No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Varsity Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
24 Thompson's Lane , Cambridge, CB5 8AQ
The Varsity Hotel & Spa is located on the edge of the picturesque River Cam, with Valet Car Parking, in the heart of Cambridge and just yards from St John's, Trinity and Magdalene College. The remaining Colleges are only a leisurely walk away and can be viewed from the Hotel.
Ideally situated for punting, shopping, sight-seeing and nightlife, The Varsity hotel guests are truly immersed in the culture and charm of Cambridge life from the moment they arrive.
The Varsity is a boutique hotel with just 48 individual rooms, each celebrating the cultural heritage of Cambridge, and providing unparalleled views across the city. Each room is designed and decorated in a contemporary English style.
Picture of The Varsity Hotel & Spa , Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, helpful staff
The hotel is well located in the middle of Cambridge. The room was on the top floor and had good views of the city, facilities were good but shower pressure was quite low. Breakfast is in the adjoining restaurant so you have to exit the hotel for a few yards and then go through the spa to the restaurant. Cooked breakfast was extra which I don't think is acceptable for a hotel of this nature. The staff were very helpful and allowed my wife to stay later for no extra cost. Car parking is valet and costs £20.00 per day, not particularly expensive when compared to the local car parks. Overall a nice hotel.

Reviewed by
Ross S

From Tunbridge wells, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year break
Had a lovely New Year break. Very close to the city centre. Although no on-site parking we parked at car park near the town Hall (15 min walk) and the staff went up and bought us a ticket before 8.00am each day - much cheaper than the hotel's own valet parking. The staff were all very helpful. Breakfast was good - the price included a pretty good buffet and cooked breakfasts were good value when we wanted them. Spa was nice - small but clean with great views across the river to Magdalene College from the jacuzzi.

Reviewed by
Ian Van Hoof

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent as usual
Great experience, excellent location and very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
S D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, perfect location!

Reviewed by
Lauren P

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic service. great location.
Made to feel very welcome. Will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Wendy T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location!
This hotel was in a brilliant location for all the sites of Cambridge.

Reviewed by
Amanda S

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was nice, thought it would have been a little bit bigger and more spacious, it seemed slightly basic. was very clean though . Disappointed with the spa - the reason we booked the hotel- they couldn't fit us in for any appointments at all so we had to go and find a different spa which was a shame. I'd recommend alerting this when booking (that you have to book spa treatments quite far in advance). roof terrace was beautiful as was the food.

Reviewed by
J Hart

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Lovely Place!
A friend and I decided to stay at The Varsity Hotel and Spa whilst on an flying visit to Cambridge. We were very impressed. The location was brilliant- within walking distance of all the main sights. The room was lovely and clean. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. I felt the continental breakfast was a little limited, however everything I had was delicious and of very good quality. The rooftop bar is not one to be missed as it has fantastic views! Personally this hotel was at the top end of my budget- but I found it was lovely place to stay as a one off treat.

Reviewed by
I Simmonds

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxurious stay
Lush, lush, lush. Staff made us all feel very welcome, including our 2 year old daughter. Bed extremely large and comfy, loved the Elemis products in the bathroom and super location in centre of the city. Wish we'd had more time to use the spa but did have chance to enjoy a pedicure. Continental breakfast was more than adequate for us but think really cooked option should be included in the price as that's one of the pleasures of staying in a luxury hotel. Would love to return minus smallest member of the family!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel
Great service, great location, great rooms

Reviewed by
Colin L

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next