No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Athena Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
255 Cowley Road , Oxford, OX4 1 XQ
Athena Guest House is a friendly guest house in Oxford offering accommodation in double, triple, family bedrooms all en-suite (with washbasin, toilet, bath facilities), water filter, tea & coffee welcome trays and colour TV/DVD Player.
Each room has wire (RJ45 Cable) and wireless Internet access through cable broadband (so what ever your own laptop has or not have wireless network card, it always work on internet stably).

We also provide a public PC for clients to check email and surf free fast speed internet.
Our house is one of the original red brick Victorian detached houses in the area and has a lot of charm and atmosphere.

Picture of Athena Guest House, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I booked 2 rooms - one each for myself and a colleague. The only availability was 1 single and 1 twin room. When we arrived the owner appeared surprised that there were only 2 people and challenged me as to why I had booked a twin room for 1 person!
The owner grumbled a lot and handed me a set of keys and a scrap of paper with another address on it, telling me that I had to stay in another building 300m down the road. When I challenged this, saying I had booked at the Athena he told me that there were rooms available, but not ensuite. Reluctantly I agreed to stay at the second building, which appeared to consist of student accommodation.
The room was basic but passable, though poor value at £89.
The TV was of very poor picture quality -distorted and kept "freezing".
Both my colleague and I had rooms facing onto Cowley Road, which was very noisy with traffic and a degree of rowdiness from passers-by through the night.
Breakfast was quite good and served by 2 very pleasant waitresses (who brought the customer service score up to 3).

Reviewed by
David A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could Be Worse
The hotel is relatively inexpensive for Oxford and is conveniently located (though you still need to take the bus to the centre). It looks rough from the street and is a bit bedraggled inside (needs paint, new carpets and new bathrooms), but the rooms are furnished adequately and are clean enough if you don't look too closely. The staff members are friendly, but not well trained or accomplished in english; they mainly suffer from having no guidance from the absentee owners who clearly do not live onsite. The showers are falling down and stop working if the toilet in room 1 won't shut off (which is often) and the power can go out and set off the alarms (and as the owners/managers don't stay here it means you need to ring them from your mobile). If you're in a front room, the rooms are very noisy, but they are quiet in the back. All in all if everything went in your favour it wouldn't be so bad (not great but not good), however, if it doesn't go well...

Reviewed by
A Fortune

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Confortable Stay
The Athena was conveniently situated on a frequent bus route. The staff were very friendly and obliging.

Reviewed by
L Purcell

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for short stay near city centre
I stayed in room 1 downstairs at the front for a Friday night. First impression of room was the room was clean,the bed linen look new and fresh. However the net curtains looked and smelt dusty ,and the window glass was dirty.The fridge did not smell at all fresh inside.The room was showing signs of wear,chipped paint work, the toilet dual flush button was broken and it only had a short flush working.The shower tiles were missing in places where the shower had been changed.The shower was electric,it worked well ,but the hose did not fit properly.
The noise from the traffic is what you would expect from a main road city location.Treble glazing would have helped.I was woken at 5.45 am by the council road sweeper.
The breakfast was generous and good.I had continental.

Reviewed by
Pauline S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

personal review
Generally speaking the hotel was OK. The floor of my room was not very clean. Water was left in the kettle and the kettle was cleaned. Long hair was found on the chair and the bed. Other than these, it was fine. The breakfast service was good. The location is very close to many shops, restaurants and supermarkets.

Reviewed by
J Li

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although bed was comfy the bathroom was appalling, the toilet did not flush as button was broken and shower was cold apparently this was due to the toilet not working!

Reviewed by
Karen c

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired looking from the outside , better on the inside but a bit scruffy in places. having said that

Reviewed by
d walker

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
Was good

Reviewed by
Antony P

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work B and B
Great little B and B for staying over while working. Clean and comfortable
Owner friendly

Reviewed by
Simon B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived we were told the room we booked wasn't available due to a shower fault so we ended up staying next door in an 'old style room'. The room was warm, the bedding/towels were clean and we didn't spend much time there so it was fine for us. But we weren't offered any discount and for £95 it was very overpriced - wallpaper falling off, curtains stained and didn't open, towels and bedding drying on the bannister! I've stayed in much nicer places for £20 a night!

Reviewed by
Emma H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next