Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Central Scotland > Stirling > Drymen Hotels > BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
22 Main Street, Drymen , Loch Lomond, G63 0BQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Resort 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

In a stunning location, this wonderfully rural accommodation will give you the key to Loch Lomond...with Glasgow's shopping areas only 20 miles away too! BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel and Spa has undergone a total transformation with its stylish and contemporary bedrooms and public areas, yet still retains traditional features like log fires, a unique snug bar and the walled hotel gardens! Wherever you turn, style meets seclusion to make this the perfect place for a relaxing break or residential retreat with colleagues or groups. The calming health club means you can take a dip in peace too, with a spacious 14 meter pool and spa bath to choose from... and a sauna steam room, gym, dance studio and squash court offering even more choice when it comes to feeling fantastic! The self contained Heaven at Buchanan Spa has 4 treatment rooms, a tranquil relaxation area and a relaxing range of classic and holistic treatments. Let your hair down, and let us take care of your from head to toe in gorgeous surroundings!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel & Spa, Loch Lomond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must try harder.
On paper looks a very pleasant stay.
My girlfriend could not use to spa unless she had booked days before we even decided to stay there.
Waited half an hour before our dinner order was taken, 20 minutes later the starters were served, after which we waited 30 minutes before dinner was served.
Most of our breakfast from the buffet had hair in it, and plates and glasses weren't cleaned properly.

Reviewed by
Dave H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful retreat
Very comfortable room, good quality food and reasonable customer service.

Reviewed by
Cliff B

From BEDFORD, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value overnight stay near to Loch Lomond

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only thing that let this stay down was hunting for staff when you wanted to order a meal at the bar or drinks, then once served having to go to the reception to pay for your order, spa area was tired looking and noted area around swimming pool had not been cleaned (plaster and hair grips still in same place on floor day after). On the plus side staff were friendly and polite and bedrooms really comfy. Food lovely, bar pricey.

Reviewed by
a hardman

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and wonderful service. We are hoping to return soon .

Reviewed by
c smith

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleased
Wonderful food. Décor a bit shabby in places. Restaurant and Leisure Centre staff very friendly and helpful. Only negative point our daughters sofa bed very uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
Keith Maughan

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in the land of the Scots
We had a wonderful stay at the Buchanan Arms. The spa was fabulous after a hard day sight seeing, the room warn and clean and the food of a good standard. We decided to have a meal in the hotel for my partners 45th birthday at the last minute and they fitted us in without a problem. The staff were really helpful and cheery and made us feel most welcome. They were also good at giving directions for travel by car and gladly printed out station times for our trip to Edinburgh .A great deal from late rooms included breakfast and I will miss the haggis! Thank you for a wonderful Scottish welcome.

Reviewed by
Jan Provost

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in a lovely village
Booking this hotel last minute I was a little anxious. I shouldn't have worried though. We were checked In promptly and given a standard double room. This was decorated well with a large modernly tiled bathroom. It had a small tv on the wall, hair dryer, and tea making facilities.
Afterwards we went to use the hotels leisure facilities and found a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and beauty therapy area. Given it was horrible weather outside we were delighted to be able to use this and stay indoors with something to do.
Later we ate at the salmon leap restaurant. It was a nice meal although not the best I have ever had given the prices are fairly high. Nonetheless, service was good and the staff within the restaurant very attentive.
Breakfast the following morning was a welcome surprise with traditional Scottish breakfast available along with a selection of cereals and fruits. We also had tea and toast brought to our table. We loved breakfast, it set us up very nicely for the day.
The hotel is situated in a lovely little village, there is a spar along the road for anything you need a few shops to browse in and also some other pubs to drink and eat in. The clachan served delicious food and the snack bar across the road from the hotel sold us the best roll on sausage I think I have ever had. All round we were very pleased with our trip and would recommend this.

Reviewed by
J Ross

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for moeny
we really enjoyed our overnight stay. the leisure facilities were excellent. although we didn't eat in hotel at night our breakfast was enjoyable and there was a good selection. but i would say the waitress could say when seating you about ordering some food i.e. boiled, fried egg etc as we were told to help ourselves but we didn't notice note on table telling you to order until after we had already started eating, so just assumed what was there was all there was available. but other than that we had a great experience. staff were friendly and helpful. also has we stayed midweek we got a great price which made the stay very good value for money.

Reviewed by
angela b

From Gourock, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leisure stay
Room was of good size for family of 3-very clean, comfortable beds and good customer service. Also like the complimentary shower/shampoo/soaps. Beautiful weather also made our stay enjoyable, check out the viewpoint across from hotel-beautiful scenery

Reviewed by
david porter

From Alexandria, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next