, for that amount I would have expected a river view.

The bathroom was lovely though as was the roof terrace. My main issue was the noise. The hotel had kindly agreed to give us a later checkout but it was a bit pointless as we were woken up by various delivery drivers, bin men and the construction site opposite. I would stay again but in a different room if the cost were slightly less.

  • C Ollif

  • June 2015

Good but not fantastic

The room was ok, the view was of the side alleyway where the bins were stored, ADD 20 per night onto the cost of the room for car parking....

As there isn't any, valet parking only!!. Roof terrace great but very expensive £18 for 3 cokes and a cider. Staff friendy but all congregated in a small reception which was a bit intimidating at first.

  • T Joynes

  • April 2015

My stay at the Varsity hotel and Spa

Excellent customer service, all staff were approachable and helpful.

The room was excellent, no complaints.

  • Gabrielle Sopher

  • March 2015

Great location, great hotel

My teenage daughter and I stayed here to visit the university.

The staff were charming and efficient, the room was great with a very comfortable bed, top quality bed linen (I am quite picky about that!), all the expected facilities of a luxury hotel and a great rooftop view. We used their valet car parking service which at £20 was very convenient, just drive up to the front door and give them your keys. The hotel is smack in the middle of Cambridge so once there one does not need a car.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, which was buzzy and served great steaks.

  • L Howden-smith

  • March 2015

The Varsity Hotel & Spa

Wasn't what I was expecting very over rated

  • Nella F

  • February 2015

Boutique style Hotel

1st room (118) was gorgeous but discovered it had no window.

2nd room (219) was much smaller and a small shower room rather than bathroon but at least you could enjoy the natural light from the large window.

  • T ALLAN

  • February 2015

I have used late rooms before can I get discount on the hotel I've just booked?

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rooms had everything you needed, bed and linen top quality. Wallpaper in room was beginning to look a bit tired though and some loose skirting board. Food in restaurant was reasonably priced, drinks rather expensive. Breakfast is continental, but plenty to choose from, and good quality. If you would liked a cooked breakfast, there is a menu to choose from. The hotel is in an excellent position, leave your car with the hotel to look after and enjoy Cambridge.

  • K Turner

  • January 2015

Well designed rooms and the bathroom had the wow factor

Stayed in the superior room which was very nice and good value for money compared to some hotels which are double the price

  • Ross S

  • January 2015

Good location, helpful staff

The hotel is well located in the middle of Cambridge.

The room was on the top floor and had good views of the city, facilities were good but shower pressure was quite low. Breakfast is in the adjoining restaurant so you have to exit the hotel for a few yards and then go through the spa to the restaurant. Cooked breakfast was extra which I don't think is acceptable for a hotel of this nature. The staff were very helpful and allowed my wife to stay later for no extra cost. Car parking is valet and costs £20.00 per day, not particularly expensive when compared to the local car parks. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Ian Van Hoof

  • January 2015

New Year break

Had a lovely New Year break.

Very close to the city centre. Although no on-site parking we parked at car park near the town Hall (15 min walk) and the staff went up and bought us a ticket before 8.00am each day - much cheaper than the hotel's own valet parking. The staff were all very helpful. Breakfast was good - the price included a pretty good buffet and cooked breakfasts were good value when we wanted them. Spa was nice - small but clean with great views across the river to Magdalene College from the jacuzzi.