No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
West View, Wells Road, Ilkley, LS29 9JG
The BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant is located in the Victorian spa town of Ilkley and is situated on the edge of the famous Ilkley Moor yet within walking distance of the town center. The BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant is a lovely Georgian town house run by resident proprietors. The hotel is pristine throughout, following extensive redecoration and the furnishings are in keeping with its 19th century architecture - an elegant facade with tall windows and inside high ceilings, archways and fireplaces. The quiet and extremely comfortable bedrooms range from suites to the more compact with showers. The lounge is a peaceful retreat where guests mingle in the cocktail bar while studying the menu for the award-winning restaurant. The diverse wine list and large selection of whiskies all add to making dining at the BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant a special experience.While business people may want to use the BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant's excellent conference facilities with its fully integrated electronic wall, others will enjoy Ilkley's boutiques, visiting Fountains Abbey, Bolton Abbey, Castle Howard or Harewood House and exploring the Bronte Parsonage in addition to Herriot Country. The more energetic guests may enjoy the nearby golfing, tennis, fishing and riding facilities or go on one or more of the beautiful walks in the Yorkshire Dales. Ilkley being around one hour's drive from the Lake District, the Peak District, York and the North East Coast, makes the BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant the ideal location for touring England's North Country. Hotel is completely non-smoking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant, Ilkley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ilkley bah tat
Very friendley run hotel and also provide laptop for wifi access during stay. The food is excellent and a small but well stocked bar in comfortable surroundings. You can walk in to town but advise taxi return quite hilly when leaving town. A lot of amenities in town overall an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
most enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
david thomas

From Riddlesden Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this hotel.Stay here often when in Ilkley.The bar area is so welcoming and cosy.

Reviewed by
paula jackson

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A prison cell is bigger
Such a small room it was like staying in a prison cell. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and there was a dead wood louse in the shower. There was lipstick marks on the glasses and the shower mat was mouldy.

Reviewed by
Justin C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old hotel, far more charm than a bland modern block
Ideal for a romantic break, loads of character - short walk to the moors edge or into the town, park your car in the private car park and forget it, we dined at the hotel and the food was some of the best I have had and I have dined in some top hotels around the world, some of which has been just to fancy, this was nicely presented good wholesome food - just what you want after a walk on the moor

Reviewed by
R Hyland

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NOT one of the best for Best Western
Although the hotel is in a prime position, it was let down by the fact it was a tired hotel, that needs a general overhaul.
The shower didn't run hot or warm. The radiator was on full, even after the receptionist tried to turn it down.
I don't consider the meals are value for money

Reviewed by
T McAlinden

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reception we received from reception staff was disappointingly less than welcoming. Other hotel staff at the private function we were attending were more than hospitable, so this jarred a little. The room, although tiny, was beautifully decorated and furnished.

Reviewed by
V Hobbs

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant
We had a pleasant stay, the location is lovely, but it was on the expensive side-our room had been renovated nicely but we were told by staff that my sons room was not and yet we were charged the same price-it was definitely not a superior room! The cooked breakfast was nice altho again fruit/continental stuff was limited.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of a gem in terms of value for money
Never been to Ilkley so would like to return. The staff were very courteous and thought the food was well crafted

Reviewed by
Justin T

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy weekend in the snow
What a lovely place in a beautiful setting. It's very much Rombalds Hotel rather than Best Western. I think I got lucky by having a snowfall on Friday night so it looked so pretty on Saturday. All good - except I would go for the cooked breakfast rather than the eggy bread. And checkout at 11 - which is very civilised.

Reviewed by
Daniel P

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next