No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grove End

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
73 Bushey Hall Road, Bushey, , Watford, WD23 2EN
The Grove End is situated in Bushey, Watford. It is a small, yet welcoming family run establishment with 15 rooms, containing plenty of originality and character. The hotel has been in business for the past 49 years and is non-smoking throughout. Not only is it surrounded by lovely gardens, it also has its own free car park for guests which can hold up to 30 cars. It has rooms to suit most peoples pockets and taste; from the basic single rooms, family rooms and through to en-suite rooms. We try to make your stay a pleasant one. All en-suite rooms have: Digital television, shower, toilet, wash hand basin, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and a radio alarm. Whereas all standard rooms consist of: Digital television, wash hand basin and tea and coffee making facilities with access to a shared bathroom. It is situated just off Junction 5 of the M1 on the B462, and is ideally situated for the A41, A1, M25 and junction 19. It is also within easy reach of Heathrow, Luton and Elstree Airports. The centre of London is just 16 miles away by car or 20 minutes by train from Bushey and Oxhey or Watford Junction stations.
Picture of Grove End, Watford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but clean friendly and excellent value for money.
Excellent value for money, convenient for Watford with secure off street parking.
The Staff were very friendly and pleased to help out.

Reviewed by
andrew green

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy room with very helpful staff.
Ideally placed for anyone working into Watford town centre. Clean and tidy rooms with very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
H Scott

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Working in the area
Great location if you are a Golfer, very nice room, plenty of space, quiet at night, will stay there again when I am in the area.

Reviewed by
Nick Lelliott

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned family run type hotel. Did what it needed to do
Nice hotel and owner, could do with a makeover in my opinion but thats all

Reviewed by
Christopher May

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad room for the price in the area, didn't really see much in the way of shops etc close to hotel so stayed in room. Found that the tv is wall mounted at end of the bed so can watch while sitting on the bed, wall bracket was unfortunately faulty and tv was hanging at an angle, I also found that the wooden feature at the head end of the bed was annoying as couldn't lean back against the wall! I'd also say that the weird carpet in the bathroom needs taking out and tiling but that's just my opinion and really wouldn't bother most. It ticked boxs for being tidy and having clean sheets and towels and wasn't disturbed at all, also prompt check in and out and free on site parking

Reviewed by
Gary B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth every penny
This accommodation is better than I'd expect for this price. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was good. The tv in the room worked. There was secure, gated parking out front. The best bit was that the man who runs it phoned me at 10.19pm to see where I was, as I was late for my check-in. He could've just locked my out, but he didn't - that's good service as far as I'm concerned.
The following things did not bother me at all, they may well bother you though: the bathroom is down the hall (there was a hand basin in my room though); The carpet and decor are a bit basic / old fashioned; my room had a fluorescent tube light not a normal light bulb.

Reviewed by
John Chisholm

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Book into Premier Inn instead!!
My room was an upgrade apparently but I felt was still poor value for money. It simply felt like old carpets and curtains, cheap kettle, horrible strip lighting, no bedside table. There was no ensuite and the bath in the shared bathroom didn't look particularly clean. It wasn't horrendous, but I have stayed in much nicer, with ensuite , for less money......

Reviewed by
Sally M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor
cold damp and smelly with no hot water and wi fi problems

Reviewed by
david a

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, great rooms, great location and great food. Wjo could ask for more?
Very friendly and accommodating staff, clean and quiet rooms with excellent food next door.

Reviewed by
paul copsey

From porto belo, Brazil
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super stay, lovely room and very pleasant staff. Thank you

Reviewed by
C Crook

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next