No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE
The Duke of Cumberland's Head is a beautiful thatched village inn that dates from the seventeenth century. It has five bedrooms which have been decorated to a high standard. The price of the rooms includes a continental breakfast including boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, tea and coffee. Cooked breakfast is available at the weekends.

Our excellent chefs have created a delicious menu which is their interpretation of traditional pub food. The menu constantly evolves and is complemented by our specials board which reflects whatever the kitchen has sourced that day, from game and fish to locally-sourced vegetables and meat. The full menu is available 12-2:30, 6:30-9:30.

Beyond the end of the garden, there are beautiful walks through the North Oxfordshire countryside and the pub is a perfect place to stay for a weekend, being perfectly situated for Bicester village, Oxford, Chipping Norton and The Cotswolds. The pub is only five miles from junction 10 of the M40.
Picture of The Duke of Cumberland's Head, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't fault the accommodation. Warm welcome. Large room, with excellent en suite facilities. Big comfotable double bed. Didn't sample the evening meal as meeting friends elsewhere, but the menu looked wonderful.Good value.
Will certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Minshull

From Stockport, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant English Pub
A very nice pleasant English inn - a little off the beaten track but easily located with the satnav. My room was tastefully put together and the food in the bar was excellent and not too expensive (essential as there's nowhere else in the immediate vicinity). Staff were friendly and the bar well furnished and perfectly friendly to sit in as a single traveler. Nice pint of cider too.
The only issue isn't really the inn's fault. There's no wifi and the O2 and Vodafone networks are weak and don't support a data connection at anything other than painfully (and unusably) slow. As a business traveler who depends on web access this is an issue. However I travel with a variety of 3G modems and rather amazingly the 3 connection is excellent (very unusual for this to be true when O2 and Vodafone fail). I couldn't try Orange. I'd suggest if the hotel wanted to improve WiFi provision would be a good first step to ameliorate this.

Reviewed by
Kevin Woolley

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
A nice pleasant stay, room was tidy and had a fantastic en-suite (a full size corner bath!) Nice and quiet for a pub attached room. The food was superb and the beer was good in the bar. :)

Reviewed by
David K

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame
Wonderful environment, very good food and Bar area comfortable.
Small gripe was the Beer Chillers ticking over outside the bedroom window all night, so not a relaxing night.
Breakfast didn't appear as promised.
Main gripe was no hot water in the morning so cold shower-thanks.
Get those concerns sorted-Great Hotel.

Reviewed by
Nick C

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is still our favourite pub to stay in and Rob's book is a lovely extra!
My adverse views are minor but may be justified :-
1. As mentioned to Ross, I think a Main Entry in the Good Pub Guide deserves a cooked breakfast however "nice" the continental one is.
2. No type of steak on the dinner menu was surprising.
3. Nowadays I expect to find a Shiraz of some sort on the wine list - not here.
4. Help to get out of the bath (rails) are needed and are found in other such hostelries.

Reviewed by
David Jackman

From CROYDON, England
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty towers
We arrived early evening having been stuck in the car for over 7 hours, driving, accidents on the motorway and one area was flooded etc. Checked in thinking a quick shower before a bite of dinner.
The room was a small not very clean double with mismatched chipped furniture with no where to hang clothes save for a plastic coat hanger on the back of the door. No shower, but a bath with a shower attachment. Only problem there was no hot water. Popped down to reception to be told that the kitchen staff had used all the hot water and to try it again in 30 to 40 minutes. Not only did we not have any hot water that night but none the next morning either. And it wasn't just us! The excuse was because it was a listed building they couldn't put in the appropriate plumbing and that it had always been a problem!!!! There were also no cups in the room to have coffee, another trip down to reception. No where to plug the kettle in except on the floor by the spare radiator. I guess the heatings not up to much either. Their description lists this as decorated to high standard, not from what we saw.. Even worse the breakfast. Yes you could have boiled eggs and toast if you cooked it yourself in the most filthy egg boiler I've ever seen. Eergh. There was certainly no fresh fruit. My husband had to ask for some milk for his packet of cereal. Two loaves of sliced bread sat on the table with a jar of coffee and bowl of sugar, along with a couple of packets of cereal,, a basket with some uncooked eggs and a bowl with what looked like tinned grapefruit. No thought or time was given to presentation in any way shape or form. I felt embarrassed overhearing a family (possibly from Australia or NZ) also complaining about the nest of spiders in their room and no hot water. What must they think of British hospitality having stayed here. p.s apparently the spiders were because of the thatched roof.......

Reviewed by
kATHY O

From Bangor, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delizioso
Delizioso edificio, accoglienza cordiale a noi e ai nostri 3 Scottish Terriers, stanze molto curate e pulite, ottima cena in ambiente di atmosfera. Da consigliare

Reviewed by
Marina Vigevani

From Arese (MI), Italy
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quasi perfetto!
La camera spaziosa, calda, pulita (eccetto per un ragno gigante in bagno, ma siamo in campagna!) letti confortevoli. Nessun rumore nonostante sia sopra ad un pub
abbiamo cenato nel pub tutte le sere, cibo delizioso!
I proprietari simpatici e disponibilissimi.
a parte la disavventura con il ragno il soggiorno è stato perfetto!

Reviewed by
Daria M

From Italy
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tranquilidad y buena relación calidad-precio
Un lugar muy tranquilo y bien situado para conocer todo un entorno lleno de naturaleza y pueblos con mucho encanto. Buena atención y servicio. Quizá deberían mejorar las moquetas de la habitación, que estaban algo deterioradas, y el café en el desayuno. Buena relación calidad-precio

Reviewed by
Salvador Manuel M

From Sevilla, Spain
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8