No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
High Street East Ilsley, Newbury, RG20 7LF
Less than a ten minute drive to Newbury town centre The Swan Hotel is a traditional former coaching Inn, situated in a small village in the heart of the rolling Berkshire Downs. Over the last eight years we have established a firm reputation for providing British pub food with a combination of good value and high standards with an emphasis on quality AND quantity. These standards are maintained by our well stocked bar, serving wines from the old world and new and our well kept,award winning real ales, backed up with twenty years of experience in the pub trade.

All our rooms are en-suite, one of which has a beautiful four poster. We have recommendations on trip advisor and in the good pub guide. Whether it is for business or pleasure a comfortable, relaxing stay is assured and we look forward to greeting you.
Picture of The Swan, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable room,excellent service and brilliant full english breakfast, friendly staff would definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
David R

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one to remember
Excellent service. Clean, comfortable accommodation, excellent breakfast, very friendly proprietors, will definitely use this hotel again. No more worry about choosing a hotel awhen we visit Didcot.

Reviewed by
cluett

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great friendly pub.
Very good accommodation. Good breakfast and available from 0700. Good menu, great food.

Reviewed by
Kevin weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant could not wish for more
Brilliant made to feel welcome. I now feel like one of the family

Reviewed by
JOHN HATTON

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Head Banging!
Hotel was very easy to find and with ample parking. Room was very spacious and clean. Bathroom was immaculate. Evening meal was delicious and arrived promptly and breakfast was equally good. Only minor negative, hence the title, was the door to my room was deceptively low! Only caught me out once but either once was enough or the beer was a lot stronger than I thought.
That aside, it was a great venue that I would strongly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made to feel very welcome and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
H Wilson

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent country break at the Swan
A typical country inn that provides respite from the hustle & bustle of city life. Good beer, good food - particularly the full English breakfast - and hepful staff. En suite room clean & tidy with a choice of TV channels. I'd go again tomorrow!

Reviewed by
d morris

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy room above the bar but service OK

Reviewed by
Paul K

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stand
Having arrived late due to breaking down, we were unsure if we would be able to get a meal. The kitchen staff were cleaning down and just about to go home. They did however take our order and prepare food for the four of us which was most welcome. Breakfast the following morning was very good with plenty of choice, was cooked fresh and was hot. Unable to start the car on the Sunday morning Richard the manager was most helpful and helped us to get on our way once again.

Reviewed by
J Dyke

From Llanilltud Fawr, Wales
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay
Lovely old pub with good accommodation and friendly staff/owners.We didn't eat in the evening as we had come here to visit family so ate with them; but the menu choices looked good and the breakfast was certainly good. Nice sized room which was well pesented and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Phillip I

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.