No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE
The Duke of Cumberland's Head is a beautiful thatched village inn that dates from the seventeenth century. It has five bedrooms which have been decorated to a high standard. The price of the rooms includes a continental breakfast including boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, tea and coffee. Cooked breakfast is available at the weekends.

Our excellent chefs have created a delicious menu which is their interpretation of traditional pub food. The menu constantly evolves and is complemented by our specials board which reflects whatever the kitchen has sourced that day, from game and fish to locally-sourced vegetables and meat. The full menu is available 12-2:30, 6:30-9:30.

Beyond the end of the garden, there are beautiful walks through the North Oxfordshire countryside and the pub is a perfect place to stay for a weekend, being perfectly situated for Bicester village, Oxford, Chipping Norton and The Cotswolds. The pub is only five miles from junction 10 of the M40.
Picture of The Duke of Cumberland's Head, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise
Normally you get what you pay for, but The Duke proved that's not always the case. Lovely setting, historic building (so not 5 star, but for me so much better than that), extremely helpful and friendly staff - including setting up the Aunt Sally game for us in the pleasant garden and hints as to how to play the game, good food and drink, bargain price. Anytime I'm in the area I know where I'll be trying to book a room

Reviewed by
Peter Denby

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were amazing and the food out of this world. Will be staying there again.

Reviewed by
sylvia pass

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally good would stay again.
Only issue tv stop working

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff , pleasant surroundings , good value for money.
We had a 3 night stay as a base for touring the Cotswold ,friendly staff , pleasant surroundings , good value for money.

Reviewed by
adrian heaton

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended !
Pretty location and beer garden, lovely place to stop for long or short stop off, carpets a little tired in the room we stopped in but always clean and lovely comfortable bed and room with piping hot water and fresh linnen and lovely pleasant staff this is the second time we have stayed and can recomend the Duke of Ciumberlands Head significantly higher than a lot of high class 4 and 5 star hotels we have used.

Reviewed by
A Ecclesfield

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rural Hideaway
This place offered a friendly welcome, great food, nice beer in a characterful inn in a rural backwater. We stayed four nights this time and will stay there again next time we're in that area

Reviewed by
John C

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
Excellent accomodation, clean and comfortable with good facilities. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
S Anderson

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quaint b&b
Lovely village pub and b&b in a beautiful location within great distance to Upper Heyford Driving experience where we were heading the next day. The rooms were very floral but clean and tidy with everything you would need or expect for a short stay. Due to some recent refurbishment that had finished earlier that day there was a problem with the water in our room and she shower did not work, However the friendly welcoming staff were happy to help and did not charge us for the stay as there was nothing they could do to fix the problem straight away. This was a very kind and appreciated gesture. Breakfast was basic but fine :)

Reviewed by
Katy L

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value and quirky venue at Duke of Cumberland
Fantastic value for money, booked on spur of the moment, but what a treat! Great menu in the bar, couple of real ales at reasonable prices, really nice staff, tiny but perfectly-formed bedroom, and super garden, with good parking. What's not to love about this hotel/inn?!

Reviewed by
Kate O

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
first impression was very good but discovered on checking in the pub was closed for refurbishment the next day for a few days so felt as though I was being pushed out before I had begun my stay. It would have been nice to have been informed prior to booking. I would have stayed elsewhere. Thankfully there wasn't too much noise or disturbance when I was there but again I did feel rushed. Would not stay again but it wouldn't stop me recommending to others if asked as situation was "a one off." Didn't eat at pub. Time range for check in was very good.

Reviewed by
l lazenby

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next