No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Don Valley Hotel and Bar

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
756 ATTERCLIFFE ROAD , SHEFFIELD, S9 3RQ
The Don Valley Hotel is ideally situated near to the Sheffield Arena for that concert or event which is approximately a 10 minute walk, English
Institute of Sports Sheffield which is a 5 minute walk, Meadowhall for a spot of shopping is a 20min walk.
It is situated 2 minutes away from the
M1 motorway Junction 34, and 2 minutes from the local tram network. The bus stop is just outside.Also we are 5 minutes away from sheffield town centre in a taxi or bus, super tram networks. If you don't want to use public transport,
just ask a member of staff who will happily call a taxi free of charge.
Very reasonable rates are offered for single, twin and double rooms, and also large rooms that can sleep up to 8 people (long term contractor
rates available). Family rooms are also available on request. Please note that the hotel does have 2 floors and there will be some stairs. If
you have difficulties with this please can you make a special note so you can be accommodated in the nearest room available. All rooms are
en-suite with TV and tea and coffee making facilities and Free wifi.
Daily special meals, breakfasts and snacks packed lunches are available from the 5 star deli/cafe Monday to Friday. If breakfasts are required
at weekends, you must pre order before arrival. On the ground floor is a low priced licensed bar with fine beers, lagers, real ales and spirits,
and a games room with big screens, satellite TV, pool table and darts.
There is plenty of free side road parking nearby, but we do have limited car parking facilities, which runs on 1st come1st serve basis.
Picture of Don Valley Hotel and Bar, SHEFFIELD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience
We usual stay at the premier inn when we go to the arena but not any more now we find this place we would definatly go back really lovely welcoming staff and everything u could need its a proper pub loved it.

Reviewed by
kimberley broadhead

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for travelling workers
Arrived quite late in the evening and as a lone female traveller the bar being such a prominent part of the entry was a little overwhelming, but the landlord was welcoming and professional.
Room was clean, tidy, secure and functional, all one needs when it's a place to rest your head.
Great value for money and very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Marika H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Five minutes on public transport from city centre, walking distance to Meadowhall.
very accessible to the lovely walk along the trans pennine trail to either city centre or Meadowhall.

Reviewed by
mandy base

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value hotel
great hotel,very friendly staff,room clean and comfy, breakfast very good and excellant value will certainly be booking again when visiting area.

Reviewed by
PAUL Y

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cheaper alternative for Sheffield arena
I'd start by saying although it is above a pub the accommodation is better then expected. On arrival the guy showed me the security and told me where exactly to park around the back. I'd done a temporary park outside the gates. My room was a little cramped but it was a single room so probably to be expected. My bed was a bit uncomfortable and I could feel the springs at the end of the bed but generally speaking it was fine for a night's stay. Although I didn't choose to have food here I gather it isn't bad and priced reasonably, as are the drinks. Parking however is an issue. If you have a large vehicle parking in the backyard can be tricky. I was assisted whilst reversing out the next day and was on full lock! If you're looking for cheap and cheerful then this place ticks the box.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel full of character
We thought it was close to the arena but it was a longer walk than expected. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Not really suitable for disabled, my wife struggled with the stairs. A bit expensive compared to larger national hotel groups.

Reviewed by
Mike S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was in room above the bar. Loud music till 1am Talking/chairs/tables etc moving around till 3:15am. Taxis' dropping people off till 5.30am. Fire alarm went off at 5:30am. No-one from the hotel assured this was a false alarm. People knocking on the room door from 8:50am asking if we had an audi then after that - round asking if we had a vauxhall, then a toyota in the car park. Might be an idea for staff to get reg number of guests cars and note which room they are staying in like other hotels do !!!

Reviewed by
D Halec

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly relaxed lovely breakfast
lovely traditional city pub, I thought the price £69 a bit expensive as did not include breakfast but saying that break fast was excellent and only cost £5 each. We were disturbed by some revellers setting off the fire alarm at 4 in morning and we had people knocking our door from 8.45 sun morn several times asking what car we had - so no chance of a lie in. So car parking does let it down in that way. the extractor fan in the bathroom stayed on very noisey and the bathroom door wouldn't stay shut. This is all constructive feed back as on the whole ok

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Everyone I met was kind, cheerful and helpful.
Very close to the EIS and easy to get to and from the city centre.
Would I stay again,no not on my own but would if accompanied by my other half/friends which is more of a confidence (or lack of it) thing.
Not much noise from the pub but a fair bit as guests returned from their night out, this is probably the same staying anywhere near a city at the weekend.

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lee evans
Booked room to see show at arena. Friendly staff, good atmosphere

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next