Reviews - Athena Guest House


255 Cowley Road, Oxford, OX4 1 XQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (31)

26% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Light

  • June 2015

Substandard accommodation at Athena Guest House Oxford

On arrival at 22.30 hours the room appeared to be grubby with old shabby furnishings.

The next morning with better lighting it was obviouse that the room hadn't been cleaned before our arrival apart from clean sheets on the bed.

The shower room had half used shampoo with the lids off on the shower soap rack. The bath towel I first picked up having had my shower was covered in stains and make up. All the bottles of shampoo on display as complimentary were half empty. In the bedroom there was clumps of dust on the floor along with an empty biscuit wrapper and behind where the kettle and tray was kept were several wrappers, some used and some not. The cups on the tray had merely been rinsed and still had dirty water in the bottom, one had a large chip in it. In one of the bedside drawers ther was an empty Rizzler box and sundry rubbish

We tried to find the owner next morning to complain but couldn't find them on the premises. Though the owner may have been the man we saw smoking in the back yard. We did ring him and he seemed to show little concern saying that we should have reported it the night before, but there had been nobody there when we arrived to complain to. He did however text an apology 2 hours after we had left.

  • j martin

  • April 2015

Athena Guest House

I was expecting en suite but had a shared bathroom instead.

  • Michael P

  • March 2015

Not bad, good location

I needed a quick booking for a location on cowley road.

This place was just the thing. It was a good location. Not bad. The TV and digi box was a bit old and brought a bit of nostalgia. There was a very house like feel to the room which I think some might like and others might not. I for one liked it.

  • z redknap

  • February 2015


The owner was rude and there was a weird smell about the place definitely not worth paying that amount of money won't be staying ever again!!

  • Jane P

  • February 2015

Heath Robinson room design

room looked as if it had been designed by Heath Robinson.

The TV was tied onto a stand with very dodgy looking electrics .. Lots of extension sockets . There was a broken fridge in the room.. .. Why. .

On the plus side, the bed was clean and comfy and the room quiet.

No wifi code available - would have been nice to have that .

Bit pricy for bed only.

  • clifford b

  • November 2014

over priced hostel

not what we expected for a b n b.

rooms dirty, fixtures and fittings tired and worn out. room in need of complete makeover. very overpriced scruffy looking accomodation!

  • Kevin W

  • November 2014

Get what you pay for

Quite close to Oxford town centre, c1.5miles, we just wanted somewhere to sleep.

Owner managed to get us on the car park before showing us room. It wasn't in the guest house but over the road, we were probably glad looking inside. Pleasantly surprised by the room, clean and warm. For the price, and location, (Cowley's worth a look), it wasn't bad.

  • M Myatt

  • November 2014


Very simple, clean and warm.

Helpful staff

  • Lucy D

  • November 2014

It took a while for a member of staff to open the door when we arrived and the cleaner was quite rude in the morning.

It's one of the cheapest accommodations in Oxford and you get what you pay for. Bed and bathroom were ok.

  • D Silva

  • November 2014

Do not stay here - Didn't get what I booked

Very disappointed.

I arrived at 4 in the afternoon, was greeted by the B&B host who quickly asked my name. When I said my last name, he said my first name. Shortly after he said he never received my booking from Late Rooms and said this happened all the time. When I asked him how he knew my first name, he said he had only just seen my booking in the system. Afterwards I noticed he had rung my mobile, but I couldn't have answered him because I was driving. He then told me the room I had booked (a 4 person room with private bathroom) was not available, clearly meaning he had double booked it. He offered us 2 double rooms at an extra cost, but I refused to pay. He said he was being kind to offer these 2 rooms as he would have to take people out of them, presumably doing to those people what he was doing to us then. After we've refused it he offered us a family room in another house with shared bathroom, which we also refused. We rang Late Rooms, who told us the liability was all the B&B owner's, and if he couldn't offer us similar or better accommodation, he would then have to pay whichever suitable place we could find.

He started panicking and offered us a triple room with bathroom and a single room without, at a different house 300 yds down the road, for the same price as the room we had originally booked. We decided to check the rooms and noticed it was clearly a student accommodation house, with post addressed to different people at the door, thus clearly not a B&B. After much discussion and panic from the host, he gave us a discount and offered us free breakfast (which had to be had at the original B&B). The room was acceptable, but very expensive for what it was. The shower had extremely low pressure and the mattresses were uncomfortable. Definitely not worth over 100 pounds per night, actually not worth that price per week. Only afterwards I noticed that my original booking included for breakfast and that there were many similar stories in the B&B guest reviews. It was clear that this was not a coincidence. Breakfast was very good, but that was the only positive.

I would not recommend this B&B to anybody, it was a very stressful situation, it took us around 2 hours to sort it after much discussion with the owner. I would also strongly recommend Late Rooms to stop listing it.