Reviews - Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge


Bagshaw Hill, Bakewell, DE45 1DL

Price From 306.83 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Victoria G

  • October 2015

The perfect overnight lodge!

We have stayed at the sleep lodge a couple of times now and it's always been perfect.

Only wish was would be a later check out, 10am seems a little stingy however this would never stop be going again. I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • L Thearle

  • September 2015

Disappointing stay

We booked this hotel as it was very difficult to find accommodation due to the weekend event at Chatsworth.

We did finally find somewhere else, but were unable to cancel Bagshaw Hall as - as per their cancellation policy - we would have had to cancel before we booked. Beware - they need 14 days. When we arrived, , we had to phone someone to come and check us in as there is no one in reception. We were shown to our room, which was fine albeit furnished in very dubious taste, but nothing was mentioned about breakfast. When we went down just before 9.00 there was a queue and general confusion as there was only one table with insufficient places for all guests. It appears we should have booked our slot. We were offered breakfast in our room, which we accepted. When it arrived, the bacon and sausage were under-cooked and the plate cold. The toast was soggy and almost white - in other words inedible. For our second day, we elected to eat at a local café, where we had an excellent breakfast for £6.95 rather than the £8.00 we were charged by Bagshaw Hall in addition to the £175.00 per night. Worth noting that the kitchen does not open until 09.00 so don't bank on an early getaway AND breakfast. Wifi is available but extremely hit and miss in our room - mainly miss.

  • Judith R

  • August 2015

Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge

I enjoyed my stay in the Sleep Lodge.

It seemed strange to ring from the car park to get the key bugt that is only because there is no reception. Wonderful view from room and a short walk into town. Breakfast served in room or restaurant.

  • Brenda Burton

  • August 2015

Bagshaw hall sleep rooms

Number 8 Ben Fogle room was a pleaseant surprise,very clean and spacious room,beautiful views, cooked breakfast was acceptable,although there wasn't a choice of cereal yogurt or fruit, as in many hotels or B&Bs.

But that's said , I would still book here again.. Please note this accommodation is up a very steep hill, if you have difficulty with mobility in anyway be aware of this... Thank you to the staff who were great, they were very helpful ...

  • Judie Sandeman-Allen

  • August 2015


Lovely place to stay.

All the staff were very friendly, the room was spectacular, the bathroom a joy. The breakfast was really good and the egg perfect. What can I say. I love this place and will stay again when in the area.

  • Ellen laws

  • July 2015

A real find, full of character and close to the centre.

We were in the main house which may have helped but were delighted with the room and mean to return.

The welcome could not have been warmer.

  • Linda B

  • July 2015

Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge

Room was well presented with a microwave, fridge/freezer, washing up bowl and draining board, and a sully stocked cupboard (of crockery, including a cafetiere).

Downsides were the distinct lack of parking and the inexplicable inability of both the bath/shower and the basin to drain away water efficiently.

  • Steve S

  • May 2015

Decent, very decent

Not much to say other than it was ok.

Checking in many waiting outside which might not be the best in a downpour or in the middle of winter. If you're not too good on your pins, the walk down to the centre is step, very steep. Other than that it's fairly unremarkable.

  • Ian L

  • April 2015

Derby weekend

An ideal place for a getaway in Bakewell

  • David C

  • April 2015

Excellent mini-break

Fantastic location a short walk into Bakewell.

Coming back isn't quite so nice up a very steep hill but good exercise to burn off the Bakewell puddings!. The suite was very well equipped with flat screen TV, microwave, kettle, tea and coffee and toaster. It was very clean and the view from out window was lovely.