No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 CASTLE STREET , LUTON, LU1 3AA
Brookes Hotel is situated in the heart of Luton, just 10 minutes drive from Luton Airport and 30 minutes rail journey to London, it has an ideal location whether you are looking for a comfortable night’s accommodation in our newly re-furbished rooms, planning a corporate event or just meeting up with friends in the popular nightspot that is Brookes Bar.
Here at Brookes we pride ourselves in combining great value accommodation with good food and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We have 25-ensuite rooms, the majority of which have recently under gone a stylish refurbishment and now have a very contemporary feel, still, with all the comforts of home. Ideal for both business travellers looking for convenience and leisure travellers looking to explore local attractions such as Woburn Abbey & Whipsnade Zoo.

Over the Christmas period we will have limited parking spaces, for more information please talk directly to the hotel for more information and alternative parking arrangements"
And also

"This hotel does not operate a 24 hour reception but a night porter is available at all times who can be contacted on the number on various signs on the windows and doors around the hotel
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel , LUTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly What it Says on the Tin
Great value, great location and friendly staff. Be aware that it noisy and for people wanting a fun filled good time.

Reviewed by
Spencer Truscott

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room ok

Reviewed by
Eleonora P

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation, good staff, very helpful, good price for a city centre, free parking, good food and good service.

Reviewed by
Stephen Leigh

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel
The room was very nice, the staff very helpful, and the pub food awesome.

Reviewed by
Christina B

From Reading, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the money but internet didn't work in the bedrooms
Clean comfortable room, no proper shower and no internet in the bedroom... well there was a very weak signal but it wasn't usable.

Reviewed by
Peter P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sonnisphere festival iron maiden 5/7/2014
Emma at the hotel woz a revelation she helped us out big time with a tasty breaky & got us to our travelbus early otherwise we would of got to knebworth at 2pm instead of 12noon big thank u to emma xx

Reviewed by
Gary Bullock

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a hotel!
The Red Lion is called a Hotel. It isn't. It is a pub and nightclub with a few rooms!
I stayed for one friday night prior to a wedding. I had not been informed that the place was also a nightclub. The manager failed to mention it as I booked in. It was only the helpful staff member that showed me to the room that mentioned it. The place was unbelievably loud until 03:30! Even with windows closed there was not a chance of sleep before that. I can not believe that this is not mentioned on Laterooms.
As it was a weekend food is not served prior to 10:00. As with most visitors I had to leave before to this. Again, there is no mention of this on Laterooms. Shocking. Ruined my day with a lack of sleep and food.
I can not emphasise how loud the room was. This is not a hotel.

Reviewed by
S Drake

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay for leaving from the airport early - but smoking barguests outside your door might keep you up.
The good thing is that from the hotel's parking place to the airport it is less than 10 minutes and 8pounds with taxi - thus cheaper and faster than public transport for 2 persons. The staff was friendly but did not tell me how to check out.
The bad thing is that the room had no windows, just a door with glass in it - on the ground floor out to a place where smokers from the bar were laud till relatively late - on a Wednesday night. Probably fine to stay if you want to party too.

Reviewed by
Laura P

From Denmark
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Red Lion Hotel
In a nutshell, I recommend staying here for the night if you are in a group on a stag party! :)
Yes its a pub, yes its noisy, but you have a great atmosphere! Several of the locals head here, so its a great place to meet & mingle. Large tv screens to watch sports and good music throughout the night.
Customer Service was excellent. Guys behind the bar were very helpful.
The accommodation was excellent. Recently redecorated I believe, the rooms are better looking than several of the other more expensive hotels in the area.
My only complaint would be that the rooms were very hot during the night. Think they have underfloor heating that is out of your control.
£30 a night we paid via laterooms. Cheapest in the area by far!

Reviewed by
Neal T

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red lion need to employ a plumber
I Could not shower as the bath taps were broken.
The toilet seat was broken.
The room and whole pub were extremely hot and no air conditioning nor a serviceable window to let in any air.
Staff were very pleasant but they need to let you know how to exit the hotel early morning. There are no signs and i had to exit via a fire alarmed door which no doubt upset any other residents. Sorry.

Reviewed by
JOHN T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next