No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion at Longwick

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
Red Lion, Thame Road , Princes Risborough, HP27 9SG
The Red Lion at Longwick is a traditional Freehouse, which offers very comfortable, smart rooms as well as a restaurant with an extensive menu and a cosy bar. It is a family run establishment with a lively atmosphere in the bar. It is ideal for both commercial and leisure clients to use. PLEASE NOTE -: Breakfast is continental and is served in the bedrooms. There is fresh milk and orange juice in the fridges of every room together with a choice of cereals, tea, coffee and biscuits.
Broadband access available.
Picture of The Red Lion at Longwick, Princes Risborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular Visitor
I use this accommodation a lot on business as it is close to where I need to be, generally clean and comfortable. There are more modern and expensive hotels in the vicinity, but I like the fact that the people there know me and it has that local pub feel to it. Let's face it, the rooms are above a pub! The food's not too bad, and the breakfast is in the room when you get there. And a fridge. Value for money, and convenience, That's all I really need.

Reviewed by
Brendan D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good solid place to stay
I was welcomed warmly, the food was good and the bed was comfortable. This place was everything you could want from a place to stay at.

Reviewed by
K Hurst

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
Second time iv stopped here, will stop again, good size room, good parking with good food drink and service

Reviewed by
Russell Strong

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
The staff were great and answered all questions. The pub downstairs was great with some nice real ales. Décor of the room was very dated, wood chip walls etc, but was clean, carpet was very old and needed replacing. No soap tray in the shower. The bed was great and gave a good nights sleep although the window was only single glazed at the top and the pub was very close to the road, so lots of road noise.

Reviewed by
Ian N

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again very friendly

Reviewed by
Mark Julius

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed 1 night as I had to book something fast. Would not come back
This is a pub with rooms available upstairs.
The pub grub was good wholesome stuff, decent sized portions and no complaints.
I got the impression most guests were middle aged guys working nearby.
The decor is very dated, deep pile purple and green carpet in the bathroom covered with an assortment of rugs. I don't usually do this, but I decided not to walk around the room without shoes on for hygiene reasons as the carpet felt dirty.
I also found the old velvet headboard of the bed to be very dusty and have a musty smell. I also felt quite itchy and developed a cough overnight.
I think the place needs a complete re-fit upstairs. Won't return unless I see that the decor has been improved.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming Rest for a Weary Traveller
Following a last minute change of plans which necessitated an overnight stop near Aylesbury, I found The Red Lion at Longwick and was able to book online just hours before arriving. I was also able to convey the message that I would be arriving fairly late, after dinner in Oxford.
Mildly concerned that I might arrive to find a dark building, locked up for the night, I was delighted to arrive to find the bar fully stocked with locals and plenty of real ale. I was greeted by name, polite enquiries were made about how my earlier meeting had gone and I was shown to a pleasant, en suite room upstairs, before returning to the bar to sample the beer.
A good night's sleep followed and was able to enjoy breakfast in bed (leaving the ingredients of a continental breakfast in the bedroom is a brilliant idea; I don't know why more places don't do it!).
I would happily stay here again and in fact may do so in November, when I'm next required to be in the area.

Reviewed by
T Robinson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, the room was clean and comfy. Nice idea to have a fridge in the room. Floorboards were abit creaky but I didn't hear any noise from the other guests.

Reviewed by
d fisher

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

plesant experience
all fine good atmosphere

Reviewed by
Bob H

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good & friendly
Value for money nice bar

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next