No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - HYLANDS

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
307 QUEENS RD BEESTON, NOTTINGHAM, NG9 1JB
At Hylands we pride ourselves on treating guests like individuals and aim to cater for their every need. Ideally situated close to Nottingham University, Highfields Hockey Club, Nottingham Indoor Tennis Centre, Wollaton Park and Attenborough Nature Reserve, Hylands offers clean and comfortable accommodation and a warm and friendly atmosphere.With an award winning pub offering real ales and a large selection of wines and whiskey and several excellent restaurants all within easy walking distance our guests dining needs are well catered for. The array of shops, theatres, bars, concert halls, bowling and skating arenas on offer in the city centre are just a few minutes away.
Picture of HYLANDS, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


0

Reviewed by
A Porter

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hylands
I thought value for money it was excellent.

Reviewed by
Laurence HUMPHRIES

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything i required was in the room which i found clean and cosy. Staff where very friendly and helpful and i found the food excellent.

Reviewed by
charles g

From Llangammarch Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely perfect
I tend to book budget chain hotels as I like to know what I am getting for my money, and I am fairly easy to please. I needed to find somewhere to stay whilst dropping my son off to University, and quickly discovered that my usual choice of hotels were fully booked. I therefore booked Hyands as a kind of 'last resort', but I am so glad that I did. I have now found somewhere I will choose to stay whenever I visit Nottingham. Hylands is an absolute gem of a hotel.
I booked two rooms, one for me, and one for my mother for a one night stopover stay. We found the hotel easily despite the current tramway extension work playing havoc with my Satnav! The hotel is ideally placed very near to the university accommodation. We found a space straight away in the quaint car parking area behind the hotel, and entered to the warmest welcome I have ever received from any hotel receptionist. The lady who greeted us was simply lovely. After a very simple check in we were shown to our rooms, which were set in a private corner of the building, next to each other as requested. The rooms were old fashioned, but with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Whilst not having the modern, sleek feel of one of the newer budget hotels, the rooms were spotlessly clean, and beautifully decorated in keeping with the overall style of the hotel. After a short exploration of the surrounding area, and an evening meal at a local pub, we returned for the night, and again found a parking space with no problem. Although our rooms were facing onto the busy main road, neither of us found the noise disturbing, and the beds (very high off the ground) were extremely comfortable. After a wonderful night's sleep we made our way to the breakfast room where we found an assortment of cereal and juices to choose from before our order for tea and coffee were taken, along with our choice for a cooked breakfast included in the price. The breakfasts (one of which was vegetarian) were freshly cooked and served before we had even had a chance to pour our coffees, and were amazing. Once again the staff were so attentive and welcoming, we felt totally pampered. We both agreed that our experience was so good that we were reluctant to travel home. I could have easily stayed at Hylands for a week, and fully intend to make it a base for a longer visit to Nottingham in the future.
We checked out easily, with the promise that we will certainly be back to stay again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for excellent value for money and a stay to remember.

Reviewed by
H Graham

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel is made up of seperate houses with lounge bar breakfast in main building whiich is only okay if the weather is good because of this i have given less stars
The price is the same whether you booked through laterooms or by telephone.
nothing wrong with breakfast but I felt that had the staff been around they would have been more aware of what was going on with other diners. (using hands to take out cereal from large packets for instance and using mobile phones while everyone is eating is a bit off-putting

Reviewed by
laurence t

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money, nice breakfast, friendly staff. Shared bathroom ok. Squeaky floorboards were a bit annoying whenever I moved about in my room. Nice lounge and dining room downstairs. Parking.

Reviewed by
Louise F

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired room
good value, room wanted updating but very clean. Breakfast fine with good staff.

Reviewed by
Stuart C

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation was ok
I spent most of my stay revising for exams and this was a very stressful time for me so my review probably does not reflect the quality of the accommodation. The bed was comfortable, the kettle in the room was a nice touch. And it was close enough to co op and the university to walk. For me the breakfast was the highlight, maybe it's because I was up to my eyeballs with stress and anxiety, but the sight of a full English breakfast in the morning was enough to make me want to wake up early. All in all, it was satisfactory.

Reviewed by
S Madzima

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class in every way Lovely staff, neat and tidy room and good food. Also advised where to eat in the evening and the recommendation I received, local pub just down the road, was also first class. I will be returning and have also asked my PA to book me in here anytime I am in the area.

Reviewed by
A Currie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another comfortable stay here
This was my 3rd stay at the Hylands and it was as friendly and welcoming as usual. I had a single en-suite room which had all the facilities you would want. I didn't find the hairdryer in the drawer until I was packing up but I didn't really need it anyway with the hot weather. Plumbing a bit dated and the shower took some working out [blue indicated the hot side]. Breakfast good with all the coffee and toast you want - and they do wonderful scrambled eggs. Only puzzle [though not a problem] was how the yoghurts always seemed to be on the last use-by date possible. Very good value and handy for buses into Nottingham and local shops

Reviewed by
Irene F

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next