No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Hart Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
23-25 Holywell Hill , St. Albans, AL1 1EZ
Located in the centre of old St. Albans The White Hart hotel is an historic 600 year old coaching inn. Opposite the world famous Abbey, we are close to the centre of the old town and have our own 19 space car park for the exclusive use of our patrons.

We have recently refurbished the public areas of the hotel and opened our new restaurant, Tudors. A suberb tradional ambiance has been created using old and new wood with luxurious fabrics.

The hotel has 15 rooms, all of which are fully en suite.

Our new restaurant, Tudors, offers the very best of classic British food with with all items freshly made by us. An extensive wine list complements the food.

Our two cosy bars provide great hospitality and three or four real ale offerings as well as all the normal lager and beers
Picture of The White Hart Hotel, St. Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby Annex
We stayed in the annex, which didn't give the best impression. The finish was quite shabby with dirty grouting, dark rooms and a broken blind and lamp. No double glazing meant we were woken by people leaving the pub. Despite the steep stairs the person showing us to the room just opened one of the narrow entrance doors and left us to undo the latches and open the second one so that we could fit through with our bags and cases.

Reviewed by
M Krisson

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
I booked this at the last minute to stay in St Albans to meet up with friends. Receptionist/manager was lovely and so friendly. We had a room upgrade to room 6 a very spacious room, really comfy bed and nice modern clean bathroom.

Reviewed by
J Downey

From Padstow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well preserved historic hotel in beautiful St. Albans.
Friendly professional staff made an overnight stay most enjoyable.Both evening meal and breakfast were of a very high standard. The hotel is only a stone's throw from St. Alban's Abbey, making it an ideal location for visiting the abbey ,Roman, ruins, the park and high street shopping. We will definitely return!

Reviewed by
jacqueline r

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a short Stay
The Hotel is convenient for the town centre and close to the Abbey and park. My single room was on the small side but clean with a comfortable double bed. - ok for a night or twos stay.
The breakfast was good and served quickly. My only observation was that the room was very hot at night but then so was the weather in general - perhaps a quiet fan would help in the summer months.

Reviewed by
Ed J

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired!
On business, booked hotel with high hopes. Location fabulous, literally over the road from the cathedral. On arrival check in staff courteous, room small, very basic but clean. Bathroom well-fitted, but towels ancient, thin and nasty. Showering following morning proved this. Breakfast starts at 7:00. By which time there are 5 people waiting. Why not start when people want breakfast - 6:30?
Checkout slow, card machine not working.
Won't be back. I spend 200 nights a year in hotels, these were three of the most disappointing.

Reviewed by
Andrew L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow what a lovely room
When shown our room my first impression was Wow what a lovely room, it was very spacious with a settee and table and chairs, bathroom a nice size and bed very comfortable. The only minor downside was that there wasn't a power point close to a mirror. Breakfasts were very tasty and we had one evening meal which was absolutely delicious. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. A wonderful 2 days and would definitely recommend the hotel, in fact already have.

Reviewed by
Christine W

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I did feel that the decription of the room was not acurate at all. The on suite bathroom was in fact a cupboard (litterally) £99 for a room with a bathroom cupboard i felt was poor. I travel everyweek staying away at least 2/3 nights so do experience lots of different accomadation. Am sorry to say i would not use or recomend this hotel again.

Reviewed by
S Haywood

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly , lots of charm, a quality room at a good price. I will be back...

Reviewed by
J H

From Broadway, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable
The hotel was lovely and full of character. We had a meal in the restaurant on the first night which was excellent although a little pricey. The only minor complaint we have is that we returned from a meal outside the hotel just after 10.30 p.m. on Sunday to find the bar already closed.

Reviewed by
Marilyn D

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

15th Century charm overlooking abbey
Not the cheapest, but you are paying for the history and location. Whole of hotel is full of old-world character. Was pleasantly surprised at size of room.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next