No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Hart Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
23-25 Holywell Hill , St. Albans, AL1 1EZ
Located in the centre of old St. Albans The White Hart hotel is an historic 600 year old coaching inn. Opposite the world famous Abbey, we are close to the centre of the old town and have our own 19 space car park for the exclusive use of our patrons.

We have recently refurbished the public areas of the hotel and opened our new restaurant, Tudors. A suberb tradional ambiance has been created using old and new wood with luxurious fabrics.

The hotel has 15 rooms, all of which are fully en suite.

Our new restaurant, Tudors, offers the very best of classic British food with with all items freshly made by us. An extensive wine list complements the food.

Our two cosy bars provide great hospitality and three or four real ale offerings as well as all the normal lager and beers
Picture of The White Hart Hotel, St. Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The White Hart Hotel
Friendly, clean and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Nigel Poole

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Stayed here based on location for St Albans Arena, approx. 6 mins walking distance.
Staff were friendly and bar convenient. Room clean and bed comfy. Rather disappointed with the décor, very dated reminded me of my granddad's house when I was 10. Consider it slightly overpriced.

Reviewed by
Christine D

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

meh...
The hotel has wonderful character and the rooms sloping floor and the corridors low ceiling added to the effect but essentially the room was basic and drab. Everything was fine but not great. The food in the restaurant was, similarly nothing to complain about but nothing to get excited by either. My lamb shank was not very hot and rather tasteless.
If you want a touch of olde world charm then look no further but don't expect refinement.

Reviewed by
J Harvey

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

white Hart review
Comfortable stay in small inn

Reviewed by
T Jones

From Crughywel, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel has a pleasant bar & restaurant, with a very social feel to it.
But I have to say that the room was looking very "tired"...I know it is an old property, with a period feel, but in need of a re-vamp.

Reviewed by
bob hill

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

character
full of character. late bar. good.

Reviewed by
r smithies

From Ambleside, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby Annex
We stayed in the annex, which didn't give the best impression. The finish was quite shabby with dirty grouting, dark rooms and a broken blind and lamp. No double glazing meant we were woken by people leaving the pub. Despite the steep stairs the person showing us to the room just opened one of the narrow entrance doors and left us to undo the latches and open the second one so that we could fit through with our bags and cases.

Reviewed by
M Krisson

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
I booked this at the last minute to stay in St Albans to meet up with friends. Receptionist/manager was lovely and so friendly. We had a room upgrade to room 6 a very spacious room, really comfy bed and nice modern clean bathroom.

Reviewed by
J Downey

From Padstow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well preserved historic hotel in beautiful St. Albans.
Friendly professional staff made an overnight stay most enjoyable.Both evening meal and breakfast were of a very high standard. The hotel is only a stone's throw from St. Alban's Abbey, making it an ideal location for visiting the abbey ,Roman, ruins, the park and high street shopping. We will definitely return!

Reviewed by
jacqueline r

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a short Stay
The Hotel is convenient for the town centre and close to the Abbey and park. My single room was on the small side but clean with a comfortable double bed. - ok for a night or twos stay.
The breakfast was good and served quickly. My only observation was that the room was very hot at night but then so was the weather in general - perhaps a quiet fan would help in the summer months.

Reviewed by
Ed J

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next