Reviews - The Red Lion at Longwick

Red Lion, Thame Road, Princes Risborough, HP27 9SG

Price From 102.16 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Lynn Turner

  • October 2015

The room was very comfortable and the owners made a special effort to meet my check-in needs.

It was very helpful that the owners made a special effort to meet my check-in needs, because I was off to an all day event, I needed to check in at 9.30am.

The room was very clean and comfortable although it became quite hot after the heating came on in the morning and I couldn't open the window.

  • Marjory B

  • September 2015

Not the best experence

On first entering the room, the accommodation was not brilliant, but was faithful to the description.

However, when I got into bed I found that the mattress was very uncomfortable. I could feel the tops of the springs. It was obviously well past its best. I did not sleep well.

The breakfast was very basic, with only instant coffee.

  • sonia p

  • August 2015

Excellent value for money

Lovely pub with fantastic customer service, lovely evening meal and comfortable room!

  • Tim Roberts

  • August 2015

An excellent night stopover

Headed to the Towersey Festival to help out for a day and travelling from London then on to Bath by train, I needed a reasonably priced place to stay accessible on foot.

This proved the answer to my need and I had a very comfortable stay in a very welcoming atmosphere. The only downside is that it is not on a bus route but there are good footpaths if the weather is fine.

  • alan Hitchcock

  • August 2015

The owner could not be more pleasant and helpful .

The food was good homely food.

  • Martin D

  • July 2015

Nice room above a village pub.

Nice room above a village pub.

Good bar food. Friendly staff.

  • john d

  • July 2015

working in area

great base for working in the area.

wonderful hoast and great atmosphere in the pub

  • Andrew B

  • May 2015

Very basic, terrible road noise

My room was right by the road, and many trucks passed by.

And woke me up frequently. Which is quite hard to do as I am usually a heavy sleeper. No cooked breakfast avail. Literally a mini fridge outside my room with some milk and orange juice inside and selection of 3 cereals.Kettle with savers of tea & coffee. V basic indeed.

  • M Gray

  • May 2015

Basic accommodation above a pub.

The room was inexpensive so was fine.

A little dated but clean enough, warm enough and had tea and coffee. The bathroom did look a bit tired and the shower has definitely seen better days. There was no cooked breakfast option, but the room had a fridge with milk and a jug of orange juice and there were about three cereals to choose from. The chap downstairs was very friendly on arrival but didn't see anyone when I left.

  • David S

  • April 2015

One night stay

Arrived very late, despite the fact that the kitchen was closed I was offered food from the menu which was very welcome.

Excellent atmosphere in the bar. Basic breakfast in the room but ideal for an early start.