No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakley Hall Hotel

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Rectory Road Oakley, Basingstoke, RG23 7EL
With its sweeping driveway and Grand Georgian Manor House Oakley Hall truly is a hidden treasure amongst the rolling countryside of North Hampshire.

The building dates back to 1795 and formerly owned by the Bramston Family who were close friends with Jane Austen, it is mentioned fondly in Austens letters to her sister Cassandra at the turn of the 19th Century.

A pretty tiled hallway and an impressive walnut-panelled library overlooking the large south-facing terrace and lawns await your arrival. Corniced ceilings adorn the dining room, where you can peruse a mouth-watering menu based on fresh local produce or enjoy a picnic within the 315 acre estate.

Oakley Hall offers 18 elegant courtyard bedrooms in the recently converted 18th century stable block along with a three bedroom gingerbread style cottage. All bedrooms have been individually designed and furnished to a very high standard complete with every modern convenience and home comfort. Oakley Hall really does offer you a quiet county retreat set with beautiful surroundings.

Picture of Oakley Hall Hotel, Basingstoke at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place and brilliant room, very clean, well presented, quite location and had a great night sleep. Great place for a weekend getaway.

Reviewed by
J Armada

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise & Lights
The room was beautiful,a home from home - except for the green and blue lights from fixtures that glowed too brightly in the dark and the noise from an air con unit above the bathroom ceiling that whined all the time but was really irritating when trying to sleep.

Reviewed by
S Ryan

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My trip to Basingstoke
The hotel is not the easiest to find, but once I had found it I was very happy.
The receptionist was very helpful, and the room in the courtyard so excellent, even able to park right at the door
I stay in hotels every week all over the world, and this place in excellent

Reviewed by
Peter Mayo

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
Have used this hotel several times for business travel. It is a very nice hotel in a beautiful setting. The accommodation cost can vary dramatically and fortunately the times I have stayed here we got a good deal so you have to be careful when you book. Restaurant is a little pricey for the quality and quantity of food.

Reviewed by
Keith M

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place with Ghosts!
My Partner and I stayed here as a treat for us both as I had been away in Europe on business and wanted some piece and quiet after a hectic schedule in Spain.
The staff at the Reception were polite and friendly along with the Waiting staff who served us breakfast on the Sunday morning.
We were shown to our room which was in a converted Stable Block, in a lovely quaint, gravel courtyard. The room was tastefully decorated, with the latest Samsung Home Audio Visual display system. Plenty of storage space for luggage, clothes and masses of room to swing the provervbial cat, unlike some high end hotels that I have stayed in around the globe.
The lighting in the room was controlled via a touchpad with various mood settings and could be controlled from the bed and at the room entrance.
The Bathroom was my partners absolute favourite...heated floor tiles with a huge heated towel rail, lovely and warm with a stereo speaker system. Only criticism was that there were no Bath Robes present...come on guys, lets have some Bath Robes in the rooms!
As with many hotels, we had a Mini Bar which was not stocked with the usual Miniture Spirits, Soft Drinks Mixers, Chocolate and Peanuts. However, I am sure that if you asked Reception they would have obliged. The usual paultry 4 mini cartons of milk for tea or coffee were not present and there was a fresh half pint carton of milk in the fridge, brilliant!
Breakfast was fresh, hot and very satisfying.
All in all, we both enjoyed our stay there and if you do go there ask about the Ghosts...fascinating!!!

Reviewed by
S Turner

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good experience will be staying here again

Reviewed by
Andrew Brown

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay in very pleasant surroundings
This was the first time I had the pleasure of staying at Oakley Hall as my usual hotel was fully booked. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise as Oakley Hall is a super hotel with exceptional levels of customer service and beautiful surrounding grounds. My room was an Executive Courtyard room, which was well appointed, with walk in seperate shower and dressing area. This gave the room an excellent feeling of spaciousness, whilst being comfortable and recently decorated. The staff were all very polite and catered for my every need. I only tried the lounge menu, but this was more than adequate, and service was prompt. Overall a very tranquill location with excellent accomodation and service - could you want for more? (especially at this price point).

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit disappointing
Booked as a special treat for my partner as she previously attended school here. The whole place lacked atmosphere. Went to the bar for a drink which was empty and nobody there to serve us. Our room was freezing on arrival. Some little touches such as fruit but missing others such as dressing gowns. Only one type of white wine available for room service and no minibar in the room. Outside our bedroom we had a small patio but no table or chairs and cigarette butts all over the place. Breakfast menu looked good but the buffet very disappointing. First time ever I have gone to a hotel and you had to order the continental. Staff were courteous but not very friendly. Beautiful setting but lacks any soul.

Reviewed by
Sonia M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was good in the restaurant, but expensive and too minimalist !

Reviewed by
John M

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fabulous Hotel
I love this hotel, best I've ever stayed in. The whole experince is 1st Class.

Reviewed by
Colin Hannent

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next