Reviews - George & Dragon Hotel


The George and Dragon Hotel, High Street, West Wycombe, HIGH WYCOMBE, HP14 3AB

Price From 139.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • L Brown

  • August 2015

Excellent food just shame about the room

If only the room was up to the standard of the food, this would be a cracking hotel.

Room was above the kitchen and smelt of food, extractor fan from said kitchen was very loud and started early in the morning and went on in to the evening. Hotel did not display a very good standard of cleaning especially the numerous dead wasps on the stairs every morning!

  • C Richards

  • June 2015

Inn with character.

Stayed here a few times now and always had a pleasant stay.

Rooms are big beds are very comfortable. Food is great. I've has both evening meals & cooked breakfast. Ask for a room at the back for less road traffic noise.

  • Tim W

  • June 2015

Good value but average room

I can't really complain, I paid £65 for the night, not sure if it included breakfast or not as no one told me.

Room was clean but getting pity tired now and I didn't know they made tellys that small. Laying in bed it was just too small to follow the detail of what was going on. Bar was lively with locals (in a good way) and the food was nice.

  • Mike S

  • March 2015

Great hotel for relaxing stay over

Stayed one night on business and found this hotel to be very good.

There was plenty of room in the car park to rear of the hotel and although I had arrived early there was no problem checking in. My room was clean, comfortable and well equipped, with a good en-suite which had a great power shower. Service was friendly and professional, and food in evening and at breakfast was of a very high quality. Evening meal was taken in the bar which had a welcoming log fire and a jovial group of locals as well as some extremely good beer. I would definitely stay again when in the area and would recommend the George & Dragon without hesitation.

  • Gillian L

  • December 2014

George & Dragon Hotel

The staff were very pleasant.

The toilet seat had a crack in it which should be replaced. The food was very good just a shame there wasn't a bar snack choice as don't always want a full meal. Will stay again.

  • David T

  • November 2014

Great stay

Lovely hotel in the centre of West Wycombe.

Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, good food and friendly staff!

  • A Harrison

  • September 2014

Beautiful, Character Hotel

We only stayed one night but next time will stay for longer.

A truly beautiful 400 year old former coach house hotel with lots of character features and all modern things you would need. Lots of thought gone into what is provided for guests and more. The staff are friendly and cheerful and when we were leaving early in the morning before breakfast, the chef got up early and made us bacon butties to take with us. Wow that's what I call going beyond the call of duty. The bar is 'oldy worldy' warm and friendly, great selection of ales and the food excellent (the chef is very talented. Cannot wait to go back.We had 4 poster room but there are not many rooms so book early for a wonderful stay.

  • D Curbishley

  • August 2014

Quality of room.

3 rooms booked but one room (twin) had not been revamped so for the price it seemed a bit steep.

The room we stayed in was well decorated,new tv, but the kettle needed updating.

  • Liz O

  • August 2014


The hotel was extremely quaint and the staff were very accomodating.

However the hotel itself was very noisy with loud music in intermittent spells at times commencing at 23.00 hours. The main problem, however, was the noise of vehicles parking below the window and loading/unloading with the last van door closing at 01.45. I was aware that there were works ongoing in the kitchen on the morning of my checkout, however had I been aware that there was a potential for workmen/noise on the night I would have stayed elsewhere. I also was a little unhappy with the content of the kettle - having gone to empty existing water and refil a large dead spider was also rinsed out of the kettle!

  • Phillip Price

  • August 2014

Did not stay there as the hotel was fully booked up .

Would like my money back please !