Reviews - BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel


Lake Road, Ambleside, LA22 9BX

Price From 229.04 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (8)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Susan S

  • July 2015

Fabulous room in a very good hotel

We booked this room last minute, it was literally the last room available in the centre of Ambleside, the onl criticism of the hotel is the lack of parking but we just about managed to squeeze into a space when we arrived.

Checked in and we were allocated room 101. Went up to the room and we were delighted with it, a lovely balcony looking out on to the street at the front of the hotel. Hardly heard any other guests great sound proofing between rooms. Breakfast was great and because our order what cooked foor you want it hasnt been sat on a buffet table for ages so was delicious. Very pleased overall with this hotel, would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone.

  • A Ridgley

  • January 2015

BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel

We visit Ambleside quite a lot and usually stay at another hotel.

This time we had a Change and really enjoyed it, we stayed in Rydal room which was really nice with a lovel balcony. Would definitely go again.

  • A Casey

  • August 2014

Very good-sized room for a family of four.

Excellent room-cleaning service.

  • C Cooper

  • July 2014

Banging Doors

We stayed in room No : 215, the door closers on this room and other close rooms were not set up correctly and the doors banged when left to shut, to the extent that the room shook.

We reported this on Friday after noon, but the receptionist did not seem very interested. When we left on Sunday the banging was still the same. We were woken several times on both nights by the banging.

  • L Whittle

  • June 2014

Overall our experience at the Salutation was good but 1 of the rooms was lovely and newly done and 2 of the rooms were very tired looking and definitely not worth the money we paid .

We just don't understand why all three rooms were the same price but of very different quality. Also it was not explained when we arrived that we could have 10% off the price of drinks with our westmorland and best western cards and was only told after we had paid and then were told it was too late to have that discount,so again not very pleased.Such a shame as the hotel is really lovely downstairs but all the bedrooms need to be of the same quality or priced accordingly.

  • E Oliver

  • June 2014

well placed

Very nice hotel, conveniently located for a variety of restaurants.

Room was

spacious but hot even with window open all night. Breakfast was very good and plentiful. Would chose this one again.

  • Julie P

  • March 2014


Excellent breakfast, evening meal, atmosphere, rooms, hospitality

  • Michael Thorpe

  • January 2014

Excellent stay in Ambleside

First class service from the minute I arrived.

I arrived early to check in and was expecting to have a wait for my room. The receptionist explained that my room wasnt quite ready, but to save you waiting around we can offer you an upgrade at no cost . This set the scene for rest of my stay. The location of the Hotel is excellent, the cleanliness and feel of the hotel was wonderful. The leisure club was outstanding, with excellent wet area facilities. I only had breakfast at the hotel, which was excellent. I think I have found a little gem in this hotel and have already booked again for my next business trip.