No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Saracens Head

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
38 Whielden Street , Amersham, HP7 0HU
The Saracen’s Head Inn is a traditional English pub serving real ales, fine wines and home-cooked food every lunchtime and evening.

The original stables surrounding the courtyard have been converted into stylish, comfortable en-suite accommodation available for Bed and Breakfast. During the conversion, we discovered an underground bear pit near the cellar. This was used for bear 'baiting' (fighting) over 300years ago, thankfully a tradition no longer kept!

We are situated a stone’s throw away from the fashionable shops and boutiques in the High Street of Amersham Old Town. Trains from Amersham Station go directly into London in less than 30mins. It is also extremely popular with walkers who wish to explore the countryside surrounding us.

Amersham - probably more than any other similar small town in England - preserves in the streets of the Old Town the same general appearance that it displayed during the 17th and 18th centuries. There is evidence that a Roman Villa existed in the area (any remains now believed buried under Shardeloes Lane). However, the origins of the town go back to pre Saxon times. Amersham was then called Agmodesham. The Doomsday Book listed Amersham as Elmodesham, with 6 manors, one belonging to the wife of Edward the Confessor. In 1200, King John granted the town a market and fair, the fair is still held every year on the 19th and 20th of September, the market every Tuesday, but it has moved to Amersham on the Hill. The Reformation had some roots in the town as several Lollards were condemned to death and burnt at the stake, a memorial on the hill above the town commemorates this event and in 2001 the people of Amersham performed a community play re creating the events of the time.
Picture of The Saracens Head, Amersham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad Occasion attending a good friend's funeral
Kerry & Clare were very friendly and helpful and the choice of food was excellent and well prepared. A nice cosy place to stay. Car parking arranged with the British Legion nearby. Recommend for a short stay.
Peter Hall

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historically intriguing
Beautiful little pub with great old school atmosphere, right up our street. Not much parking out front but they have a deal with a place a short walk down the road. Perfect. Room was brilliant as was the comfort of the bed. The one thing is the bathroom is very small and when u flush the toilet it is very noisy but a minor annoyance. The staff are all lovely and very helpful I would certainly keep them on file and stay again.

Reviewed by
Laura S

From Sandown, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't have known we were on a discounted rate
We chose the Saracen's Head as the rooms looked beautiful on the website and it was in the perfect location for us - but we never assumed we'd have one of the most beautiful rooms as we were on such a reasonable LateRooms rate.
On arrival we were shown to the most amazing room which we'd seen on the website and we were so excited. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the layout of the pub is great so that the accommodation is separate from the pub and therefore not disturbed at all. We were exhausted after a very long day and lots of travelling and managed to fall asleep at 9pm even with a bustling Saturday night pub crowd next door!
The breakfast was fantastic and the chef who also served it was really polite and jolly and cheered us up on a grey day. He was also very efficient and the breakfast came out really quickly.
We would definitely stay again and were really impressed and pleasantly surprised.

Reviewed by
Laura H

From Exmouth, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good convenient budget accommodation with friendly and attentive landlord
This hotel was chosen to be close to a friend's party in Amersham, and with easy access to London on other days. The room we stayed in was in a converted courtyard building, reasonably large, with two comfortable single beds and an efficient bathroom with good shower. The only snag was that the room was relatively uninsulated, and it was difficult to maintain a balanced heat over a cold weekend, despite a couple of convector heaters, although by the end we were mastering it. We had a pleasant breakfast every day, served to order by a friendly and attentive landlord. We did not eat in the pub, but had a pleasant drink on a couple of occasions in a convivial environment.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Choice!
Spent an over-night stay at this traditional Inn.
Booked a single room, but as the hotel was quiet was upgraded to a very well equipped and pleasant twin room off the courtyard.
Landlord, Kerry and staff very hospitable and welcoming, as were the locals.
Excellent breakfast.
No hesitation in recommending - despite the ghosts!!!

Reviewed by
Derek Young

From Aberdeen, Scotland
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historical Inn with Charm and Where you Feel at Home
My wife and I were looking for an old classical Pub/Inn in this region of England. After a lengthy web search, I found The Saracens Head, which seemed to meet our criteria. We booked a double room for 3 nights beginning on September 23, 2012. These were the last 3 nights of a 3 week car tour of England, and we arrived worn out and hopeful that the Saracens would live up to or expectations.
WOW! What a pleasant surprise. The Saracens Head far exceeded our expectations. We were cheerfully met by the Publican/Owner who showed us to our room and encouraged us to settle in and come back to the Pub area for a drink. Our room was huge by American standards and enormous by European standards. Vaulted timber ceiling, big and very comfortable bed, a large bathroom with a walk-in shower, very nicely furnished, a lot of storage space and all exceptionally "white glove" clean. The window looked out onto beautifully kept gardens, which was true for at least 6 of the rooms we were able to view. While the Inn is in the heart of busy Amersham, our room was pin drop quiet.
The Pub itself has a long and very interesting history. Like the rooms, everything was clean and beautifully decorated. It appeared that the Saracens has a very loyal and friendly clientle. The staff and the customers made us feel very much at home immediately. A lot of laughter, conversation and good drink each night, and the included English Breakfasts were large and the tastiest we had experienced during our entire trip.
Here is the best testimonial my wife and I could give. After a day back home in Minnesota, we looked at each other and said, "lets sell the house and move into a Saracen Head's rooms permanently. With the large room, enormous breakfasts and friendly people, it would be cheaper and more fun than living in our own home."
When we visit England in the future, we will for sure be spending time at The Saracens Head.

Reviewed by
William Roleff

From Apple Valley, USA
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6