No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pennyfarthing Hotel

3Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
296 - 298 High Street, Berkhamsted, HP4 1AH
The Penny Farthing hotel is nestled in the market town of Berkhamsted, providing comfortable rooms and private parking; perfect for a business or leisure stay. We're set back from the main High Street so our rooms guarantee you a quiet night's sleep.

Since it’s refurbishment in September 2013 each of the 19 en-suite bedrooms is individually designed with luxury bathrooms, air conditioning, flatscreen digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and a small safe for personal belongings.

Whether visiting the Penny Farthing for business or for pleasure, the high quality finish of the rooms guarantees a warm and comfortable stay.

Breakfast is served in our informal breakfast room where a range of hot and cold dishes are available to suit all requirements, from traditional cooked breakfasts prepared by our on-site breakfast chef, to porridge, cereals and continental options.

Guests at the Penny Farthing can dine at our sister restaurant, the Kings Arms, just a short walk up the High Street, perfect for business or leisure lunches, dinners, relaxing with coffees, or a few evening drinks.
Picture of The Pennyfarthing Hotel, Berkhamsted at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
I needed to spend a couple of days in London on business & this location suits me. I have stayed here before & find it really comfortable, the staff are always friendly, and breakfast is great

Reviewed by
Graham W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome
Excellent place to stay and lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
Jake E

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem
I'd not stayed here before, so when my usual hotel in the area was full I needed to find an alternative - this was slightly more expensive but well worth the extra. The room was a good size, the bed lovely & comfortable, the bathroom clean & modern, the staff were polite & helpful, and breakfast was up to scratch; all in all, I wished I was staying longer!

Reviewed by
Graham W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business stay
Very welcoming staff and comfortable room and great bathroom facilities Breakfast was quick and friendly and plentyfull overall very enjoyable

Reviewed by
Alan Cory

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
good and clean

Reviewed by
Robert S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
sadie Moore

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a rip off!
disinterest shown at reception,small dated room with broken hairdryer,breakfast served in restaurant which resembled transport cafe & wasnt that good either using "value" ingedients.Should have cost around £50!,

Reviewed by
STEVE B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.