No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Anker

STORGATA 55 PB 4674 SOFIENBERG, OSLO, 0182
This hotel is situated at the heart of the city centre of Oslo. The hotel is located between the main street Karl Johan and the stylish area of Grenerlokka. Guests will find themselves in a great location from which to explore the main attractions that this wonderful city has to offer. The hotel is located within easy access of a range of shopping, dining and entertainment venues. This wonderful hotel welcomes guests into the relaxing surroundings of the lobby, where elegance and luxury abound. Appealing to discerning business and leisure travellers, the hotel features a range of first-class facilities, meeting the needs of every type of traveller to a high level of excellence. This charming hotel comprises beautifully-appointed guest rooms, which offer a refreshing ambience in which to work and rest in comfort.
Picture of Anker, OSLO at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, central, value for money.
The room was very comfortable. The hotel represents good value very close to the centre of Osol (15 minutes walk to the Opera) with good restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk away from the hotel. The breakfast was okay - with such a large hotel there was a lot of turnover and it felt a bit like a school refectory, but this was the only downside.
Parking is available but costs 230kr for 24 hours.

Reviewed by
John F

From Sweden
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value: Wonderful reception: Area to be watched but very convenient for Oslo
When I arrived everyone was so helpful. I asked where I could get a cup of coffee and the lady at reception gave me a tray with a kettle and various coffee and tea sachets for the room - saying I could refill them whenever I wanted.
The room (we had a superior one on the grounds of other comments made on this site) was large, basic but clean. I was disappointed that despite a stay of 4 days the beds were only made on one occasion and the linen not changed. The room was only hovered once too.
The bathroom was lovely - a big shower and a heated floor - towels were replaced daily.
Breakfast was a little limited but certainly good enough. The only thing I would have really liked to see was more fruit.
My Norwegian colleagues were slightly horrified when I told them where I was staying - it is (or at least was) not a good area. It is near a alcoholics hospital and the student areas. However I never felt uncomfortable there and was on my own and on my way back from the central station at night without any problems. The hotel is about a 7 minute walk from Oslo Central Station and has tram stops directly outside - ideally suited in my view. I would return.

Reviewed by
Dhana A

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value For Money @ Central Oslo Location
For the centre of Oslo, where most hotels are hideously expensive, this hotel represents excellent value for money.
The room is clean, comfortable and has a good shower. Most importantly the Anker Hotel has a comfy bed and offers a good night's sleep.
For a short trip this hotel is ideal. If you want a more luxurious room with extra "stuff" in it, you will pay considerably more per night in the Centre of Oslo. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Andrew East

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
A non relaxing very basic canteen style breakfast experience.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location and great place to stay.
This hotel is located very close to Oslo centre, only about a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was included in the price of which there was a large selection. There was a bar on site and the staff were very helpful is directing towards places to go and see.
Overall a great hotel to stay for a small family or as a group and the hotel was clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable as well.

Reviewed by
James Fox

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It as a nice stay at Anker hotel. Bus, tram and taxi's right outside the door. 15 minutes to Karl Johan walking....If i should say something negative, i would say that the breakfast was....well...not too much things to choose from of the food...But the breakfast was good, and the tables where cleaned all the time...The hotell was fully booked when we was there, but the staff was smiling and helpfull to everybody. There was another little minus, that was there was some construction work at the night that maked som noise...But i found that they were working with something that couldnt be done at daytime of practical reasins......It was very quiet at night, not much traffic-noise....Conclusion is that i would spend time here again, and definately recommend the hotell to others....There was a swedesh girl named Andream and the nightshift-gauy called Rafael that was very nice people, and defineately made the stay a good pleasure.....:-) And one last thing: I couldnt find the mayonaise at the brakfast......:-(

Reviewed by
jon b

From tromsdalen, Norway
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Generally good experience at Anker, although the room was a lot smaller than I had expected. No minibar, kettle, or anything in the room, so bring your own. Breakfast was good but the canteen it was served in was a bit stark. Location is walkable to Oslo Central Station, Grünerløkka and a longer walk to the old town. Probably would stay again, because the location is so good and comparatively good value (for Oslo).

Reviewed by
M Day

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location good quality budget accommodation
In downtown area with lots of trendy new eateries and bars (after you have negotiated the extensive roadworks to cross the road!). Very convenient location for all attractions. Basic room but comfy bed, not glam but totally functional bathroom. No frills but staff provided extra toiletries for room & kettle. Basic but perfectly adequate breakfast buffet. Reasonably priced at £85 for 2 inc breakfast in this v expensive city where half a glass of average wine costs £10/12! Lots to,see in this city so hotel fine as you won't spend much time in it!

Reviewed by
Joanne Benjafield

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sehr gute Zimmer
Das Hotel liegt am äußeren Rand des Stadtzentrums, sodass die wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten erst nach mehr oder weniger kurzen Fußmärschen zu erreichen sind. Alternativ gibt es jedoch eine Straßenbahnhaltestelle in unmittelbarer Nähe des Hotels. Mein Zimmer war geräumig, modern und hervorragend ausgestattet, inkl. kostenlosem W-LAN. Darüber hinaus sauber und mit bequemem Bett. Das Frühstück war an drei Tagen wenig abwechslungsreich, aber reichlich und gut. Überaus freundliches Rezeptionspersonal.

Reviewed by
Y Roll

From Luxembourg
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.