No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
West View, Wells Road , Ilkley, LS29 9JG
The BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel is located in the Victorian spa town of
Ilkley and is situated on the edge of the famous Ilkley Moor yet within
walking distance of the town centre.

The BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel is a lovely Georgian town house run by
resident proprietors. The hotel is furnished in keeping with its 19th
century architecture - an elegant facade with tall windows and inside high
ceilings, archways and fireplaces.. A selection of hot and cold dishes are
served in Rombalds Lounge Bar throughout the day, also offering a diverse
wine list and large selection of whiskies.

For the business people the BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel offers excellent
conference facilities, whilst leisure visitors can enjoy Ilkley's many
boutiques or visiting Fountains Abbey, Bolton Abbey, Castle Howard or
Harewood House and exploring the Bronte Parsonage in addition to Herriot
Country. The more energetic guests may enjoy the nearby golfing, tennis,
fishing and riding facilities or go on one or more of the beautiful walks in
the Yorkshire Dales. Ilkley being around one hour's drive from the Lake
District, the Peak District, York and the North East Coast, makes the BEST
WESTERN Rombalds the ideal location for touring England's North Country.

Hotel is completely non-smoking.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel , Ilkley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in gorgeous surroundings
We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a friends wedding we were welcomed like old friends and shown to our clean bright room everything we needed was there if I had to be critical the shower could do with updating to an electric one for better pressure. We had breakfast on both mornings which was delicious and so lovely to have vegetarian options there was also a lovely spread of cereals fruit and juices . We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

Reviewed by
S Green

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was brilliant very friendly service

Reviewed by
James Wilson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ilkley bah tat
Very friendley run hotel and also provide laptop for wifi access during stay. The food is excellent and a small but well stocked bar in comfortable surroundings. You can walk in to town but advise taxi return quite hilly when leaving town. A lot of amenities in town overall an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant
most enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
david thomas

From Riddlesden Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this hotel.Stay here often when in Ilkley.The bar area is so welcoming and cosy.

Reviewed by
paula jackson

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A prison cell is bigger
Such a small room it was like staying in a prison cell. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and there was a dead wood louse in the shower. There was lipstick marks on the glasses and the shower mat was mouldy.

Reviewed by
Justin C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old hotel, far more charm than a bland modern block
Ideal for a romantic break, loads of character - short walk to the moors edge or into the town, park your car in the private car park and forget it, we dined at the hotel and the food was some of the best I have had and I have dined in some top hotels around the world, some of which has been just to fancy, this was nicely presented good wholesome food - just what you want after a walk on the moor

Reviewed by
R Hyland

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NOT one of the best for Best Western
Although the hotel is in a prime position, it was let down by the fact it was a tired hotel, that needs a general overhaul.
The shower didn't run hot or warm. The radiator was on full, even after the receptionist tried to turn it down.
I don't consider the meals are value for money

Reviewed by
T McAlinden

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reception we received from reception staff was disappointingly less than welcoming. Other hotel staff at the private function we were attending were more than hospitable, so this jarred a little. The room, although tiny, was beautifully decorated and furnished.

Reviewed by
V Hobbs

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST WESTERN Rombalds Hotel & Restaurant
We had a pleasant stay, the location is lovely, but it was on the expensive side-our room had been renovated nicely but we were told by staff that my sons room was not and yet we were charged the same price-it was definitely not a superior room! The cooked breakfast was nice altho again fruit/continental stuff was limited.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next