No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE
The Duke of Cumberland's Head is a beautiful thatched village inn that dates from the seventeenth century. It has five bedrooms which have been decorated to a high standard. The price of the rooms includes a continental breakfast including boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, tea and coffee. Cooked breakfast is available at the weekends.

Our excellent chefs have created a delicious menu which is their interpretation of traditional pub food. The menu constantly evolves and is complemented by our specials board which reflects whatever the kitchen has sourced that day, from game and fish to locally-sourced vegetables and meat. The full menu is available 12-2:30, 6:30-9:30.

Beyond the end of the garden, there are beautiful walks through the North Oxfordshire countryside and the pub is a perfect place to stay for a weekend, being perfectly situated for Bicester village, Oxford, Chipping Norton and The Cotswolds. The pub is only five miles from junction 10 of the M40.
Picture of The Duke of Cumberland's Head, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming
Very welcoming, lovely room, continental breakfast was ok. Every thing was self service. Would have been nice to have been offered fresh coffee or tea instead of making our own instant variety. But breakfast was sufficient never the less.

Reviewed by
Beverley F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent country pub and hotel. Enjoyed lovely food and very comfortable accommodation.
My wife and I will return as the accommodation was first class and the food most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
John P

From Shifnal, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms were rather like little cells... could do with a complete rebuild!
The internet connection would not work which was very inconvenient.

Reviewed by
Mary S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made booking, got there, doors locked..
Not much to say really, I made my booking via Laterooms, arrived forty minutes later but the place was locked and bolted. Pretty poor really.

Reviewed by
G richardson

From Lytham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent family room
We stayed for just one night on route to Southampton and it was the perfect place for us to stay in with our young daughters aged 1 and 4. Very clean comfortable room which was a really good size with a double bed and 2 single beds.
We ate dinner at the restaurant as well which was a very nice meal and pretty good value for the quality of the food.
Also has a lovely pretty beer garden.
Was ideal for a one night stop but is the kind of place you could happily stay for a few days.

Reviewed by
Katie H

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Double room
My double bedroom was on the small size only a walkway around the bed, no aware to place bags or other item, might be serve better being a single room. The food choice was good and well prepare and no problem being severed. although the bar did close at 10Pm this was not problem for myself. A nice cooked breakfast would of top of the stay, but you are advised that it is continental breakfast at booking so not a issue.

Reviewed by
Tim P

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place friendly staff, Food delicious and menu change daily.

Reviewed by
A Greenwood

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

trip to bicester village, and weekend away :-)
first impression of the duke of cumberlands head was stunning, set in a very quiet village very beautiful grounds, our room no 2 was just 100% perfect ,stairs up to the bathroom,really soft carpet, bed just awesome, very comfortable, hosts were very friendly and made me and my partner very welcome, very relaxing place to stay , nice garden at the back of pub, just peaceful just what we were both looking for, i would not hesitate to book again ;-) 10/10

Reviewed by
jason bull

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really great place to stay!
We stayed here for a total of 5 nights over a period of 2 weeks and found the Duke of Cumberlands Head to be exactly what we were looking for. The room was a good size, clean, tidy and with very welcoming and comfortable beds. The whole place has recently been re-painted and re-carpeted but regardless of this it was still no problem for our Jack Russell Terrier to stay with us at no extra charge. The family run concern provides excellent, very friendly customer service and nothing is too much. The food is of a good quality and was half price at lunch time making it exceptionally amazing value. We will definitely be looking to stay here again when we visit Banbury again...

Reviewed by
Nick S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury stay... Beautiful little village!
Had such a lovely welcome after a tiring trip down from Southampton. To then be taken up to our beautiful room, very comfy and good night sleep. A nice shower in the morning and a free breakfast!
Would love to stay again as felt so comfortable, yet a really good price! Very satisfied!

Reviewed by
L Rogers

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next