No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - CARTWRIGHT HOTEL

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 - 5 Croughton Road Aynho, Banbury, OX17 3BE
This 16th Century coaching house has been fully refurbished to offer all the modern traveller needs whilst keeping its charm of earlier years. Only 5 minutes from the M40, Cartwright Hotel has 21 en suite bedrooms, all day Bar and Restaurant.
Picture of CARTWRIGHT HOTEL, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth it solely for location
The Cartwright turned out to be good only in terms of location, and unexpectedly the food which was excellent. The room itself was small and bare but the bed was comfortable. Serves adequately as a base if you want to be in Aynho / nearby, but not what I would call a luxury retreat at all, and didn't particularly feel it was value for money even with a deal (£110 for a saturday night).
The bathroom was tiny and not as clean as I'd like to see - bathtub itself could have done with a good scrub and the skirting boards were dusty.
Only amenities were a kettle and a desk. Small TV was like an afterthought.
I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic getaway, or if you're looking to spend any time in the room, but it certainly wasn't terrible but again, for us, this was due to location. Parking and free wifi are a plus.

Reviewed by
E Mullins

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent choice, attentive and friendly service, well worth future visits.
This last minute booking turned into a very pleasant surprise upon our arrival. The attractive courtyard in this old coach house provided adequate off road parking adjacent to our accommodation. After a pleasant welcome at reception we were directed to our room across the courtyard. The spacious room had all of the necessary amenities as well as wi fi. The king size bed was comfortable (but was against one wall). After a good nights rest we enjoyed a well prepared breakfast from a very large choice of items in a spacious and cosy dining room. The main restaurant offered a good menu at reasonable prices. The staff were always friendly and attentive. We have earmarked "The Cartwright" for a return visit.

Reviewed by
Frank M

From Weymouth, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were excellent and very friendly.
Only downside was room was freezing when we got there as the heating had been turned off.

Reviewed by
D McDermott

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very restful stay
We loved our stay here and would certainly come back again. We requested a disabled room and it was a little unfortunate that my husband could not use the shower as it was over the bath and too difficult for my husband to contemplate. However, the luxurious bedroom compensated for it and we enjoyed our stay. The restaurant was first class and highly recommended.

Reviewed by
A Hunt

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, cosy and homey atmosphere with warm welcoming staff and fantastic food. Highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Crowborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff, service was first class
I'm glad I booked this room at a discount as I'm not convinced I would have been impressed with the size of the room at full price. We stayed in Room 1 which I would describe as compact and a view only of roof tiles but had everything needed for a one night stay.
The room was clean but seemed the ariel lead had a lovely collection of dust which was surprisng. There was no ironing board or iron in the room but I know had I asked one would have been provided.
The staff were terrific and went out of their way to help us book a taxi, which wasn't as easy as I thought in an area that's all smaller villages.
I would stay there again happily and recommend the breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Owens

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved this hotel!
this hotel was great, we stayed here for 1 night before my husband went to silverstone for a driving experience day.
It was clean and tidy and looked very welcoming from the very first step inside, the staff were very friendly and we were massively impressed with our room which was beautiful and very spacious.
We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant which was excellent and very resonably priced for the standard of food we received.
we would deffinately stay there again if we were over that way again and would recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Lucy B

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic accommodation
The room we booked was lovely, very welcoming, extremely clean and comfortable. Having stayed at other locations in the vicinity recently, this was by far the nicest and the best value for money. Great accommodation.

Reviewed by
C Maguregui

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with fabulous friendly staff

Reviewed by
Jo Lowe

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will definitely return

Reviewed by
Jan F

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next