No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakley Lodge

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
627-631 NEWMARKET ROAD , CAMBRIDGE, CB5 8PA
At Oakley Lodge we do all we can to make your stay an enjoyable one. Situated 2 miles from the city centre it is equally suitable for individuals, families and groups. Ground floor rooms are available. Free private parking and free Wi-fi available. Meals available most evenings.
Picture of Oakley Lodge, CAMBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant simple, basic guest house In need of slight updating.
the first room I was offered had water coming in from the ceiling when the person in the room above had a shower. there was evidence of this happening previously with the paint in the ceiling having ballooned and split. I was offered another room immediately which was much brighter and welcoming, however In both the rooms I saw the taps in the bathroom needed cleaning properly as the chrome around the base of the taps had split and burned a blue colour. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was hearty and arrived on the table in good time. It was on the main bus route into the city which was only a 10 minute ride away.

Reviewed by
beverley l

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and cheap
The parking was a bit tight and mattress a bit too old. But all in all, it is what it is. Very close to city centre and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
L Howlett

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B.
Great B&B on the outskirts of Cambridge, really good value, fantastic breakfast, friendly and helpful hosts, good clean rooms. Will stay here on my next trip.

Reviewed by
I Hughes

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended
The staff were neither friendly nor unfriendly, just neutral which is ok. If they are looking for a better score on Customer Service then they should try friendly questions like "How are you?, Did you find the place easily?, Is the room to your liking, etc".
The room had been cleaned but was very dirty. It seems that the previous guest had left a lot of personal hair in the shower. This had all been wiped down. I guess the same cloth was used to wipe the floor and toilet seat and lid - that would explain why the pubes could still be found in those places. Furthermore thick layers of dust on the windowsill, cobwebs in the corners of the room, a dirty bathmat and a dirty carpet indicate that this room had not had a thourough cleaning for some time. Minor negatives were a non working remote control for the tv and a general poor decoration of the room. Normally I wouldn't mention those things but in this case they formed part of the cumulative disappointment we had. The beds were firm and comfortable. The rear of the B&B had a nice garden with picnic tables.
Cambridge is an expensive city so relatively speaking £70 for a Twin/Double is in line with local prices. However I am disappointed to have paid so much considering the quality of the room.
Breakfast was pleasant. There was self-service cereals, jam and juice and a choice of hot breakfast which was well made.
Perhaps we were unlucky with our room but we remain disappointed.

Reviewed by
M Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good option in Cambridge
The place is clean, the owners are friendly, the breakfast is good. The only minor issue is that you have to bring your own shampoo and shower gel - not a big issue. Within walking distance of the city centre, about 30 minutes.
Very good value.

Reviewed by
N Watson

From Driffield, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a memorable stay
Unfortunately I was very unimpressed with Oakley Lodge. The good points were it was convenient and it had a car park. I had several items of luggage and was not offered help to my room, I was pointed in the right direction and left to manage on my own. The room was basic to say the least, I wanted to hang some clothes in the wardrobe and the doorknob came off in my hand. The TV remote was incomplete (but worked). I had to leave before breakfast but could not get access to reception to pay because all doors were locked! The owner was abrupt almost to the point of rudeness and I left as soon as possible, never to return. Very poor value for money.

Reviewed by
J Hall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful!

Reviewed by

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent stay
I enjoyed my stay, was a very family orientated environment. However, I did not like the fact that they kept a pet and my single bed was creaking the whole night which disrupted my sleep on multiple occasions. Otherwise, reasonably neat and tidy and well decorated.

Reviewed by
Salome G

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but good
+ pet friendly
+ own key for 24 hrs entry
+ en suite bathroom

Reviewed by
Manuela H

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely city break
Amazing customer service, very friendly and helpful! The room had everything we needed and beds were very comfortable! Could benefit from brighter/more modern pictures/decor in the room but thats such a minor point!! Thank you for having us!

Reviewed by
H Cross

From Portsmouth, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next