No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Belle Cour Russell Square

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
42 Tavistock Place Bloomsbury, London, WC1H 9RE
Within easy reach of many of the famous London sites and some fantastic restaurants, museums, theatres and places to shop, The Belle Cour Hotel in Russell Square is sure to provide you with all of your needs.

All 10 of the hotel's en suite double bedrooms have been furnished to an upper four star standard to ensure your comfort is guaranteed. Whether you choose a standard, You can be assured that you will experience one of the most comfortable and memorable bedroom experiences.

We provide taxi service, luggage storage, business facilities, and the rooms feature a television, hair dryer and more.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS A SELF CHECK IN HOTEL.THE RECEPTION IS NOT RUNNING 24 HOURS. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE CORRECT EMAIL ADDRESS AND CONTACT NUMBER WHEN YOU MAKE THE RESERVATION. ALL GUESTS WILL RECEIVE SELF CHECK IN INSTRUCTION 3 DAYS EARLIER BEFORE ARRIVAL.

Picture of Belle Cour Russell Square, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint little hotel
Got there early and was allowed to use rooms, room was very small but ok for a night, view out the window was of rubbish left by filthy neighbors not the hotel's fault, good area to stay all local amenities.
The only problem was the plumbing hot shower cold shower all the time, even the sink the cold hardly flowed and the drains smell a bit, nobody was there to tell so we just left.

Reviewed by
C Grimbley

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Belle Cour Russell Square
Perfect location as it's a couple of minutes down the road from the tube however our room was on the first floor facing the road and it was extremely loud, if that was sorted I would definitely stay again, stairs were completely fine despite other reviews.

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Belle cour not too shabby
Great location for a couple exploring London. Close to everything, rooms were lovely and also kept to a high standard. Staff were less than helpful when they decided to be there, we couldn't even check in 20 mins before 2pm. They weren't very friendly, awkward small talk. The stairway is very dangerous, steps are slippy and very small your feet don't fit on them, my gf actually fell down them and hurt her ankle which almost ruined the trip.

Reviewed by
Luke B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect for a city break
Room was clean,spacious and just a short walk from the nearest tube. Slept really well both nights.

Reviewed by
simon p

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

strangest place i have ever stayed
This is largely a self service hotel. You get emailed an access code for the front door and a number to retrieve your card key from a box. Problem was i received two different numbers and was unsure which was mine. As it turned out the first number had already been taken and i think I got a poorer room than i had paid for. It was clean but being on the first floor landing i had a lot of footfall outside of my door and someone above me who clearly walked around the room all night. The padded wall behind the bed was frankly wierd and the sliding bathroom door would have been more suited to a geisha parlour. All in all a very strange experience indeed.

Reviewed by
Jacqui R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AVOID AT ALL COST
Very misleading and not worth even half of what we paid (£112). This is NOT a hotel, and I have stayed in nicer hostels. No concierge or reception and had to pick keys up from a safe in the wall. Went up to our room, on very creaky stairs and opened our door (which didn't lock properly) and was greeted with the smell of stale cigarette smoke and an icy blast from the open windows. The windows were single paned and I presume we're only there to stop the rain getting through, as they let every minute sound and the cold through. They were adorned with poorly fitting curtains which compiled our misery by letting the light through. Needless to say, it was a sleepless night listening to constant traffic and the conversation of those in the street and then woken up with the sun as it got light. We were also subject to listening to every sound of those in the rooms next to us through the paper thin walls. Furnishings were uncomfortable and spartan, and the bedside lamp did not work. Didn't try the kettle as the mugs looked dirty. Was surprised to say the least though when the shower spurted out hot water, as from the rest of the experience I was expecting cold. Please don't make same mistake as I did, and avoid this "hotel."

Reviewed by
C Boon

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay
Our room was on the ground floor, quiet, spacious, modern, clean and secure. The self check in was easy. The bed was very comfortable and TV, hairdryer and iron/ironing board were all in our room. The room was warm enough and if too warm we could open the window. The only disappointing part we have to mention is the drain smell in the bathroom, but I do find this problem in alot of London hotels. Overall nice stay and we would book again.

Reviewed by
Martin M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the New Year fireworks
Stayed three days over the New Year. Room was clean with lots of heat , hot water also tea & coffee.

Reviewed by
g alexander

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new year with family
The address was misleading as it was not on Russell square, so we walked too far from the station. The room was very small and had a drain smell in the shower room. It was clean on arrival but we had to ask for loo rolls and tea etc the second day.

Reviewed by
M Green

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Belle Cour Russell Square
Good location, ok for a single night.

Reviewed by
Scott P

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next