No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Church House Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
15 GLAMIS ROAD , KIRRIEMUIR, DD8 5BN
Welcome to the online home of The Church House Bed & Breakfast.

On 29th June 1835 the foundation stone of the church was laid by Lord Ogilvy, assisted by Charles Lyell of Kinnordy and James Mitchell of the East India Company. Almost 200 years later it has now been redesigned to accommodate and meet the needs and comforts of our guests. The result is a stunning building which incorporates all the benefits that modern technology has to offer whilst keeping its historic character.

Offering our guests spacious, luxurious rooms, Jacuzzi baths and steam showers The Church House Bed & Breakfast is more than equipped to meet any of your needs.

The Church House Bed & Breakfast is situated at the foot of Glens often called “The Gateway to the Glens” in a truly beautiful part of Angus. It is perfect for anyone wishing to visit the Angus area and in particularly the Angus Glens.

We are pleased to offer our guests free secure parking with coded gate entry and security cameras. Free high speed Wi-Fi.

We look forward to welcoming you….
Picture of Church House Bed and Breakfast, KIRRIEMUIR at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulously different
Fantastic b&bwith the comforts of home and much more

Reviewed by
Lesley R

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed & (self service) breakfast with a really poor customer service
-Looking for a warm welcome? Don't go there, they won't even look at your eyes on arrival.
-Looking for quality furniture? Don't go there, you will be disappointed to see how the electrical bedroom in which they have reconverted the old church is a mess. Nothing works appropriately.
-Looking for a peacuful breakfast with your couple or family? Don't go there, you will only be given a plastic bag with 1 yogurt, 1 banana, and 1 orange juice. The rest of the breakfast (cereals) is self-service.
Overall, it was such a disappointing experience. Even the village of Kirriemuir is not worth a minute of your lives. This was our worst experience in 10 days over Scotland.

Reviewed by
Arnau G

From Barcelona, Spain
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy we found your church!
My wife and I made a trip to Kirriemuir to do some family research on my side. We choose the Church House B&B because it had good reviews and we weren't disappointed. Jenny welcomed us, answered all our questions and made us feel right at home. The layout is great with 3 large private bedrooms, each with it's own ensuite bathroom, a large lounge area and a kitchen. It was very comfortable and homey but still retains the charm of the church. Overall it's an excellent place to stay but be aware there are some steps to climb to the second floor and there is a fairly big step into the modern high tech shower. No problem for us but could be if you have mobility issues. The only other suggestion I would have is that maybe a Keurig coffee machine would be a nice addition to the kitchen as we are not big fans of instant coffee. The kitchen is well stocked with lots of choices to make your own breakfast and Jenny packs a nice bag of snacks for each guest to take away with them. We loved our stay and would stay here again. You wont find a friendlier host anywhere!

Reviewed by
Daryl D

From Canada
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Amazing it's the only place I have stayed where there is a 2 person jacuzzi at the bottom of my bed and a sauna in the ensuite. And all that for £49 ish quid a night. I've been there twice and will be so going back again and again. I have colleagues that work up in Scotland more than me and I have passed on the details. Well done on making such a lovely homely place :-)

Reviewed by
John P

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value. Only staying one night on business but was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room and value for money.

Reviewed by
N Shearn

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable with excellent facilities. Ample parking space.

Reviewed by
Graham Croft

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A spacious and comfortable B&B in a beautiful area of Scotland.
The old church has been refurbished to a high standard to make a spacious and comfortable B&B. It is well located in a beautiful part of Scotland. The B&B was spotlessly clean and we generally had the place to ourselves so felt very much at home, and at ease. We slept very well as it is much quieter than where we live. Breakfast was fine...warm croissants would have been nice as a "continental breakfast" is advertised however this is not a deal breaker! Jenny was a wonderfully friendly hostess. We would definitely use the B&B again.

Reviewed by
S Noble

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional experience'i
Jenny really is the hostess with the mostest! Personality plus and really helpful in many ways, the room we had, room 3, had the wonderful jacuzzi in our bedroom and the shower was an adventure in itself. Everything in the best possible taste and clean and comfortable. Huge toms and spacious lounge/dining. A really unusual B&B and you won't regret your choice.

Reviewed by
Clive W

From Ottery St Mary, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic accomodation
Excellent service from the moment I entered,you were made to feel comfortable and welcome,the room was very clean and comfy and was equipped with every thing you would require and more especially the shower.
The addition of a packed lunch to take away in the morning was a welcome surprise,I would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
matthew link

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful B&B - would recommend and would stay here again
This really is a beautiful B&B and Kirriemuir is very central to a lot of nice places, it's actually a good base to stay and explore Dundee, Arbroath, Carnoustie, even Aberdeen area. Being a converted Church the rooms are very big and are very comfortable. There is a lovely sitting room for the guests with a large screen tv and nice comfortable leather sofas, a lovely dining area with lovely tables and chairs and a kitchen for the use of the guests. The proprietor left us breakfast bags in the fridge for breakfast with fruit, juice, cereal bars and yoghurt. There was also cereal, waffles, bread, pancakes etc, tea and coffee and she told us just to help ourselves at anytime which was a lovely touch. I actually like the idea of not supplying a cooked breakfast as I am not much of a breakfast person so this suited me just fine. It was nice having the kitchen and dining areas as we got a very nice chinese takeaway from a takeaway which I cannot remember the name of, but it was one where you could see from the counter your food being cooked - both our meals were good. We were able to take it back to the B&B and eat it in comfort at the table with proper cutlery and just wash up after ourselves! Our room also had a mini fridge stocked with bottled water, cans of juice and chocolate bars. Crisps and nuts also available and you just leave your money in a little tin, which was really lovely and we did use this. Good idea. This B&B is definitely good value for money and we will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. To the proprietor, if you are reading this, the only thing I missed was a dressing table with a mirror and plug to set down my hairdryer, brush, straighteners etc and to sit at to do my hair and make-up in the morning, I struggled and had to just lay my stuff down on the floor! This wouldn't stop me from staying again, but I do feel it was the only thing the room lacked! Thank you for a lovely stay though.

Reviewed by
Y Gray

From Dingwall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next