No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dene Hotel Chester

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
95 Hoole Road , Chester, CH2 3ND
The Dene Hotel Chester, is an established family run hotel in an attractive setting less than one mile from the City centre. Developed and extended over several decades, the Dene Hotel has become a landmark in the suburbs of this historic city. Our friendly yet professional team prides itself on offering high service standards, while our prices reflect our ethos of giving good value for money. All 53 rooms have en-suite facilities,and we have the ability to alter their set up to accommodate up to four adults, or a family with children. Located within a mile of both the M53 and A55, the Dene Hotel is ideally situated as both a gateway to North Wales and the rural county of Cheshire.

Cooked and Continental breakfasts are very competitively priced to make them an exceptional treat while you stay with us.

The Dene Hotel has ample free car parking, allowing you to wander into the city through the village of Hoole with its many artisan boutiques and local amentities. The city centre and the railway station are less than one mile away and the hotel is located on several of Chester's frequent bus services. Chester is one of the best-preserved walled cities in England with medieval galleried streets and an extensive range of quality shops, ideal for summer strolls and Christmas bargains.

The historic city of Chester is the perfect location for exploring the North West and Wales, and is home to one of Britain's finest racecourses. Snowdonia National Park is less than an hour's drive away and also within easy reach are the Peak District, the Lake District, the Fylde coast and the cities of Manchester and Liverpool. In the immediate vicinity, one can find thousands on places to visit including; Jodrell Bank, Tatton Park, Chirk and Conway Castles, Snowdon Mountain Railway, Mouldsworth Motor Museum and Erddig Hall.

Picture of Dene Hotel Chester, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 165 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dene review
Nice place not far from train station and city center. The bad weather the day before meant the tv aerials were blown down so no tv the wifi was not working properly either the room was cold and the heater took ages to warm up as did the water.

Reviewed by
j hudgell

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 nights at the Dene.
Initially dissapointing , handed electronic card key and tv control on arrival, but not told due to storm damage no Tv available in room. repaired day after.good breakfast, helpful staff.general condition of hotel shabby. only limited bar snacks available at night. A reasonable price workmans lodgings.Almost impossible to read in room due to max7watt bulbs fitted. despite request no extra lighting provided so one bulb purchased from the pound shop.

Reviewed by
K Styles

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money deal
For £31 per night one cannot expect too much. The room was clean and the bed surprisingly comfortable. Pillows were cheap though and required 'doubling-up'. Bathroom was clean with good shower and hot water. Disappointingly, the walls are paper thin and your neighbour's every action can be heard! Additionally, the lights are low energy versions and so you must wait for at least 15 minutes before it is bright enough to read...Take a torch!

Reviewed by
Ian B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dene Hotel Chester
Nice hotel. Good location

Reviewed by
tony f

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Budget hotel offering great deals. I have paid a lot more and got less

Reviewed by
julian h

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
We stayed at the Dene Hotel for one night as a treat for my birthday. We had stayed before in one of their superior rooms but one wasn't available for the date required so this booking was a new experience. We were not disappointed as our double room, No 25, was a lovely, warm, light room & was comfortable. If i had to find a fault at all, it was with the room directly above us. The occupant's movements were amplified due to a very creaky ceiling. Having said that, we had a lovely stay
& would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Jenny w

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally speaking, fine., certainly at the price.
A two night, last moment break over Christmas at a very good price.
The position is good.. not as far from the City centre as it may look... easy walking distance, and yet very easy to access from the ring road by car on arrival. (Look for the brown tourist info road signs that clearly say 'Hoole Road Hotels' - a great help)
The place was pleasant, the staff friendly and efficient. Everything was very clean, and I would certainly recommend and go again.
May I especially praise whoever it was, on getting our booking details, read them and phoned me soon after to answer a query in a very pleasant and effective way. Thank you.
If we hadn't paid (proportionally) quite a bit more for a superior room, the score would be a lot higher. We were persuaded by the details to upgrade, and really don't think it was worth the extra. There were minor gripes that, if we'd had a standard room, we would have not even noticed and certainly not commented on here. This is after all a 2 * hotel - and priced accordingly-.. not international luxury, and I really dislike reviews that complain about cheap accommodation not providing 5* facilities.
Perhaps the details oversell the supposed superior aspects of the superior room, leading to over expectation? Maybe.
Perhaps that our room was immediately off reception, the first after the door, which led to a bit too much door opening, banging and people standing outside our room loudly discussing "what's our room?.. where is it? See you later.. etc". Maybe that room was not the best one to choose to refurbish and charge extra for due to that aspect?
Anyway, sorry, that makes it sound worse than I mean it to..
I would certainly go again.. but just settle for 'normal' room.

Reviewed by
Ray M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap cheerful just no hot water for shower on departure!
cheap, cheerful just no hot water for shower on departure! not exactly a great end to the stay with hotel as we only stayed in room to sleep after a night out.

Reviewed by
n singh

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good cheap room for one night
Recommended for location

Reviewed by
Nick B

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location good to walk into Chester, staff were friendly, room was located in noisy area
Overall you get what you pay for, room was basic but clean, lots of dirty towels and bed linen etc left in corridors in several parts of the building, depends what room you get as to whether you get a decent sleep, free parking was a bonus but unsure if we would stay there again as we saw some nicer looking accommodation whilst walking into the town centre

Reviewed by
S Barber

From Normanton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next