No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Belle Cour Russell Square

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
42 Tavistock Place Bloomsbury, London, WC1H 9RE
Within easy reach of many of the famous London sites and some fantastic restaurants, museums, theatres and places to shop, The Belle Cour Hotel in Russell Square is sure to provide you with all of your needs.

All 10 of the hotel's en suite double bedrooms have been furnished to an upper four star standard to ensure your comfort is guaranteed. Whether you choose a standard, You can be assured that you will experience one of the most comfortable and memorable bedroom experiences.

We provide taxi service, luggage storage, business facilities, and the rooms feature a television, hair dryer and more.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS A SELF CHECK IN HOTEL.THE RECEPTION IS NOT RUNNING 24 HOURS. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE CORRECT EMAIL ADDRESS AND CONTACT NUMBER WHEN YOU MAKE THE RESERVATION. ALL GUESTS WILL RECEIVE SELF CHECK IN INSTRUCTION 3 DAYS EARLIER BEFORE ARRIVAL.

Picture of Belle Cour Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much better than expected
To say this was self service I didn't have high hopes but as I was on a budget you get what you pay for. I was wrong. Rooms were cosy but very clean, up to date and well equipped. Bathroom was the same and even had shower gel, etc.
Only slight downside was noisy road outside but I'm a deep sleeper so wasn't a problem.

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Night in London
Accommodation close to main train station. Had email with details and entrance code and instructions. Hall narrow if travelling with luggage. No lift so had to carry luggage up the narrow staircase. The room had a small entrance, with door to toilet and shower (this was very small), then on into bedroom. Which was long and narrow, but had high ceiling. Very small and not much room to move around. One small chair under a very small table with kettle and coffee/tea making facilities. Room very hot, couldn't open windows due to noise from street. The curtains let in a lot of light as they stood away from the windows. Would suit an individual in London on a business trip. But would not recommend for couples or leisure. Walls very thin, we had very noisy 2 x ladies next door and could hear there every move and conversation. Accommodation did not live up-to what one might expect. Had no issues with no reception.

Reviewed by
G Wilson

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London hotel review

Reviewed by
K O'Sullivan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable city centre overnight stay
Relatively cheap. Very comfortable bed and clean room. Basic in some respects but quality where it mattered. Would use again so must be good.

Reviewed by
Ian C

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed near shops and station ,Clean smart room ,auto check in strange but effective .
Would stay again and recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
peter d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant surprise
My girlfriend and I booked this as a cheaper alternative to getting a taxi back from town after a show. We were not expecting much from the hotel, Infact we were quite worried that the service we would receive would reflect the cheap cheap price. We were wrong, the hotel was clean, modern and had all the amenities one could want.
The bed was comfy, the TV and sound system were a great surprise. You get a lot of value for your money here.

Reviewed by
Leo P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget Accommodation
Receiving our "self-check-in" instructions was a little strange - I've never stayed at a hotel where I had to let myself in with a code via the front door key pad !
But, having said that, we only needed somewhere to sleep on a whistle-stop day tour before we flew from London and this hotel fitted the bill perfectly, and even though there was no reception as such, we were allowed to leave our bags at the hotel earlier than the check-in time and they were then put in our room as soon as it was ready.
It was literally only a 10 minute walk from Kings Cross, very easy to find, everything was very clean, crisp white bed linen, comfy bed, TV and iphone docking station, ensuite shower room which was compact but very clean and perfectly adequate, and plenty of hot water.

Reviewed by
A Harrison

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High quality self service venue
Not staff, all done by access code, really high quality room for the price. No aircon, but otherwise as good as any 4/5* hotel I've stayed in in London.

Reviewed by
Andy L

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location perfect for short stay
The location for this hotel is perfect. Walkable from train stations, tube, British museum. The hotel does not provide food but there are plenty of eateries in the area. The street which it is located is quiet, no nightclubs or rowdy pubs. Although this is a self check in hotel we had no problems with this, in fact we found this an efficient system, within a minute of arriving we were in our rooms. We did get a friendly greeting from a member of staff (apparently there is someone their between 12 and 3). The room itself was immaculate and was cleaned, bedding and towels changed each day. Beds are comfy. There is a hairdryer and kettle with some tea making facilities on arrival. Downside - rooms are small, so perfect for a couple of nights but no longer. Because the rooms are so small a communal area is something that is lacking, at the end of a busy day it would have been nice to sit in a lounge or bar to relax (but for a couple of nights it was fine for us). Another few negatives were the showers are a bit temperamental, very hard to get it to an pleasant temperature and the plug was slow draining so the tray began to fill up quickly. Tea and coffee were not replenished after cleaning which would have been nice. Finally as far as we could see we couldn't leave our luggage at check out, so options are to carry luggage around for the day or find storage at the station. As we were travelling light we managed ok.
Overall, would recommend for 1 or 2 nights if you are just need somewhere to sleep. Its positives are definitely the cleanliness, modern decor, location and great price.

Reviewed by
D Wyman

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value central London
Room was small but perfectly adequate. Spotlessly clean, with a comfy bed and good quality TV, iron, hairdryer, tea and coffee. Probably the hottest day of the year, and so lack of air con was a negative (low windows open wide - quite a drop so beware if you have kids, and also somewhat overlooked so I did not feel able to leave curtains open). Minor issue - the room was just fine. This is a self check-in facility. Collect your key and let yourself in. The 'hotel' is very well situated for Russell Square tube, Euston, Kings Cross, UCLH etc. Excellent eateries nearby and large, but well disguised shopping centre with fabulous restaurants 2 minute walk away. Negative, very thin walls and also on a busy street; rooms at the back of the building may not be quietest.

Reviewed by
Hilary S

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next