You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Barns Hotel

4

CARDINGTON ROAD, BEDFORD, MK44 3SA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Stephen J

  • April 2016

Okay but checking out let it down

The room was okay a little dated but not too bad.

The only real criticism I have is the rooms are heated by radiator and only appeared to come on at set times. I prefer a thermostat in the room so I can personally decide how hot or cold the room is. There was a mix up with the cost when it come to paying the bill in the morning. I booked two rooms with Laterooms.com but one came with breakfast and the other did not. The room that came with breakfast cost less than the room only booking. I explained to the receptionist that there seems to be an error and was met with the comment 'that's what happens when you book somewhere else'. I eventually talked to the duty manager who was perfect and explained the bill to us and said it is very unusual for the bill to look like this especially as the room with breakfast was cheaper than the one without. He corrected the bill and we paid the correct rate.

  • Rene D

  • April 2016

Average Night

I've stayed at the barns a numerous of times, each time has been easy check in and check out.

However one night we checked out the man at reception was taking far to long to check us out slowly it seemed on purpose. The rooms are pretty average. The bathroom is ok also

  • Markus S

  • January 2016

Beautiful Hotel!

Very friendly and helpful front Desk!.

Nice rooms!

  • deirdre n

  • December 2015

Barns hotel bedford

I had a very enjoyable stay , staff were so friendly and very helpful

  • S Warner

  • October 2015

Great

The staff were very attentive friendly and approachable food in the restaurant was delightful lovely hotel in a lovely setting, looking forward to going back

  • M Bryant

  • August 2015

Weekend break

Lovely hotel and surroundings.

Only drawback is the hotel caters very much for wedding parties. If you are ordinary guests you can find yourself a bit left out. The dining room was used for a wedding reception and the dining room was moved to the riverside bar. We went to the small bar as we realised people were eating in the larger bar. A rather snooty girl behind the bar asked if were part of the wedding party and told it was private. No one had told us earlier we could not use this bar. We felt awkward and embarrassed. Luckily the wedding guests invited us to stay in the bar. If both bars are used for weddings there is no where to go for a drink if you are an ordinary guest.

  • Lucy R

  • May 2015

Reception

I arrived at the hotel just before 11, so by the time I checked in and got into my room I was unable to get any hot food.

The gentleman in reception was very thoughtful and took it upon himself to bring me a food menu. I would like to express my thanks, he was very polite and helpful.

  • julie f

  • April 2015

Weekend Easter stay

Very pleased with Barns hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly.

A beautiful approach to hotel along the river. Great setting, and if warmer would have been lovely to sit outside having a drink overlooking river. Only a small criticism, the shower wasn't very powerful, but all kept lovely and clean, and maintained.

  • edward e

  • November 2014

Think twice before booking

The accommodation was no worse or no better than I would have expected from a four star rated hotel.

when checking in at 2pm I could not stay in the room as the central heating had been turned off at 10am, and the room was cold, I decided to go to the bar and have a drink and read my paper, the bar was devoid of all human life (and heating, though marginally warmer than my room) which sadly included bar staff, sat there for 20 minutes, and in the end asked at reception if there was

any chance of service, I was told there would be someone there shortly, another 20 minutes passed before I was finally served. I returned to my room and at 3.45 heard the merry hum of the central heating pump. My wife arrived at 5.30 by which time the room had warmed slightly, we decided as it was still not warm enough we would go to the restaurant for dinner, we were the first ones there, we waited half an hour to be served, my wife ordered a starter, a goats cheese roulade, which looked, and tasted as if had been made the day before, this was sent back, we then waited a further half an hour for our main courses, my wife had the chicken, it came overcooked and unhappy, my beer battered fish and chips with mushy peas was a four star disgrace, on hacking my way through the half inch thick batter the fish was a watery grey mess, but there is worse to come, oven chips. but unbelievably, badly cooked oven chips. needless to say all the food was sent back (uneaten) and we left the a lot hungrier than we went in. The heating went off at 10.30 in our room, and came on for just two hours in the morning. The only redeeming thing about our stay was that the staff where friendly and courteous.

  • Olga P

  • November 2014

Good hotel

Enjoyed staying at this pretty hotel