No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - HYLANDS

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
307 QUEENS RD BEESTON, NOTTINGHAM, NG9 1JB
At Hylands we pride ourselves on treating guests like individuals and aim to cater for their every need. Ideally situated close to Nottingham University, Highfields Hockey Club, Nottingham Indoor Tennis Centre, Wollaton Park and Attenborough Nature Reserve, Hylands offers clean and comfortable accommodation and a warm and friendly atmosphere.With an award winning pub offering real ales and a large selection of wines and whiskey and several excellent restaurants all within easy walking distance our guests dining needs are well catered for. The array of shops, theatres, bars, concert halls, bowling and skating arenas on offer in the city centre are just a few minutes away.
Picture of HYLANDS, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Homelike Place to Stay
Having stayed here before, I have no hesitation to recommend Hylands, it is excellent value. The staff are extremely polite and accommodating, and although the hotel itself may look and feel a bit dated the service is second to none. Breakfast is served with a smile, and it helps start your day in a positive way. The room was cosy and comfortable, clean and served its purpose, and I had two nice comfortable nights of sleep too. If I pass this way I will definitely stop over here again.

Reviewed by
Andreas Michaelides

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Hylands
Very happy with all aspects of my stay. Will definitely stay again when working in the area.

Reviewed by
m joyce

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good standard
Staff friendley and efficient, use of facilities such as dining room to et your own food in the evening was excellent. Comfortable lounge ares

Reviewed by
Margaret P

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but kind
Very helpful kind staff, dated decor. The hotel is spread through more than one building which was a little disconcerting for two females alone. Shared bathroom. Breakfast was great. We stayed for one night and it was perfectly adequate.

Reviewed by
p luke

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was lovely and olde worlde, and the bathroom was a little tired, The cold tap was very temperamental. The family room was lovely and big, with a double and single bed. Plenty of room and although the bed was quite hard, was comfortable. Everywhere was spotless. Breakfast was very nice and all staff were friendly. The only downside was although they had 2 car parks, there was a lot of building materials in the car park and parking was cramped. We went to visit family and the gates were locked when we came back at 10.30pm so had to park on the road. Other than that and the cold tap [which we forgot to mention to staff], everything was fine. Thank you

Reviewed by
s carter

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


0

Reviewed by
A Porter

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hylands
I thought value for money it was excellent.

Reviewed by
Laurence HUMPHRIES

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything i required was in the room which i found clean and cosy. Staff where very friendly and helpful and i found the food excellent.

Reviewed by
charles g

From Llangammarch Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely perfect
I tend to book budget chain hotels as I like to know what I am getting for my money, and I am fairly easy to please. I needed to find somewhere to stay whilst dropping my son off to University, and quickly discovered that my usual choice of hotels were fully booked. I therefore booked Hyands as a kind of 'last resort', but I am so glad that I did. I have now found somewhere I will choose to stay whenever I visit Nottingham. Hylands is an absolute gem of a hotel.
I booked two rooms, one for me, and one for my mother for a one night stopover stay. We found the hotel easily despite the current tramway extension work playing havoc with my Satnav! The hotel is ideally placed very near to the university accommodation. We found a space straight away in the quaint car parking area behind the hotel, and entered to the warmest welcome I have ever received from any hotel receptionist. The lady who greeted us was simply lovely. After a very simple check in we were shown to our rooms, which were set in a private corner of the building, next to each other as requested. The rooms were old fashioned, but with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Whilst not having the modern, sleek feel of one of the newer budget hotels, the rooms were spotlessly clean, and beautifully decorated in keeping with the overall style of the hotel. After a short exploration of the surrounding area, and an evening meal at a local pub, we returned for the night, and again found a parking space with no problem. Although our rooms were facing onto the busy main road, neither of us found the noise disturbing, and the beds (very high off the ground) were extremely comfortable. After a wonderful night's sleep we made our way to the breakfast room where we found an assortment of cereal and juices to choose from before our order for tea and coffee were taken, along with our choice for a cooked breakfast included in the price. The breakfasts (one of which was vegetarian) were freshly cooked and served before we had even had a chance to pour our coffees, and were amazing. Once again the staff were so attentive and welcoming, we felt totally pampered. We both agreed that our experience was so good that we were reluctant to travel home. I could have easily stayed at Hylands for a week, and fully intend to make it a base for a longer visit to Nottingham in the future.
We checked out easily, with the promise that we will certainly be back to stay again. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for excellent value for money and a stay to remember.

Reviewed by
H Graham

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel is made up of seperate houses with lounge bar breakfast in main building whiich is only okay if the weather is good because of this i have given less stars
The price is the same whether you booked through laterooms or by telephone.
nothing wrong with breakfast but I felt that had the staff been around they would have been more aware of what was going on with other diners. (using hands to take out cereal from large packets for instance and using mobile phones while everyone is eating is a bit off-putting

Reviewed by
laurence t

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next