No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Inn by Good Night Inns

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
1-2 Market Square , Buckingham, MK18 1NL
An 18th Century coaching inn occupying a prominent position in the lovely market town of Buckingham, this fine Grade II listed hotel is the perfect base for business in Milton Keynes, shopping in Bicester Village, racing at Towcester or exploring the glorious Buckinghamshire countryside .

Less than 20 minutes from the centre of Milton Keynes and with easy access to both the M1 and M40 motorways, The White Hart is ideally located for doing business in the area or planning a last minute trip. The hotel has a large free car park and fully equipped meeting rooms ideal for seminars or away days in a lovely market town.

The hotel has 18 en-suite bedrooms including family and twin rooms, all equipped with flat-screen digital TVs, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests, tea and coffee making facilities, and with function rooms and a traditional pub restaurant on site.

Located in the heart of Buckingham at 1-2 Market Square, just 12 miles from the M40 and M1, the hotel is perfect for visits to Silverstone Racetrack, breathtaking Stowe Landscape Gardens, the Roald Dahl Museum and fascinating Bletchley Park, home of the WWII codebreakers.
Picture of White Hart Inn by Good Night Inns, Buckingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
On the whole a good place centrally located and within 10/15 mins of Silverstone, hence reason for visit. Only complaints where the tables for breakfast were very dirty and the floors messy from the previous night so not pleasant and breakfast was ok but watery scrambled eggs, which is very basic really to get right. Still would stay there again for an overnighter

Reviewed by
g titchener

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unreliable hot water supply, loud music late into the evening. twin room not king size bed as advertised. Not great value for money.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room ok,
We stayed on a sunday night and didn't really use the pub at all. We checked in which was fine, then went elsewhere for dinner.

Reviewed by
Angela Meyer

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor.
Huge disappointment. Arrived and given a twin room that smelled badly of smoke. We booked a non smoking double. Then given another room, the only other available we were told. This room was filthy, floor hadn't been hoovered and was covered in bits. Bins unemptied and bathroom not been cleaned.
Only cheap but still not worth it.
Then we left some PJs on the bed when we left so called to ask if they had been found. The guy was rude and unhelpful, said nothing was handed in and I should ring back the next day. Rang next day and got a more helpful chap who said he would investigate, call the laundry etc and call me back. Nothing heard and then I rang again but they said it would be too late to trace them. Bad rooms, bad service, not recommended even if you are on a budget.

Reviewed by
Sam A

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly pub with good grub
Good quality typical pub food. Room was at top of building, up 2 flights of stairs, very nice have stayed before and would stay again

Reviewed by
Jacqueline H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No comment

Reviewed by
K Evans

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart review
Parking here is awful. The carpark is unsurfaced and cramped. There are a few extra spaces in a nearby complex of flats. The reception staff assured me that things are being improved but the access is difficult and cramped. On arrival, the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful, but the quality of the room was poor. Very dark and dingy with dated fittings and a sagging bed. Bathroom and sheets very clean however, which was reassuring. I did not find the room too noisy. Breakfast was a big disappointment. Virtually no service, tables not properly set, no cloths (not even paper ones) and a limited choice of food. No fruit and fruit juices looked as though they had been in the jugs about a week. Hot breakfast served on a cold plate and no sideplates available. OVerall, very poor I thought. Unlikely to stay overnight again unless really stuck.

Reviewed by
D Livesley

From Royaume-Uni
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place with odd character
This is a basically nice hotel in the centre of Buckingham. It's location is quieter than I feared when I arrived, given that it is on quite a busy junction. The room was quite large with an en suite including a large bath. My only issue with the room is that the only source of heating in the room was an air-conditioner that only seemed to blow cold air even at the hottest setting. This was not a huge problem since the room was not particularly cold, but it is something to consider if you like a warm room.
The food was great - well-cooked fish and chips with mushy peas and curry sauce and four pickled onions! However, there is something about the character of the pub that is odd - it was filled with single men sitting alone. Apart from the bar staff, there were only two women in the whole place between 7 and 8pm - very odd.

Reviewed by
Jeremy W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic rooms but good rate.
Value for money in basic surroundings fairly clean but needs upgrading and updating.

Reviewed by
J Davies

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay somewhere else!
I'd expected better from Buckingham: reception was luke warm; pub was a bit "rough"; bed was tatty and badly made - I ended up re-making it myself; on exiting the shower - having got ready for bed I discovered that there were no heating controls in the room (heating was off - in February!) and I had to use the heated towel rail - with the bathroom door open all night, to keep the bedroom warm; TV's BBC channels didn't work; there was nothing in the room with the hotel phone number on so I had to go online to find it, and when I rang to report the heating and the TV problems the phone just rang out - nobody answered. At this point I'd just about lost the will to live, and wasn't going to get back into my travel clothes just to go down to reception to complain! Didn't want to risk breakfast so can't comment on the food. Will not be coming back here in a hurry.

Reviewed by
Liz M

From Bromsgrove, Worcs, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next