No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dene Hotel Chester

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
95 Hoole Road , Chester, CH2 3ND
The Dene Hotel Chester, is an established family run hotel in an attractive setting less than one mile from the City centre. Developed and extended over several decades, the Dene Hotel has become a landmark in the suburbs of this historic city. Our friendly yet professional team prides itself on offering high service standards, while our prices reflect our ethos of giving good value for money. All 53 rooms have en-suite facilities,and we have the ability to alter their set up to accommodate up to four adults, or a family with children. Located within a mile of both the M53 and A55, the Dene Hotel is ideally situated as both a gateway to North Wales and the rural county of Cheshire.

Cooked and Continental breakfasts are very competitively priced to make them an exceptional treat while you stay with us.

The Dene Hotel has ample free car parking, allowing you to wander into the city through the village of Hoole with its many artisan boutiques and local amentities. The city centre and the railway station are less than one mile away and the hotel is located on several of Chester's frequent bus services. Chester is one of the best-preserved walled cities in England with medieval galleried streets and an extensive range of quality shops, ideal for summer strolls and Christmas bargains.

The historic city of Chester is the perfect location for exploring the North West and Wales, and is home to one of Britain's finest racecourses. Snowdonia National Park is less than an hour's drive away and also within easy reach are the Peak District, the Lake District, the Fylde coast and the cities of Manchester and Liverpool. In the immediate vicinity, one can find thousands on places to visit including; Jodrell Bank, Tatton Park, Chirk and Conway Castles, Snowdon Mountain Railway, Mouldsworth Motor Museum and Erddig Hall.

Picture of Dene Hotel Chester, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 159 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Disappointed with this hotel. Photos online looked good but when we arrived it wasn't as nice. Obviously they are expanding and some areas have been modernised/ decorated but other areas were tired looking and scruffy. Our room was ok but the window wouldn't stay open and the shower didn't work. Dining room was in the new part but something was coming up out of the floor (some sort of connection? ) and it was dirty on the skirting boards and round the edge of the floor. Stayed in nicer places for less money.

Reviewed by
K Stewart

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadfully Basic
Booked 2 nights never slept, bed awful uncomfortable, no soap to wash your hands after you’ve used the toilet, nowhere to hang clothes had to leave them on the floor, television didn’t work no signal only broken pixels and voices, toilet seat broken wobbling from side to side, kettle broken had to hold down auto switch to make it boil, no glasses to drink water or brush your teeth, shower broken not working appropriately, lighting very poor couldn’t even read a newspaper.

Reviewed by
C McCauley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run down, dirty, appalling service. Couldn't possibly recommend
Checking in and being presented not only with the keys but the remote control for the television should have set the alarm bells ringing. The room I stayed in had bare bulb lighting, torn wallpaper, a toilet seat that was so disgusting I didn't even consider sitting on it (think of chipboard that's got wet and expanded and that's what it was) and a dirty shower. The room had no window so the only natural light was through the door to the bathroom (which did have a window).
The next morning I went downstairs for breakfast. Although there were only about 20 people in the restaurant and 3 waitresses the service couldn't have been worse. I ordered my food at 09:45 and it arrived at 10:40. This seemed to be standard for everyone. A single plate (and very occasionally two) would come out every 5 minutes or so much to the bemusement and collective frustration of my table and those surrounding it.. What were they doing??? I seriously wondered if they were going next door to the Hungry Horse and getting the food from there it was taking so long. I had to chase for the coffee I ordered and then had to request a cup as I thought it might be both dangerous and uncouth to drink out of the metal coffee pot, The staff were disinterested, untrained and clueless.
My friend ordered his food before me, it came 15 minutes after mine and was unceremoniously dumped in front of him with 'sorry, we've run out of bacon' before walking away without batting an eyelid. They had managed to burn his egg though
This hotel shouldn't be in business, certainly shouldn't be charging the money they are and the owners should be ashamed to be offering such an appalling service.
And to think I was disappointed as I needed to book to stay again in a months time and could only get into a chain budget hotel. I'm certainly now relieved.

Reviewed by
haydn m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great venue, great staff, ok breakfast
We had a lovely stay. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The room was clean with neutral decoration. No where to hang my dress though which was a little irritating but plenty of draws etc if you were staying for a longer period. The breakfast wasn't the best quality food and they had managed to burn the beans. Having said that once the staff had been informed they very quickly rectified the problem. The breakfast menu was extensive too with a full range of hot and cold options. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible customer service
Please read. Booked 6 rooms in total with this hotel 1 with late rooms 5 with booking. Com. Made the last booking at 22:45 on the 21/06/14 for 1 night on the 30/8/14 at a total cost of £365. Unfortunately the web page had reverted back to the 21st. The following morning when I read the conformation email I contact the hotel straight away only to be informed that Even thought this was quite clearly a mistake an there was not 1 room stayed in there was nothing they could do as it was Hotel (chain) policy. This is despite the Hotle discriptipn been a small family run Hotel? Overall I would not book this Hotel Ever again as they have no movement should there be a mistake with your booking. This is the first time I have ever reviewed an hotel that's how important I feel about people knowing whats happend so it does not happen to anyone else.

Reviewed by
Stephen Boldy

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A slightly disappointing experience
The room was clean, but the stairs and passages were very dusty. The breakfast was poorly presented as a mess of different items on the plate, so that it looked unappetising, though it tasted fine

Reviewed by
David E

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the refurbished rooms are good
Booked for 4 nights. First 2 were in the old rooms which were disgusting(severe mouldy smell,very dirty carpet,broken beds and a lot of unhoovered rubbish under the beds). Last 2 nights were in the refurbished rooms which were nice but more expensive(extra £7/night,if u r lucky for vacancy). Would NEVER stay again in old rooms but would definatly book the refurbished ones

Reviewed by
I Mesasan

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Hotel
Very basic hotel. Room was very clean other than some dust. Wifi did not work more than 5 steps away from reception. Nothing other than soap and toilet roll provided in the bathroom. The cleaner did not knock before entering the room, she just walked in.

Reviewed by
R Veitch

From Alva, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Hotel
This Hotel is suffering from lack of maintenance and feels a bit tired. Expensive when compared to 4 star hotels. No plug in the sink and poor lighting. WiFi not working with my tablet.
Staff friendly and helpful let down by poor infrastructure.

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want to spend the night with workers from all over Europe brill. As a couple stay away..!!

Reviewed by
Gary S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next