No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Falstaff in Canterbury

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
8-12 ST. DUNSTANS STREET , CANTERBURY, CT2 8AF
Located just a few steps away from the Westgate Towers, the Falstaff in Canterbury is within easy walking distance of Canterbury City centre and all that it has to offer, including the world-famous Norman Cathedral, (designated a World Heritage site) castle, museums, shops and a choice of over 200 restaurants.

There are forty-six en suite bedrooms and a beamed lounge which offers guests a place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing. The bar opens out onto a pretty outdoor terrace where guests can enjoy a drink in the summer months. The hotel offers a cooked full English breakfast, but no lunch or dinner service, however, there are numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

There is a private car park within the grounds which accommodates 35 cars and is free for guests' use.
Picture of The Falstaff in Canterbury, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Falstaff in Canterbury
Very beatiful hotel inside & out, perfect location and parking, will definately return

Reviewed by
Phil N

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

falstaff
Bathroom dirty with moths of soap scum on shower hose tube and even more dust above mirror cabinet. Chipped - broken furniture. Aoart from the young guy with the dark hair on reception , I found the staff cold abd stand off ish. the staff are the reason I will not be returning

Reviewed by
J Broughton

From St Leonards on Sea , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
This was our second visit to the Falstaff. Great location as it is within walking distance of the town. Comfortable hotel with great service from staff.
Another lovely break and we will be back again next year.

Reviewed by
R Trevellyan

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Falstaff in Canterbury
Stayed here for 5 nights recently. The staff were very nice, helpful & accommodating. Breakfasts were really tasty & a good choice. Our room was great, a good size, comfortable bed & the bathroom was nice too.

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overall quality
The staff were very helpful & polite , the room was a very good size . Very well maintained and very clean .

Reviewed by
M Watts

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel with historic character
Wonderful hotel, stayed here before and will certainly stay again, so full of character and charm. Breakfast was buffet style but very tasty, staff excellent and for such an old building the hot water and pressure was great!

Reviewed by
sally w

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome return
My wife and I travel to the area about once a year at very short notice. This year we had a bit more time and were able to book a room at the Falstaff. This was the first return there for fifteen years and we were not disappointed. The blend of old and new in the building is seamless. We arrived just after 9.00pm the welcome was warm, friendly and efficient. The room was large enough to relax after a long drive (i.e. it's not your average hotel box of a room) and it was clean and very comfortable. Two very minor maintenance problems were seen in the bathroom. The basin plug had parted from its chain and there was a very small weep of water from the towel rail, they did not cause a problem!

Reviewed by
Richard G

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on tour of south england
great location
spacious room
free parking was a very nice bonus
breakfast was meant to be buffet basis but a little "over managed" & the quality of the food wasn`t as good as other hotels & B&B`s I`ve stayed in recently
bathroom was a little tired

Reviewed by
Peter Watson

From Littleborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Problem with booking in
arrived at 11.30am to park my car in the hotel car park. Asked what time I could check in and was told by the lad on the check in that he would ask the cleaners to do our room first so we could check in at 1.30pm. There was a storm in Canterbury and the heavens opened! we got wet through and got back to the hotel at 1.45pm to be told our room had still not been made up ??? the lad behind the counter said can we come back in 20/30mins (obviously he had not spoken to the cleaners )so off we went out in the rain to get even wetter...brilliant !! I have been to this hotel on many previous occasions and always been given good service that's why I come back !!! hotel staff should make your stay special and try to make your stay a lovely experience.

Reviewed by
philip h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st room
On arrival we were put in an annexe room up a steep flight of stairs, carpet very stained and poorly laid. Room was ok but mildew on windows. We requested a change of room and were given one on the ground floor in the hotel. This was much better. Why weren't we given this room first rather than try and fob us off with a second rate room, considering the cost of £109 per night which I think is very expensive.

Reviewed by
JACQUI V

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next