No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Belle Cour Russell Square

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
42 Tavistock Place Bloomsbury, London, WC1H 9RE
Within easy reach of many of the famous London sites and some fantastic restaurants, museums, theatres and places to shop, The Belle Cour Hotel in Russell Square is sure to provide you with all of your needs.

All 10 of the hotel's en suite double bedrooms have been furnished to an upper four star standard to ensure your comfort is guaranteed. Whether you choose a standard, You can be assured that you will experience one of the most comfortable and memorable bedroom experiences.

We provide taxi service, luggage storage, business facilities, and the rooms feature a television, hair dryer and more.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS A SELF CHECK IN HOTEL.THE RECEPTION IS NOT RUNNING 24 HOURS. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE CORRECT EMAIL ADDRESS AND CONTACT NUMBER WHEN YOU MAKE THE RESERVATION. ALL GUESTS WILL RECEIVE SELF CHECK IN INSTRUCTION 3 DAYS EARLIER BEFORE ARRIVAL.

Picture of Belle Cour Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect for a city break
Room was clean,spacious and just a short walk from the nearest tube. Slept really well both nights.

Reviewed by
simon p

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

strangest place i have ever stayed
This is largely a self service hotel. You get emailed an access code for the front door and a number to retrieve your card key from a box. Problem was i received two different numbers and was unsure which was mine. As it turned out the first number had already been taken and i think I got a poorer room than i had paid for. It was clean but being on the first floor landing i had a lot of footfall outside of my door and someone above me who clearly walked around the room all night. The padded wall behind the bed was frankly wierd and the sliding bathroom door would have been more suited to a geisha parlour. All in all a very strange experience indeed.

Reviewed by
Jacqui R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AVOID AT ALL COST
Very misleading and not worth even half of what we paid (£112). This is NOT a hotel, and I have stayed in nicer hostels. No concierge or reception and had to pick keys up from a safe in the wall. Went up to our room, on very creaky stairs and opened our door (which didn't lock properly) and was greeted with the smell of stale cigarette smoke and an icy blast from the open windows. The windows were single paned and I presume we're only there to stop the rain getting through, as they let every minute sound and the cold through. They were adorned with poorly fitting curtains which compiled our misery by letting the light through. Needless to say, it was a sleepless night listening to constant traffic and the conversation of those in the street and then woken up with the sun as it got light. We were also subject to listening to every sound of those in the rooms next to us through the paper thin walls. Furnishings were uncomfortable and spartan, and the bedside lamp did not work. Didn't try the kettle as the mugs looked dirty. Was surprised to say the least though when the shower spurted out hot water, as from the rest of the experience I was expecting cold. Please don't make same mistake as I did, and avoid this "hotel."

Reviewed by
C Boon

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay
Our room was on the ground floor, quiet, spacious, modern, clean and secure. The self check in was easy. The bed was very comfortable and TV, hairdryer and iron/ironing board were all in our room. The room was warm enough and if too warm we could open the window. The only disappointing part we have to mention is the drain smell in the bathroom, but I do find this problem in alot of London hotels. Overall nice stay and we would book again.

Reviewed by
Martin M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new year with family
The address was misleading as it was not on Russell square, so we walked too far from the station. The room was very small and had a drain smell in the shower room. It was clean on arrival but we had to ask for loo rolls and tea etc the second day.

Reviewed by
M Green

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the New Year fireworks
Stayed three days over the New Year. Room was clean with lots of heat , hot water also tea & coffee.

Reviewed by
g alexander

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Belle Cour Russell Square
Good location, ok for a single night.

Reviewed by
Scott P

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very surprised
We booked this hotel as we needed to be central for a event, we booked last minute and wasn't sure what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised, the rooms were absolutey lovely all re decorated, new furniture and extremely clean. Comments left on trips advisor are unfair we heard little noise inside or out (there's only a handful of rooms) and couldn't have asked for more, and my other half is extremely particular! For the price and location an excellent base for seeing London!!!

Reviewed by
D Teasdale

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

oh dear
Good positioning near to Euston but oh what a let down. The amount of hotels we have stayed in, this by far, tops the worst we have stayed. Faceless checkin, key in a box, we had the luxury room. Where!!! ?? Very basic and very small. Never again. Clean but no glasses for bedside (only one bedsdie table mind you) night drink. On the front so very noisy road. Mmmmm trying to this of the positives. No lift, stairs are very narrow and steep.

Reviewed by
Wayne Roome

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniently placed self check-in hotel
The hotel was very convenient for Euston Station, and my conference location at the Institute of Education. The room was very comfortable and clean, with a reasonably sized desk, TV, good supply of hot water in the bathroom. I was met on arrival by a member of staff, although the hotel was billed as self check-in, so I did not need to collect my room card from the box as advised..
Unfortunately my first night was disturbed by noise from the next room. The walls are very thin and I was treated to the noise of a total of 5 showers between 10.30pm and 1am, accompanied by conversation between the couple concerned! Also, as there was no double glazing to the windows there was quite a lot of noise from the street outside.

Reviewed by
H Lewis

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next