Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
81% would recommend it to a friend
Abbey Guest House
Very good room contained everything you needed.
Wide choice for breakfast food well cooked.
off The Thames Path.
A friend and I have been walking the Thames path,and we welcomed the excellent B.&B.
Abbey House---very welcoming and a very high standard all round. The owner was a gem and she couldn't have been more helpful, especially finding us our next B.&B. on the walk.The house
offers great facilities in terms of its rooms and comfort,plus the food was great. Five stars all round.
Abbey Guest House
This proved to be a good location with easy access to Oxford and a bus stop a few steps away.
Parking area to front with supplemental street parking. The double room I occupied was modern & spotless clean. A super breakfast was served in the morning.
Home from home
Terry can easily make you feel one of the family I quite liked her practice of putting us all on one table for breakfast.
I'm a bit inclined to be solitary but I think being 'almost forced' to be sociable does me no harm. My only complaint I think is also her complaint - the builders haven't quite finished the job. - but it doesn't detract from the pleasure of being there. Local evening meal was a bit of a problem but it was Boxing Day - all the pubs had given the chef the night off.
Response from hotel
It is reassuring to hear that some guests do appreciate what is offered here, and makes no comment about the cold as the alternative heating supplied was clearly effective. Having stayed the night after the guests that were 'Appalled!' it only shows how some understanding of a situation outside of my control can be viewed.
Thank you for your kind words and I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you here again in the not too distant future.
Mrs Terry Boswell, Proprietor
Christmas Day booked in overnight to spend time with family.
0 degrees outside and icy, NO HEATING IN THE HOUSE AT ALL!!!. My husband suffered all of Boxing Day with sore kidneys after getting chilled through the night. Other guests older than us complained the next morning and were angry. Owner told us boiler wasn't working. Had to share a breakfast table with 3 strangers. Will never stay here again.
Response from hotel
When you arrived on Christmas Eve the house was warm and welcoming and you clearly felt this as you remarked upon it at the time. You appreciated that we had fitted a lift which enabled you to go upstairs without any problems. When you left you commented that you would return to compare notes about our respective health issues (in regard to knee surgery which we had both experienced) and you implied that you understood that I could not have foreseen the boiler problem! Indeed most of the guests sympathised as they appreciated that this was something totally out of my control.
It is of course regrettable that the boiler broke down during the night of Christmas Day/Boxing Day - and this was following a visit from the plumbers/gas fitters on Christmas Eve who assured me that all was well. Unfortunately I was out till late with my family on Christmas Day and was unaware there was a problem till I returned. During the course of the night I got up several times to turn the boiler off and then turn it back on, in the hope that this would then get the heating circulation system to re-start working (we still had hot water as this was not affected) but was unable to make any difference and so was therefore only able to offer apologies at breakfast time.
The comment about there being 'no heating in the house as all' is actually incorrect as the breakfast room was warm and cosy as the gas fire was on there prior to and during the breakfast service. Of course I do have 'back up' electric heaters available and these were placed in all the rooms on Boxing Day as I was unable to obtain any professional help during the Bank Holiday. I could not have placed them in a room any earlier without disturbing guests who may have been already asleep when I returned on Christmas Day night.
I should add that all guests are given a key ring with my emergency telephone number engraved and they are told that they can contact me 24/7 on that number. If this guest (or indeed any guest) had called me and given me permission to enter their room in the middle of the night, I would have placed an electric heater in the room immediately.
Finally, in regard to the comment about sharing a table at breakfast time, this is quite usual at a B&B and something that lone travellers much appreciate. If guests prefer the anonymity of separate tables then they are free to book a more expensive establishment/hotel where they an be assured of this. Particularly over the festive period, many guests enjoy the company and shared table as this can add to the spirit of the occasion.
Mrs Terry Boswell, Proprietor
Abbey Guest House
A pleasant stay,very helpful and accommodating owner.
Will definitely be back.
very clean and comfortable.
food very good. rooms on small size
Traditional Bed and Breakfast
We enjoyed our stay in a comfortable room.
Terry was very welcoming. The guest house is undergoing some building work to extend the premises but none of this work disturbed our stay. The cooked breakfast was 1st class. Parking off road is available in front of the guest house.
This is a professionally run business which is clean, comfortable and I would recommend it.
Great B&B, with plenty of parking and a nice breakfast
Very friendly B&B with great facilities, plenty of parking space, and an nice cooked breakfast
If you are looking for true relaxing atmosphere - definitely not recommended
We have booked one night stay during our weekend holidays with children following excellent reviews on websites and wanting to ensure easy and relaxing family time at clean and friendly quest house.
When we arrived in the evening of very hot day we were taken to a good size clean and sunny room with all its windows closed - so you can imagine how hot it was inside. The first thing I have done it was opening all possible (2 small) windows to let some air in. Not much help though. It was very difficult to stay asleep during night in this "preheated" oven - room. I was advised by Terry that children should be put to sleep just after we arrived - 20:10 and strictly no jumping on beds. Although I was notty and gave children a shower to cool them down and we had fruits before going to beds despite large sign on the door “Strictly no food in rooms, please use dinning area for eating”. My husband went out to bring our bags from the car that was parked just at the quest house door. He left the door open for obvious reasons. He got reprimand from Terry straight away and was reminded to keep the door shut. She closed the doors so my husband had to manoeuvre to hold our 3 bags and opening the doors. We were reminded by Terry to vacate the room before 10 am next day, because new quests were arriving at 11am. We didn’t intend to stay longer anyway, because we had plans for next day. Children stayed awake late night waiting for sun to set down and chill air to came in - there are no blackout curtains.
In the morning we decided to vacate room earlier to be nice and to give Terry plenty of time for cleaning the room before next quests. We handled her the keys about 8:30 and proceeded to dining room. We were told to take our sits at 6 people table where 3 other people were in the middle of their breakfast and still one place was free. 8 people at the table for 6!:) while next table was completely empty…. I offered that we would wait until those 3 people finish their breakfast in their own peace but we were told to take our seats “now”. So we squeezed. We had a choice of cold and full English breakfast from menu – strongly advised to go for cold diversified option but we were stubborn and stood for English breakfast. I ask for hash browns and sausages only for children (4 and 7 years old good eaters but picky). They got one half size one hash brown and two finger tiny sausages each. Luckily we ordered brown toasts too so they could top up
Their breakfasts have been served on very hot plates – Very reasonable. Other quests at the table were more concerned about safety of our children that we were so we replaced our tea saucers with their hot plates. Once again we were reminded by Terry to hurry up to vacate our room, despite we have already handled the keys back. As dining with “strangers” we had to keep conversation nicely, to listen to some people veeeery patiently and be very delicate with our manoeuvrings not to drink someone else’s tea or bite their toast;) Veeryy relaxing family breakfast indeed. The other quests were delighted how well behaved our children were and I was growing proud I can only imagine how Terry would react if our children were screaming and playing with their food at the table)) She would have considered to put family at separate table then
I was very brave and asked Terry if she could possibly heat up our two Tesco’s ready pizza’s so we could pack it and have for lunch in the forest later in a day. She couldn’t do it because she was busy preparing breakfast although we all were being already served. I carried on and ask if she could do it later maybe. She couldn’t because she was rushing to made rooms ready for next quests and reminded us once again that we should have left by now (!!!). That was prevailing comment for us. I just said with my low bass voice if before leaving Am I allowed to finish my tea. I didn’t anyway as we just stood up and left… Leaving doors open behind us It was 9:18 am. I think Terry was overloaded with work that she wants to do all on her own. And here were the results.
But if you are rushing all your life and love tropical version of nights and if it does not matter for you if you squeeze and start socialising with complaining strangers before having half of your breakfast … and you don’t mind to be treated as a child and follow the “directives” then go for Terry. We are mid aged strangers and while having busy , stressful and tiring everyday life we are looking forward to spend quality time during our weekend away every hour.
My husband was really worried if I would start faith with Terry at the end of breakfast, because she is triple size of me and I would definitely require resuscitation after such confrontation. I haven’t trained any Karate – so I just left.