No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dene Hotel Chester

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
95 Hoole Road , Chester, CH2 3ND
The Dene Hotel Chester, is an established family run hotel in an attractive setting less than one mile from the City centre. Developed and extended over several decades, the Dene Hotel has become a landmark in the suburbs of this historic city. Our friendly yet professional team prides itself on offering high service standards, while our prices reflect our ethos of giving good value for money. All 53 rooms have en-suite facilities,and we have the ability to alter their set up to accommodate up to four adults, or a family with children. Located within a mile of both the M53 and A55, the Dene Hotel is ideally situated as both a gateway to North Wales and the rural county of Cheshire.

Cooked and Continental breakfasts are very competitively priced to make them an exceptional treat while you stay with us.

The Dene Hotel has ample free car parking, allowing you to wander into the city through the village of Hoole with its many artisan boutiques and local amentities. The city centre and the railway station are less than one mile away and the hotel is located on several of Chester's frequent bus services. Chester is one of the best-preserved walled cities in England with medieval galleried streets and an extensive range of quality shops, ideal for summer strolls and Christmas bargains.

The historic city of Chester is the perfect location for exploring the North West and Wales, and is home to one of Britain's finest racecourses. Snowdonia National Park is less than an hour's drive away and also within easy reach are the Peak District, the Lake District, the Fylde coast and the cities of Manchester and Liverpool. In the immediate vicinity, one can find thousands on places to visit including; Jodrell Bank, Tatton Park, Chirk and Conway Castles, Snowdon Mountain Railway, Mouldsworth Motor Museum and Erddig Hall.

Picture of Dene Hotel Chester, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 163 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really great place to stay approx. 15-20 walk from the centre of Chester. The quality of the room was superb, very clean, a comfy bed with extra pillows if need. I could have done with a bit more heat in the morning (the room wasn't cold but wasn't hot either just a bit too cool). I arrived late but that was no problem and both members of staff I dealt with were polite & helpful. I would be happy to stay here again if in Chester.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money.
Staff were extremely friendly. Hotel is basic but excellent value.
Beds extremely comfortable and room clean.
Great location. 20 minutes walk into Chester , only £4 for taxi back to hotel.

Reviewed by
Julie R

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
Had my evening meal in the hotel which was nice and very good for money!
The room itself was basic!
My bathroom was VERY basic! The window frame was rotted, and it had a constant draft coming in.
New pillows wouldn't go a miss!

Reviewed by
K Jones

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average budget hotel
Great customer service - basic rooms - remember this is 2 stars. Disappointed that after asking for a quiet room, that I got one of no noisest!

Reviewed by
Jim B

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dene Hotel Chester
Excellent value for money and well placed for access into Chester City Centre.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dene Hotel Chester
The room was ver basic even Hough we paid for a superior room. The room was freezing and they only have an electric fan heater on the wall We were not told breakfast finished at 9am , we were under the impresion it was 10am so even though we paid for it we didn't get one. Although the staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic, even superior room. No hair dryer and shower wàs awful, cold then burning hot.
Food at breakfast adequate. Service good in restaurant

Reviewed by
yvonne w

From Ruskington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised!
For the price of £36 per night i wasn't expecting much in terms of luxury, however the room was great and value for money! It was warm, clean and had a good shower so ticked all the important boxes! Would definitely recommend!

Reviewed by
S White

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

certainly get what you pay for
We checked in a little early on a pleasure visit. Had to wait for our room but... It was worth the wait. We opted for one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was worth every penny. If you are expecting something 5*, then you needed to book a 5* hotel, however that said, it was great. The only drawback/downfall or whatever you wish to call it was still the hot water. It was a good ten minutes before any hot water came through - and even then the pressure was very poor but... have to say very pleased overall with our stay and would not hesitate to stay again. Thanks.

Reviewed by
louise b

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
I stayed at the dene hotel for two nights. It's a great hotel with great staff. I was made to feel very welcome and really did enjoy my stay. The bedroom was a perfect size for myself and facilities were excellent. The breakfast was excellent as was the evening meals.
I will with out doubt book this hotel again for my next stay in Chester.
Thank you all.

Reviewed by
Grace T

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next