No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Chester Woodhey House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Berwick Road West , Chester, CH66 4PS
Formerly The Woodhey House Hotel, is a very special hotel with an individual style and character of it's own. Designed with modern requirements in mind, the hotel provides an exceptional standard of accommodation and service. An imaginative restaurant, lively bar and leisure facilities which include a heated indoor pool, sauna, steam room and gym will more than satisfy the most discerning guest.

All guest bedrooms now feature new LCD televisions with freeview channels (Fitted October 2009) and Free WIFI is available throughout the hotel.

The Hotel couldn't be more conveniently located. Just a few minutes drive from both the M53 and M56 motorways, you're quickly connected into the rest of Britain's motorway network. It is a short drive into the historic city of Chester with it's famous walls, cathedral and medieval galleried shops. Liverpool and the Albert Dock are also within close proximity to the Hotel.
Picture of Mercure Chester Woodhey House Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay only..
Room ok, staff friendly- was really annoyed that tv was broke and wifi didn't work. When I complained manager was very apologetic and investigated so there's hope yet!

Reviewed by
David R

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent customer service
Excellent customer service all staff pleasant and helpful, it was our friends birthday and the staff made her feel special. Good food and service. Great location for Liverpool or Chester. We'll certainly be back.

Reviewed by
Gill Paul

From Porthmadog, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good w.end break nothing special but fairly comfortable

Reviewed by
david grundy

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Stayed here for 1 night as we wanted to be near to Hoylake for the British Open. It was good value for money at £116.00 per room for bed and breakfast. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was basic but perfectly adequate and was clean apart from the net curtain at the window which looked like it hadn't been washed in a month of sundays. The bathroom was very good, clean and looking like it had been recently refurbished. Breakfast was ok, fairly standard and what you would expect for this kind of hotel. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we found a good pub restaurant a few minutes walk away. Good for 1 or 2 nights if you want to be in that vicinity.

Reviewed by
Carole W

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Amazing stay friendly and approachable staff. Clean room comfy bed. Clean hotel in general nice welcome as you booked in. Food was horrible not to my standards found out of date yogurt drinks ther from the 12 July wasn't happy. Wouldn't eat there again but would stay there again n recommend it to people

Reviewed by
Emma Philip

From Wirral, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not making the most of its facilities
When we arrived our room and the hotel seemed nice but unfortunately we went on to find our hot and cold taps were the wrong way round. Our shower was also so weak that we couldn't even wash our hair in it. The pool sauna and steam room were also unfortunately not looked after and were a little grubby. We avoided the pool. It's a shame as they could be lovely if some investment was put into them, or maybe just a good clean. Bar staff were wonderful and catering staff fantastic but the breakfast staff were quite miserable one nearly pushing me off my chair whilst trying to squeeze through behind me with a pile of plates.

Reviewed by
Hannah M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for the races and nice enough stay. Staff were great, quick and organised taxis for our group. We stayed in room 211 and were disturbed very early in the morning with our room window open it overlooks onto air conditioning and extraction units and kept us awake from before 6am which wasn't ideal. Otherwise a good stay and not too far into town.

Reviewed by
William H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alright

Reviewed by
M Richardson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasent stay
All staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, large and had everything I needed - tea and coffee, ironing board, TV, free wifi, good shower. My sat nav was confused by the post code for this hotel as the Berwick Road has been divided by bollards - the Mercure is on the (newly named?) Berwick Road West - I had to phone the hotel and ask for directions round to the other end - they were able to help.

Reviewed by
Clare T

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant hotel

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Jeff, General Manager

Reviewed by
Robert Leach

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next