No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakley Lodge

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
627-631 NEWMARKET ROAD , CAMBRIDGE, CB5 8PA
At Oakley Lodge we do all we can to make your stay an enjoyable one. Situated 2 miles from the city centre it is equally suitable for individuals, families and groups. Ground floor rooms are available. Free private parking and free Wi-fi available. Meals available most evenings.
Picture of Oakley Lodge, CAMBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky and independent but hygiene standards repulsive
Room was filthy. Hairs in the bed. Bathroom sink clogged with hairs. Shower head disgusting. Tea tray contained no tea! No mirror. Curtains don't close fully. A hilarious evacuation notice on the wall informing guests to muster with their 'department' in the front car park. Breakfast - Cutlery on the table was covered in food. Floating object in milk. Glasses stuck to the table and baked beans sauce under place mat. Sausage and brown bread lovely though.
When confronted with cleanliness issues nothing seemed to be taken seriously at any point. Dirty cutlery blamed on the young grand children, who were also in and out of the kitchen without shoes and without hair being tied back. An insulting £10 refund was given. My lungs are still suffering from the amount of dust in the room. Do not book here.

Reviewed by
N Wickens

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Back to basics - only if you're on a tight budget
Compared to the cost of most other accommodation alternatives in Cambridge, this guest house ticks the 'cheap' box. And it is absolutely 'okay' if you are on a budget. You get to stay in a beautiful city for less. The place seemed clean, and has a sort of 'Pontins holiday camp of the 80s' feel about it. So don't expect 'posh' in this part of the posh city. It was okay and did the job as it was just a base to sleep in. There are a couple of good pubs to dine out in nearby Fen Ditton - the Ancient Shepherd (rustic) and The Plough - (contemporary with lots of choice on the menu and beautiful environment). So a good experience can be had by all, once you get out and enjoy your stay in Cambridge!

Reviewed by
G Williamson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place is really dated. The room was clean but smelled fusty.
Staff was helpful.
Also, it's on a very busy road so it can be noise in front rooms.

Reviewed by
Amelia B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not the best
initial greeting was friendly and we were able to check in late. room was a bit dated but wasn't too bothered, however, bathroom wasn't 100% clean and the kettle was literally falling apart. on departure, we were told staff would be available from 7am to checkout. no one was available despite housekeeping waking us up at 5am after dropping things outside our door) and a dividing fire door was locked that lead to reception. on finally finding a staff member, i had to check out through a window and was questioned about why i was leaving.
three positives though: hot working shower, en-suite and the gentlemen who check us in was polite and friendly,

Reviewed by
amy h

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A plesant stay in Cambridge
This hotel is ideal for people who are on business to be near the city centre, but also for city breakers who want value for money. I was here for business and although we were on the ground floor and by a busy road during rush hour we had good windows to stop the noise off the traffic .My wife found she could walk to the city centre within half an hour and a bus stop on either side of the road within a few hundred yards from the hotel. The people who owned the hotel was friendly and would help in any way.

Reviewed by
C Mitchell

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant simple, basic guest house In need of slight updating.
the first room I was offered had water coming in from the ceiling when the person in the room above had a shower. there was evidence of this happening previously with the paint in the ceiling having ballooned and split. I was offered another room immediately which was much brighter and welcoming, however In both the rooms I saw the taps in the bathroom needed cleaning properly as the chrome around the base of the taps had split and burned a blue colour. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was hearty and arrived on the table in good time. It was on the main bus route into the city which was only a 10 minute ride away.

Reviewed by
beverley l

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and cheap
The parking was a bit tight and mattress a bit too old. But all in all, it is what it is. Very close to city centre and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
L Howlett

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B.
Great B&B on the outskirts of Cambridge, really good value, fantastic breakfast, friendly and helpful hosts, good clean rooms. Will stay here on my next trip.

Reviewed by
I Hughes

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good option in Cambridge
The place is clean, the owners are friendly, the breakfast is good. The only minor issue is that you have to bring your own shampoo and shower gel - not a big issue. Within walking distance of the city centre, about 30 minutes.
Very good value.

Reviewed by
N Watson

From Driffield, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
The staff were neither friendly nor unfriendly, just neutral which is ok. If they are looking for a better score on Customer Service then they should try friendly questions like "How are you?, Did you find the place easily?, Is the room to your liking, etc".
The room had been cleaned but was very dirty. It seems that the previous guest had left a lot of personal hair in the shower. This had all been wiped down. I guess the same cloth was used to wipe the floor and toilet seat and lid - that would explain why the pubes could still be found in those places. Furthermore thick layers of dust on the windowsill, cobwebs in the corners of the room, a dirty bathmat and a dirty carpet indicate that this room had not had a thourough cleaning for some time. Minor negatives were a non working remote control for the tv and a general poor decoration of the room. Normally I wouldn't mention those things but in this case they formed part of the cumulative disappointment we had. The beds were firm and comfortable. The rear of the B&B had a nice garden with picnic tables.
Cambridge is an expensive city so relatively speaking £70 for a Twin/Double is in line with local prices. However I am disappointed to have paid so much considering the quality of the room.
Breakfast was pleasant. There was self-service cereals, jam and juice and a choice of hot breakfast which was well made.
Perhaps we were unlucky with our room but we remain disappointed.

Reviewed by
M Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next