No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Saracens Head

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
38 Whielden Street , Amersham, HP7 0HU
The Saracen’s Head Inn is a traditional English pub serving real ales, fine wines and home-cooked food every lunchtime and evening.

The original stables surrounding the courtyard have been converted into stylish, comfortable en-suite accommodation available for Bed and Breakfast. During the conversion, we discovered an underground bear pit near the cellar. This was used for bear 'baiting' (fighting) over 300years ago, thankfully a tradition no longer kept!

We are situated a stone’s throw away from the fashionable shops and boutiques in the High Street of Amersham Old Town. Trains from Amersham Station go directly into London in less than 30mins. It is also extremely popular with walkers who wish to explore the countryside surrounding us.

Amersham - probably more than any other similar small town in England - preserves in the streets of the Old Town the same general appearance that it displayed during the 17th and 18th centuries. There is evidence that a Roman Villa existed in the area (any remains now believed buried under Shardeloes Lane). However, the origins of the town go back to pre Saxon times. Amersham was then called Agmodesham. The Doomsday Book listed Amersham as Elmodesham, with 6 manors, one belonging to the wife of Edward the Confessor. In 1200, King John granted the town a market and fair, the fair is still held every year on the 19th and 20th of September, the market every Tuesday, but it has moved to Amersham on the Hill. The Reformation had some roots in the town as several Lollards were condemned to death and burnt at the stake, a memorial on the hill above the town commemorates this event and in 2001 the people of Amersham performed a community play re creating the events of the time.
Picture of The Saracens Head, Amersham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cool and interesting establishment but needs a bit of shampoo.
My single room was very interesting in that it retained quite a bit of the 16th century feel. The linens were clean and the bathroom was pretty clean but the carpets needed a shampoo and the room smelled of urine. Smoke came in from guests smoking outside my door and window during pub hours which was very unpleasant. The double room of the other travelers who I was with seemed fine and was clean.
All of the staff were very nice and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Ann Marie S

From Apple Valley, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really comfy
Enjoyable stay with food after a long trip and a days work well recommended

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Ilfracombe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for a night :)
neither heater worked so room was chilly when we got back to it late evening, beds very soft and easy to feel springs. my bed at home is better. landlord very friendly and helpful. breakfast in the morning very basic, dont expect anything fancy! was fine just for the night but wouldnt have wanted to stay much longer. spacious room and overlooked the garden, quiet.

Reviewed by
sarah a

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was shabby and overpriced. Staff were pleasant and breakfast reasonable.

Reviewed by
Jason H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly little pub in Old Amersham
The Sarecens Head is a very friendly little pub in Old Amersham. It has a welcoming attitude and friendly, helpful staff. The food and the beer served are of a good standard. On the down side the room we stayed in was very small, the double bed taking up most of the space. We were in the court yard, whhich can prove quite noisy of an evening as it also serves as a smoking area. Having sid that the room was clean and all amenities were provided. I would stay at the Sarecens Head again but would request a room in the pub.

Reviewed by
Norma M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
I Highly recommend staying here. The staff are very friendly and the food is excellent! Will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
A Grimmett

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Thoroughly enjoyed stay

Reviewed by
David Turnbull

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a comfotable,relaxing home
It is an old house of 15th century with beautiful room, clean bed and delicious food. And the most impressive thing is that all people there are very very nice,considerate and warm-hearted. I also like their every-two-week gathering, interesting and happy. I just can't help to regard it as a home. I hope I will visit them again.

Reviewed by
Yisong Z

From China
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very warm welcome, and excellent customer service from Kerry. lovely food, room full of character, clean with a comfy bed, would stay again.

Reviewed by
n middleton

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's the place to stay
Kerry and Clare could not be more helpful and with a great backup of employees they made our stay very pleasant and we will certainly go back.

Reviewed by
MITCHELL ANDERSON

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next