Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Central Scotland > Stirling > Drymen Hotels > BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
22 Main Street, Drymen , Loch Lomond, G63 0BQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Resort 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

In a stunning location, this wonderfully rural accommodation will give you the key to Loch Lomond...with Glasgow's shopping areas only 20 miles away too! BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel and Spa has undergone a total transformation with its stylish and contemporary bedrooms and public areas, yet still retains traditional features like log fires, a unique snug bar and the walled hotel gardens! Wherever you turn, style meets seclusion to make this the perfect place for a relaxing break or residential retreat with colleagues or groups. The calming health club means you can take a dip in peace too, with a spacious 14 meter pool and spa bath to choose from... and a sauna steam room, gym, dance studio and squash court offering even more choice when it comes to feeling fantastic! The self contained Heaven at Buchanan Spa has 4 treatment rooms, a tranquil relaxation area and a relaxing range of classic and holistic treatments. Let your hair down, and let us take care of your from head to toe in gorgeous surroundings!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa, Loch Lomond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All the staff were brilliant!

Reviewed by
douglas s

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
thank you to all the staff they were very friendly ,the location of the hotel was perfect ,the food the best food i'v had away from home in a very long time. i loved my stay, i wanted a Relaxing break and that's what i had i can't wait to Vist there again .
and the late room's Booking Staff were very helpful i will always Book with them.

Reviewed by
b tako

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room a little bit noisy as a wedding on but very nice apart from that

Reviewed by
J Warden

From Markfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price, clean (and huge) room with king size bed. Small tv but ok, bathroom was small but still ok. Pool/gym/steamroom/sauna was good!
Getting refirbished at the moment (july 2014). Wet paint in corridor, was hard to avoid it as it was at breakfast time and check in/out time.
Small bar which under changed me by £10 and had to wait till it closed so they could check the till, did get it back around 11pm with member of staff Knocking room door.
B'fast was ok, decent selection for £7.99.
Overall, would recommend.

Reviewed by
Jennifer L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel comments
Very disappointed had booked a double room did not expect two single beds at "different heights" pushed together

Reviewed by
D Ross

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointment
I first visited this hotel (for lunch) in 1962. The meal was excellent and memorable.
My wife and I spent a very pleasant couple of nights here in 2004. Again, the food was first class and the hotel in general earned top marks.
I therefore very much want this hotel to succeed. It has great potential and is in an excellent setting.
We stayed here on this occasion because we were attending a wedding in the Loch Lomond area. The day before our arrival, we called the hotel to clarify check-in time. We were hoping to access our room at noon, as the wedding was at 2pm. We were advised that this would only be possible if we paid a fee of £10 for each hour prior to the "normal" time of 3pm. Because we were keen to freshen up after our journey, we paid £30, I have a Best Western card, which supposedly helps with getting early access to rooms (when possible), but this is the second time when it has proved useless in this connection.
Otherwise, the room was fine, but the breakfast left a lot to be desired. We ate at about the middle of the allocated time, when the restaurant was busy. So there really was no reason for the food to be lukewarm and not particularly appetising.
Overall, a disappointment.

Reviewed by
J White

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
The evening meal was good but would have given more had it not been for some of the hot breakfast items not being in the best state. A result of them being left out for too long - perhaps less food cooked and replaced more frequently might solve this.

Reviewed by
Paul Richardson

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, receptionist very helpful with a problem I had with another hotel.

Reviewed by
Gillian M

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff.
Good facilities. We will definitely return.

Reviewed by
R McCombe

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buchanan Arms Superior Room
Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Superior room was lovely but I thought the bathroom was basic including the over the bath shower.

Reviewed by
G Calder

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next