No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Arena

Gravesandestraat 51 , Amsterdam, 1091 AA
Hotel Arena is a trendy and comfortable four stars hotel, located on the official border of the city centre,
The facilities of Hotel Arena consist of 116 brand new guest rooms, an inviting all-day bar for drinks, snacks and lunches, intimate restaurant with quality dishes and wines but also incentive meeting rooms.

The heart of Amsterdam is just 5 tram stops or under 10 cab minutes away. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential part of the capital and within walking distance of Oosterpark, Artis Zoo

Hotel Arena is also within easy reach of the Amsterdam nightlife and entertainment, business, university and shopping areas, museums and sightseeing hotspots. Free! WiFi is available in public areas.
Picture of Hotel Arena, Amsterdam at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel!
Hotel arena is stunning! The hotel from the outside is lovely and the seating area is gorgeous. I didn't try the food as I'm normally more of a burger and chips person, although the menu looked very fancy and the food smelled amazing! There are snacks available at reception which was very handy, although there is a little supermarket a 2 minute walk away.
The hotel has good transport links although we preferred to walk as the weather was nice and the locals were friendly too, especially as it was my 1st time visiting amsterdam. If you've never been before, watch out for the bikes!! If you block a cyclists path they will angrily ring their bell at you!
The room itself was stunning, split over two floors and very very clean. Everything was very modern and the TV even had some English channels which was much appreciated. The bathroom was simply amazing, best bath I've ever seen. The storage space and desk in the room were also very handy, although some drawers for storage next to the bed would be even better. We had plenty of storage under the bathroom sink though so that was no problem.
The hotel staff were lovely too, especially the young man who we seen regularly at the desk. I seen a lot of buisness people and tourists at the hotel and everyone seemed pretty happy with the hotel in general. I didn't get a chance to use the nightclub - hopefully next time!
Please don't make the same mistake I did and get a taxi from the airport to the hotel - what a waste of money! The trams came round a lot and the walk to Centraal station was lovely.
We got this hotel at a great price ( we swapped around for the cheapest possible dates ) and were very impressed by the hotel. Yes it's not exactly in the centre, but everything is easily reachable by foot and the hotel have bikes too. The hotel is lovely and peaceful and I would recommend it to anyone visiting amsterdam,

Reviewed by
Catherine Devine

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, very clean and comfortable.
Would recommend.

Reviewed by
M Lee

From Saltcoats, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

STUDIO room. BEAUTIFUL! Def. go back!
The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was amazing with high ceilings and a huge bed (bigger than kingsize), a his and hers bathroom sinks and showers. Very spacious, very clean.
Staff were more than helpful and friendly, also speaking very good english.
Trust me, this is definitely worth a visit.
Couple of minutes walk from the tram stop towards Heineken Brewery, where you could then change trams to get to the city centre, took about 15/20 mins to get to centre by tram. Alternatively you can get the metro which is a 10 min walk (max) and gets you to the centre in 5 mins.
Worth buying a 24/48/96 hour travel card to bring the price down, individual fare tickets quite expensive when added up. Can buy the travelcards at the hotel. Although I would recommend you look into buying a citycard.
Over all, cannot recommend this hotel enough. Fabulous!

Reviewed by
Sarah-Jane S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AMAZING, beautiful hotel and very lovely staff!

Reviewed by
Alice C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms are very nice and clean however cleaning times are quite early and could wake you. Lots of hidden charges for pretty much everything but a very limited amount of channels

Reviewed by
james knaggs

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, friendly hotel!
This was our first trip to amsterdam, after getting to the city centre we jumped on the number 9 tram this takes you to a drop which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The area is clean and you fee safe when wondering to your hote we didn't check in until 7:30ish so it was getting dark.
When you first arrive at what you think is the enterance ( our thoughts were omg what have we booked) dont try and go into here, keep gong down the road take a left then you will be greeted with the entrance which had logs fires burning outside ( much better than we 1st thought).
We got checked in swiftly there was only 1 thing which was a bit off putting and that was they wanted 50euros a night deposit incase you used the minibar or went to breakfast and you hadn't prepaid, we had never come across this before and was abut shocked after prepaying. We managed a compromise of 50euros for the 2nights after staying the 1st night we could see why they did it as not everyone probably owned up to using the minbar and the hotel would never know until it was too late. (It only takes a couple of people to ruin it for everyone)
The room was clean and tidy, we had a big comfy bed which is something we normally struggle with when going away. Hotelis in quite a quiet neighbourhood didn't wake up to outside noise. All the staff we very friendly the room was just what you needed and the location is great, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Webster

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday weekend.
Hotel Arena justified its four stars i think, just. Was a little tied and needed a coat of paint in a few places but in general was nice. Room was a Duplex, great shower fairly tidy. Hotel location was a little out of the way but if you plan ahead and use trams,buses etc you will be fine. Weather was lovely which did make the difference on the weekend but in general hotel,staff and room was nice.

Reviewed by
D Lobb

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.