You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Abbey Guest House

4

136 Oxford Road, ,, Abingdon, OX14 2AG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Jones

  • July 2015

Abbey Guest House

Very good room contained everything you needed.

Wide choice for breakfast food well cooked.

  • Richard Lawrence

  • June 2015

off The Thames Path.

A friend and I have been walking the Thames path,and we welcomed the excellent B.&B.

at

Abbey House---very welcoming and a very high standard all round. The owner was a gem and she couldn't have been more helpful, especially finding us our next B.&B. on the walk.The house

offers great facilities in terms of its rooms and comfort,plus the food was great. Five stars all round.

  • F Murray

  • June 2015

Abbey Guest House

This proved to be a good location with easy access to Oxford and a bus stop a few steps away.

Parking area to front with supplemental street parking. The double room I occupied was modern & spotless clean. A super breakfast was served in the morning.

  • Mike R

  • December 2014

Home from home

Terry can easily make you feel one of the family I quite liked her practice of putting us all on one table for breakfast.

I'm a bit inclined to be solitary but I think being 'almost forced' to be sociable does me no harm. My only complaint I think is also her complaint - the builders haven't quite finished the job. - but it doesn't detract from the pleasure of being there. Local evening meal was a bit of a problem but it was Boxing Day - all the pubs had given the chef the night off.

Response from hotel

It is reassuring to hear that some guests do appreciate what is offered here, and makes no comment about the cold as the alternative heating supplied was clearly effective. Having stayed the night after the guests that were 'Appalled!' it only shows how some understanding of a situation outside of my control can be viewed.

Thank you for your kind words and I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you here again in the not too distant future.

Mrs Terry Boswell, Proprietor

  • Christine d

  • December 2014

Appalled!

Christmas Day booked in overnight to spend time with family.

0 degrees outside and icy, NO HEATING IN THE HOUSE AT ALL!!!. My husband suffered all of Boxing Day with sore kidneys after getting chilled through the night. Other guests older than us complained the next morning and were angry. Owner told us boiler wasn't working. Had to share a breakfast table with 3 strangers. Will never stay here again.

Response from hotel

When you arrived on Christmas Eve the house was warm and welcoming and you clearly felt this as you remarked upon it at the time. You appreciated that we had fitted a lift which enabled you to go upstairs without any problems. When you left you commented that you would return to compare notes about our respective health issues (in regard to knee surgery which we had both experienced) and you implied that you understood that I could not have foreseen the boiler problem! Indeed most of the guests sympathised as they appreciated that this was something totally out of my control.

It is of course regrettable that the boiler broke down during the night of Christmas Day/Boxing Day - and this was following a visit from the plumbers/gas fitters on Christmas Eve who assured me that all was well. Unfortunately I was out till late with my family on Christmas Day and was unaware there was a problem till I returned. During the course of the night I got up several times to turn the boiler off and then turn it back on, in the hope that this would then get the heating circulation system to re-start working (we still had hot water as this was not affected) but was unable to make any difference and so was therefore only able to offer apologies at breakfast time.

The comment about there being 'no heating in the house as all' is actually incorrect as the breakfast room was warm and cosy as the gas fire was on there prior to and during the breakfast service. Of course I do have 'back up' electric heaters available and these were placed in all the rooms on Boxing Day as I was unable to obtain any professional help during the Bank Holiday. I could not have placed them in a room any earlier without disturbing guests who may have been already asleep when I returned on Christmas Day night.

I should add that all guests are given a key ring with my emergency telephone number engraved and they are told that they can contact me 24/7 on that number. If this guest (or indeed any guest) had called me and given me permission to enter their room in the middle of the night, I would have placed an electric heater in the room immediately.

Finally, in regard to the comment about sharing a table at breakfast time, this is quite usual at a B&B and something that lone travellers much appreciate. If guests prefer the anonymity of separate tables then they are free to book a more expensive establishment/hotel where they an be assured of this. Particularly over the festive period, many guests enjoy the company and shared table as this can add to the spirit of the occasion.

Mrs Terry Boswell, Proprietor

  • S Meredith

  • November 2014

Abbey Guest House

A pleasant stay,very helpful and accommodating owner.

Will definitely be back.

  • m Jones

  • August 2014

very clean and comfortable.

food very good. rooms on small size

  • Tony A

  • August 2014

Traditional Bed and Breakfast

We enjoyed our stay in a comfortable room.

Terry was very welcoming. The guest house is undergoing some building work to extend the premises but none of this work disturbed our stay. The cooked breakfast was 1st class. Parking off road is available in front of the guest house.

This is a professionally run business which is clean, comfortable and I would recommend it.

  • j kitson

  • August 2014

Great B&B, with plenty of parking and a nice breakfast

Very friendly B&B with great facilities, plenty of parking space, and an nice cooked breakfast