No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dorset House

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
31 DOVER STREET , RYDE Isle of Wight, PO33 2BW
Centrally located 23 bedroom Bed & Breakfast establishment with ample FREE off street car parking at the rear of the Bed & Breakfast.

All our rates include breakfast offering a choice of cereals and fruits and a selection of hot dishes, white or wholemeal toast and as much tea, coffee or fruit juice as required.

Licensed bar, free Wi-Fi in the public areas, patio and garden available.

We welcome holidays and business visitors and we are within walking distance of the hovercraft and catamaran sailings from Southsea and Portsmouth.

Visit Britain 3 star guest accommodation rated.

We can offer discounted rates for all car ferry crossings to the Island. Open all year except Christmas and New Year.
Picture of Dorset House, RYDE Isle of Wight at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean convenient b and b accommodation efficient service. Does exactly what it says on the tin.
Was looking for a night's budget priced accommodation,close to hovercraft for an early morning start. This was exactly as described. B and B accommodation. Slightly dated furnishings style for some maybe but clean, bedroom,towels laid out with chocolate on top. Clean linen, shower, basin and loo in mini en suite, TV, bedside light, free wifi, early breakfast needs provided for in large dining room .bar,guest lounge conservatory and car parking, none of which I used, we're all available. Staff on reception and I. Dining room were available and helpful but not pushy. Does exactly what it says on the tin. If anything, I felt they seemed to me slightly reticent about taking due credit for the Dorset house which while not the largest rooms around, do the job they are designed for well. Thanks

Reviewed by
Valerie C

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dorset Hotel Isle of White
Adequate accommodation for sleeping, Breakfast was included, Sea view from the room was very nice, and the staff where helpful, however the actual bathroom requires some attention.

Reviewed by
Philip Culshaw

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
Very good place to stay, room was tidy, well organised and hotel had a nice character. Also came with useful extras such as television and wifi, and very nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
K Donnelly

From Moy, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Hotel lovely & clean staff friendly & helpful

Reviewed by
Julie Muskett

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant place to stay
Friendly, accommodating. Quiet, room (29) very airy and light with a great sea view.

Reviewed by
D McGillicuddy

From Greenford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basicroom ,felt cramped, shower was awful.Breakfast was well presented and the service was good. a fair place to stay for 1 night.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we monitor reviews both positive and negative as a way of maintaining our standards and improving where possible. I have noted your comments and respond as follows. Your booking was made last minute and you booked the last remaining twin room en suite at a discounted price of £19.90 per person for bed and breakfast once commission and vat is deducted. The room is therefore budget accommodation, we have a large number of rooms of different sizes but the price is reflective of the size and quality of room. I glad you found the breakfast service satisfactory and the breakfast was well presented. Having looked at the prices of West Wickham establishments we are considerably cheaper and my final comment is quality comes at a price greater than £19.90 per person.

Reviewed by
JACK ANSELL

From WEST WICKHAM, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay in May 2014
My partner and I together with my 19 year old son stayed at Dorset House for One night having picked the hotel based on price and location, we booked a double and a single room whicjh turned out to be two very adequate and comfortable rooms for us all. Breakfast was good and the service was excellent. The outside of the hotel and its location are not indicative of the interior which although dated in places was fine for our stopover.

Reviewed by
Graham Vice

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation for superb walking weekend
Friendly and welcoming atmosphere and staff. Compact and comfortable room and bed. Always allow our walking group to display our walking route on tables near reception. Plenty of choice for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Veronica Hope

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and tidy with good service

Reviewed by
j cunningham

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Dorset hotel the room was very comfortable breakfast very tasty lots of variety and the staff were very helpful and friendly we deffinently would stay here again and again lol

Reviewed by
LYNDA M

From Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next