No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Bagshaw Hill, Bakewell, DE45 1DL
Bagshaw Hall provides a unique and special opportunity to stay in an building with over 300 years of history, which has recently been converted to a very high standard in a contemporary style complimenting the historic features of the Hall.
Sleep Lodge provides premier accommodation in spacious and contemporary bedrooms in the grounds of Bagshaw Hall with panoramic views of Bakewell.
Bakewell is the capital of the Peak District and we are in a peaceful, elevated and central location, from where it is easy to access the local facilities and plentiful nearby attractions and activities.
We offer a choice of luxury boutique style bedrooms, some budget accommodation, contemporary accommodation, suites and apartments with self catering facilities in THE HALL, and contemporary accommodation in THE SLEEPLODGE, all with continental breakfast as an extra
We provide flexibility that a traditional hotel or bed and breakfast accommodation does not offer, which is perfect for individuals, couples, families, business travellers and groups, for an overnight stay, weekend break or a week's holiday.
Private dining and meeting rooms are available for reservation in Bagshaw Hall and there is dedicated conference centre just one minute's walk away
Payment terms are cash/cheque on arrival please - .Any credit card payments attract 2.5% bank charge
Picture of Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge, Bakewell at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay, closer to a B&B than hotel, shame about the smell of drains
Lovely place to stay, closer to a B&B than hotel. Quirky as it had no reception hence the use of phoning up from the car park as noted in previous review. Lovely hosts, big room with good facilities and ice power shower. Only downside being the smell of drains from the bathroom. Nice cooked breakfast fry up, good quality sausages etc, breakfast better than a normal hotel although no choice of the contents of the fry up.

Reviewed by
Clare N

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MT
The accommodation was as described. As we only stayed one night we thought the arrival time a bit late (16hr) and we had to leave the room by 10 the next morning so we actually paid £60 for 18 hours. The reception lacked any personal touch as we were directed to our room via my mobile phone at my expense. Having said all that the room was very comfortable. a bit off a hill to climb after going into Bakewell but walk only 5 minutes.

Reviewed by
M Toolan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge
A wonderful stay in an extremely clean accomodation with stunning views. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

Reviewed by
R Hobbins

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge
Beautiful room, obviously newly renovated to a very standard. Great idea to have a small kitchen in the room as it meant you could prepare food in there (not that we did!). Only small gripe was the layout of the bathroom which made it difficult to get in and out of the bath/ shower. Small gripe though, as overall, it was a fantastic room at great value for money.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bakewell not just about the pudding
Excellent place full of excellent people, with the best view from our window. The manager was friendly and helpful and more importantly approachable. We loved our suite so much that we have written the room name down for our next visit. Inspirational place to stay. Will be coming back time and time again.

Reviewed by
Sammantha Phillips

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality accomodation very close to town.
We stayed in the sleep lodge.
Lovely view from room (1st floor). Useful mini kitchen - microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge and sink.

Reviewed by
Nicholas R

From Southwell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bakewell Surprise
The Sleep Lodge was cosy and well equipped. Quiet and private with breakfast in room. No hassle. Perfect as a base for visiting Chatsworth House and other places of interest in the Peak District .

Reviewed by
Veronica C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for light sleepers !
We stayed in the Travelodge, which was smaller than expected but adequate. Cooking facilities were not great; no oven as such just a combi-microwave. The sofa was horribly uncomfortable ( a sofa bed ) and there was no room for comfy chairs. The worse aspect was the lack of sound insulation; you could hear every sneeze and conversation from other rooms, and since the car park is right outside our room we heard the arguments from people who were blocked in, as there were not enough spaces. Location is at the top of a steep hill, so be warned.

Reviewed by
N Rogers

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation for a visit to Chatsworth House.
We really enjoyed our stay at Bagshawe Hall. We stayed in a Sleeplodge in the grounds and it was
very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast every day, although this was optional as there were adequate self-catering facilities in the room itself. The staff were very pleasant welcoming and helpful.
Bagshawe Hall overlooks the lovely town of Bakewell, a short walk down the hill. It is very conveniently situated for visiting Chatsworth House, onlyva few miles away.

Reviewed by
S Denyer

From Caterham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
travelling down from York on way home and decided to stop off for a couple of days. Accommodation was ideally located for Bakewell and had lovely views. However the smell and cleanliness really let it down. There was a strong damp smell throughout the apartment which meant we had to keep windows open all the time. The shower was dirty with mould and limescale... not a pleasant experience. hairs in the bed and generally sad and tired. shame as could be a really lovely place to stay if more attention to standard of cleaning

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next