No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Falstaff in Canterbury

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
8-12 ST. DUNSTANS STREET , CANTERBURY, CT2 8AF
Located just a few steps away from the Westgate Towers, the Falstaff in Canterbury is within easy walking distance of Canterbury City centre and all that it has to offer, including the world-famous Norman Cathedral, (designated a World Heritage site) castle, museums, shops and a choice of over 200 restaurants.

There are forty-six en suite bedrooms and a beamed lounge which offers guests a place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing. The bar opens out onto a pretty outdoor terrace where guests can enjoy a drink in the summer months. The hotel offers a cooked full English breakfast, but no lunch or dinner service, however, there are numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

There is a private car park within the grounds which accommodates 35 cars and is free for guests' use.
Picture of The Falstaff in Canterbury, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Problem with booking in
arrived at 11.30am to park my car in the hotel car park. Asked what time I could check in and was told by the lad on the check in that he would ask the cleaners to do our room first so we could check in at 1.30pm. There was a storm in Canterbury and the heavens opened! we got wet through and got back to the hotel at 1.45pm to be told our room had still not been made up ??? the lad behind the counter said can we come back in 20/30mins (obviously he had not spoken to the cleaners )so off we went out in the rain to get even wetter...brilliant !! I have been to this hotel on many previous occasions and always been given good service that's why I come back !!! hotel staff should make your stay special and try to make your stay a lovely experience.

Reviewed by
philip h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st room
On arrival we were put in an annexe room up a steep flight of stairs, carpet very stained and poorly laid. Room was ok but mildew on windows. We requested a change of room and were given one on the ground floor in the hotel. This was much better. Why weren't we given this room first rather than try and fob us off with a second rate room, considering the cost of £109 per night which I think is very expensive.

Reviewed by
JACQUI V

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
Given the age of the Falstaff, we couldn't expect modern luxury but otherwise this hotel ticked our boxes. Great location to explore Canterbury, tidy rooms with all the essentials and a good quality breakfast set us up nicely for a most enjoyable visit. With various "deals" on offer, it's hard to know what we should have paid but we thought that £49.50 pppn wasn't too outrageous for our two night stay.

Reviewed by
Ron S

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location Poor hotel.
The bathroom, although large had nothing to put toiletries on and the W C was so tight in the corner as to be uncomfortable in use.The noise of the extractor fan from the kitchens was intrusive and made it hard to sleep.The pillows flattened to the thickness of a newspaper.Cleaning had been superficial.There was no room for us in the breakfast dining room at 8 30, and as several people were waiting the staff could not say how long we would have to wait,so we left without having breakfast.Our Room was no 29.

Reviewed by
Janice N

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inn in the City
Great little hotel in a fantastic location to wander into Canterbury to see the sights and do some shopping. The only downside was that it was a little hot at night but a fan was provided!

Reviewed by
F Jones

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
We were very happy with everything about this accommodation. The Falstaff offered us a fabulous location, close to all the sights; a friendly and considerate staff who helped us with all of our inquiries about the area; a comfortable and well decorated room, and the most amazing and huge buffet breakfast! All breakfast entrees were constantly replenished so that all serving containers were full, even as the 9:30 deadline approached. Having an onsite pub was the icing on the cake! My husband and I met in Canterbury 43 years ago and this return trip was special to us. The Falstaff was the perfect place to enjoy our walk down "memory lane" and re-cherish our memories of Canterbury.
PR, Abbotsford BC Canada

Reviewed by
P R

From , England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Having booked a room at an old coaching Inn and seeing pictures of the rooms to say I was bitterly disappointed is an understatement we booked last December 2013 and paid the full price and although clean it was in an annexe not at all what We wanted, we were told that they only allocate two/three days before arrival so unless you have been before and select a special room you get what is allotted we may well have been at a Holiday Inn how much character the room had, I realize it was only one night but I was looking forward to a 16th century beamed room

Reviewed by
J Herbert

From Nr Kettering, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super place to stay
Just as the review title says, a great place to stay and great value.

Reviewed by
Michael T

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby needs a clean up.
The hotel is very handy for the centre of Canterbury and provides secure parking. The staff were very efficient and welcoming. On a negative note, I stayed in room 21 and the bathroom although clean needed redecoration , the shower didn't work and I didn't have the time to let the staff know. I needed to plug something in and pulled out the bedside table to find thick dust and cobwebs. On the surface the room does look clean but good do with a spring clean.

Reviewed by
elaine h

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Very convenient location and nice room. Staff friendly enough and we enjoyed drinks in the bar on returning from the event we had attended. Breakfast was disappointing though - scrambled eggs sloppy, sausages and bacon lukewarm, not an appealing buffet! Given the price, I had expected better.

Reviewed by
Angie W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next