The Stage Hotel

3

1-5 Gregory Boulevard, Nottingham, ng7 6lb

Price From 63.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (104)

27% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David P

  • May 2015

the park bench would have been better

Terrible experience, the most uncomfortable bed that I've tried to sleep on.

Room small and grotty, you needed to be under 1.4mtr to use the shower without ducking. The reception staff know very little information about the area. Won't be back.

  • Paul B

  • May 2015

OMG

Booked a single room and on my arrival found 3 x single beds in the room with no wardrobes or towels.

Furniture very dated. Shower very poor with low water pressure and slow water speed. Took ages to get water to a decent temperature too!. The taps on the wash basin spun around as easily as that girls' head in the film 'The Omen'. The smell of the place got worse the further one moved away from reception. Had paid an extra £3 to have breakfast.......but deceided to pass and dodge the risk so to speak. Think it may be used as a temporary shelter having seen a few of the clients in passing. Not walking distance to the city centre either......10 mins in a taxi so be aware!. Good car parking however to finish on a positive note :-/

  • daisy w

  • April 2015

Not impressed.

Myself and two friends stayed at the hotel as a last minute resort as trains were not running and we had to be somewhere at 10am the next day.

So, we arrived by taxi at around 10pm to find a wedding event happening in the main downstairs room, with very loud bass music, but whatever, not a problem (we're uni students so used to it). The receptionist struck us as odd, she didn't welcome us or even smile particularly. She had the paperwork ready for us to check in but when she asked 'how will you be paying?' I got concerned because I thought I'd paid through late rooms - mistakenly. She just shook her head no and just looked at me like 'well..?', not very helpful. So when, this was all resolved, we headed up our room, up about four flights of stairs. The door was a shabby wood with no electric lock, which surprised us all - just a run of the mill key situation.

Getting inside, we immediately locked the door as the room next to us had young men playing loud music and, from the sounds of it, drinking, plus the party downstairs.

The room was a good size and there was more than enough beds, though it was absolutely freezing as the window was wide open. We shut the window, only to realise the frame was broken and couldn't be sealed, still letting cold air in. The bathroom was clean and roomy, though there was a glow stick on the floor from previous guests and there were no towels.

Settling in, we found the beds to be comfortable enough but with hard springs that stuck out. The TV worked well although there seemed to a problem with reception, especially with the BBC channels. We also began to notice strange marks on the wall, we described them as 'splat' stains, like someone had thrown stuff at the walls and it hadn't been cleaned overly well, luckily there was no smell but slightly concerning - definitely wouldn't want to use a UV/Black Light in there.

We later found the shower to be completely useless, my friend wait for almost 20 minutes with her hand under the spray for there to be zero hot water (the room remained very cold as the radiator didn't seem to work). The music downstairs continued until the specified time and promptly finished at 1.30am which were happy about so we went to sleep.

We were then all woken at 6am by someone pushing against our door trying to get in. We all sat up and waited, slightly scared, for the person to go away. My friend went into the bathroom to make it known this was not this person's room and to go away, but he (it was a quite obviously drunk man), persisted, asking for 'a pint of water', which we, of course, refused. He continued trying to get in, pushing against the door which sounded extremely flimsy and about to break at any moment so we told him to go downstairs for water and leave us alone. We considered called downstairs but there was no phone in the room linked to the front desk and the WiFi was very patchy so we couldn't look it up. The man eventually went away, after threatening us sexually (we are 3 young women), and we were all quite shaken by it.

We left around 9am and left the key with the same receptionist as the night before, who was still just as lacking in pleasantries. We left underwhelmed by the entire situation and will definitely plan ahead next time so as to avoid such an experience.

  • C Phillips

  • April 2015

It was ok value for what we had.

The drinks downstairs were very expensive.

  • D Evans

  • March 2015

Rooms 210 & 211

The accommodation was tired, unclean, cramped and quite frankly awful.

It needs gutting and a complete redecoration. There were silverfish and spiders in our shower room- the tray had a huge crack in it. The worst I have ever experienced.

  • Donna Davies

  • March 2015

The hotel from hell

This "Hotel" should come with a government warning as it may well damage your health.

The foyer reeked of drugs and a group of scary youths were playing pool at 12.05 in the early hours. My room was a good size but furnished with items that looked like they had come from a skip. Broken fixtures and fittings, stained carpets and an antique shower. Bedding was clean but ripped, revealing a thin and stained duvet. Breakfast was another hellish experience in a sad, tired and depressing room, with "guests" walking around without shoes. No choice of cooked breakfast provided, just plonked down before I had finished my cereal, tiny, lukewarm and nasty cheap food. I couldn't wait to escape. The hotel inspector should visit here and work some kind of miracle, God knows it needs it. Failing that I would suggest a decent demolition firm and do us all a favour!

  • c crossland

  • March 2015

value for money

We had a warm and clean room and only 10/15 minute walk from city centre.

Great value for money.

  • Andrew Parsons

  • March 2015

Wasn't anywhere near what some of the reviews said about The Stage Hotel

I booked this hotel last minute for a gig that me and two mates were going to in Nottingham, to be honest it wouldn't have been my first choice and after reading some of the reviews I have to admit I was in two minds but it was a case of needs must.

It was nothing like I expected given some of those reviews, the staff were friendly, the room was fine, actually had 4 single beds in it, we booked it as a triple room. I'd stay here again if I was going to Nottingham, no problem

  • Stuart J

  • February 2015

A disgusting mess!! Dont let your pets stay!!

Well ...

Filthy floor, filthy bathroom, didn't even dare pull back the covers!. Breakfast???. Hmm cold cardboard has more taste, poured a cup of tea and the milk had more heat than the tea it's self!. This is a mess that's needs the pest control and fumigation!!

  • Graham S

  • February 2015

You get what you pay for.

Thought it was cheap when booking.

I need to start reading reviews. Bed was like a camp bed. No towels or soap etc in bathroom. My room was above the bar so no chance of sleep until everyone had left.