The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3

Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (56)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • IVOR H

  • August 2013

Perfect village inn with great accomodation.

Lovely country pub in a quiet hamlet, everything here is well thought out and of a high standard.

Plenty of safe parking, great beer garden, homely bar, Great value for money and friendly personable staff. Huge family room with smart furniture away from the rest of the pub. Food is standard pub fare but very well done. Breakfast is included (great for family of four...) it's continental and basic but absolutely fine. You'll like it here.

  • G Barnett

  • August 2013

Disappointing

Stayed here last year, quaint thatched old inn.

Some what grubby corridors with slug trails over carpet, shower didn't work, (not enough water supply supposed to be corrected this week)

Drinks expensive, Food, starter of of anti pasti for two £13.00 was very poor like a packet out of Asda, but main meal of skate was wonderful. Seems to have lost its way over the last year.

Management was unconcerned when we pointed these items out.

  • S Jones

  • August 2013

Definitely worth a visit

A lovely pub serving excellent food, service was also excellent.

Only slightly put out about the music and conversation I could hear till after 4am. But all in all a very pleasant stay and for the price we paid would definitely stay again

  • GRAHAM TEDFORD

  • August 2013

  • S Watson

  • August 2013

.

Nice clean room - watch out for low beams throughout though .

Thoroughly charming - exactly what we wanted, thanks

  • Peter Denby

  • July 2013

A pleasant surprise

Normally you get what you pay for, but The Duke proved that's not always the case.

Lovely setting, historic building (so not 5 star, but for me so much better than that), extremely helpful and friendly staff - including setting up the Aunt Sally game for us in the pleasant garden and hints as to how to play the game, good food and drink, bargain price. Anytime I'm in the area I know where I'll be trying to book a room

  • Katy L

  • July 2013

Lovely quaint b&b

Lovely village pub and b&b in a beautiful location within great distance to Upper Heyford Driving experience where we were heading the next day.

The rooms were very floral but clean and tidy with everything you would need or expect for a short stay. Due to some recent refurbishment that had finished earlier that day there was a problem with the water in our room and she shower did not work, However the friendly welcoming staff were happy to help and did not charge us for the stay as there was nothing they could do to fix the problem straight away. This was a very kind and appreciated gesture. Breakfast was basic but fine :)

  • sylvia pass

  • July 2013

The staff were amazing and the food out of this world.

Will be staying there again.

  • Kate O

  • July 2013

excellent value and quirky venue at Duke of Cumberland

Fantastic value for money, booked on spur of the moment, but what a treat.

Great menu in the bar, couple of real ales at reasonable prices, really nice staff, tiny but perfectly-formed bedroom, and super garden, with good parking. What's not to love about this hotel/inn?!

  • M Smith

  • June 2013

Generally good would stay again.

Only issue tv stop working