No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Judd's Folly Hotel

3AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
London Road, Faversham, ME13 0RH

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Located in a three acre park, down a tree lined drive, sits Judds Folly Hotel.
Ongoing refurbishment of the hotel will offer superbly appointed bedrooms many of which surround the illuminated pond area and some with views over the Swale Valley and down to Faversham Quay.
Our Courtyard Rooms offer our Superb Honeymoon Suite and family accommodation.
Beautiful conservatory restaurant serving locally grown and produced ingredients. Relaxing bar and lounge area.
Bedrooms are located on the ground floor or in the courtyard house and all are en-suite. Complimentary Car Parking.
Picture of Judd's Folly Hotel, Faversham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay thank you
Lovely little hotel. Good value for money. Would recommend

Reviewed by
Carol E

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay with dog
Stayed in annexe rooms where dogs are allowed, these rooms not quite up to the standard of the main hotel but this is understood as dogs use the rooms as well!
Rooms cleaned and tidied very nicely each day.
No problems encountered having dog with us at all and a nice walk across the fields and into a forest is just across the road.
The staff were superb and very welcoming, the bar area is lovely and the restaurant food is very good indeed.
Overall a very nice stay......

Reviewed by
L Worley

From Ongar, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 'major' Folly
Having just celebrated our Golden Wedding we were looking forward to a few days break. We booked the 4star hotel, Judd's Folly, as a good centre for our sightseeing having looked on the hotels website as well as laterooms.com. On arrival the park lands were beautiful but the hotel did not inspire at all. The staff were polite and helpful and the dining room we passed through looked very elegant. We had decided to up our room to a 'Junior Suite' at £95 per night, thinking we would have a better aspect & room. Our room was situated on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard which doubled up for a car park and we had a superb view of the waste bins, full to overflowing, each time we stepped outside or looked out of the window. We appreciate that refuse bins are needed but they should be hidden and not near the guests rooms. At the entrance there was a small unclean table & two chairs for smokers with a dirty tub for spent cigarettes, which mostly the staff seemed to use and if we had our window open we got the second hand smoke coming into our room.The carpeting in the passageway was very dirty and un-prepossessing. Our room itself was large, carpeted, with a big bed, sofa, armchair and other tables and chairs with a big roomy bathroom - loved the quirky ducks in the bath! In the blurb we were informed there would be complimentary fruit, chocolates and a bottle of wine; there was no fruit, a box of chocolates and my idea of a bottle of wine did not match the hotels as there were only two 'airline' sized bottles of wine. There was only one set of towels to share - one bath and one hand towel. We don't mind re-using towels to 'save' on laundry but do expect a set each. The tap in the hand basin dripped, or rather ran continuously, and when we told the hotel they said they would fix it but nothing changed. We did not dine in the hotel but the breakfasts were good and plenty of it; but why oh why could the tea & marmalade not have been of a better quality & to have decent bread and not sliced plastic bread for the toast; the cost would be minimal. There was a delightful patio area with a pool and fountain with seating area overlooking the park outside the dining room. The staff were pleasant at all times and smiled and were very welcoming but sadly the overall experience marred our visit and it was very disappointing.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. First of all congratulations on your Golden Wedding Anniversary. I am pleased that you found the staff pleasant at all times and the room and breakfast overall was satisfactory. I respond in line with your comments a) We are NOT 4 Star, Never have been or ever advertised this. b) We do NOT advertise or state that the 2 Junior Suite we have had good views. They are both located on the Ground floor. c) The Bin area is located at the back of the hotel, it is unfortunate that this is close to the a few of the rooms and we are looking into fencing the area off. d) Smoking – The table in question is used by staff and guests, this is again around the back of the hotel, I will ensure it is maintained better in the future. e) We do NOT advertise Fruit in the package However Wine and chocolates were in your room, this is a gesture for booking an upgraded room. f) Towels – We supply 2 sets in each room, 1 in bathroom 1 in wardrobe. You were here for 3 days, ??? Surely you would have mentioned that previously g) TAP - Interesting - You reported Thursday Morning, Washer was changed Thursday. No Drip – You then left it until Saturday to mention this again. YOU failed to mention you were discounted £25.00 for this, even though we checked the tap and it was satisfactorily not dripping h) Marmalade is Robinsons and Tea is PG and Yorkshire, Bread is Hovis. Interesting you find these items substandard. The rate of £95.00 was very competitive for the evenings you stayed and if you were unhappy, I can only apologise, Jason Wolverson Hotel Owner

Reviewed by
Jose P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressive
It does still have the echo of a Motel from the outside but a great welcome, good room, lovely setting and good food dispel the fears. Room I was in close to dining room so slight noise impact but overall excellent

Reviewed by
Peter V

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All the staff we met were very pleasant and helpful. Room clean. breakfast good would even make porridge if requested.

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Small, but very nice single room. Lovely breakfast, but dinner a bit disapointing. First night very quiet, but second night there was a wedding on and music went on till 1pm - would have appreciated a warning when I booked in.

Reviewed by
A Devine

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly

Reviewed by
R Barker

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and clean rooms
We had a lovely stay at Judd Folly - the staff we are very friendly and welcoming, our room was a good size, clean and as expected. The breakfast was nice - we enjoyed the full English breakfast and the choice. Hotel is slowly being done up and you can tell once finished will be lovely, would stay here again, thank you for a lovely stay x

Reviewed by
L Phillips

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay
We booked here for a night as me and my partner wanted to visit Whitstable. We had a lovely warm welcome from the lady on reception. She showed us round our room also (which came with a box of chocolates and a mini bottle of red and white wine).
The room was clean a little dated but big and more that acceptable for what we wanted. Our stay was comfortable but we did notice there was quite a lot of noise. I think there may have been a kitchen or staffroom nearby but it didnt bother us too much.
The breakfast in the morning was amazing. We didnt expect much as it was included in the room rate but it was lovely. We made use of the continental breakfast, with lots of different fruit, and then had a full english which was really good. We would rate this experience 4 out of 5 in total.

Reviewed by
Daniel H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quirky retreat
So unusual, lots of separate rooms and some in lovely cottages
I loved the chairs and tables outside for enjoying the evening sunshine

Reviewed by
W Dorrington

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next