No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Duke of Cumberland's Head

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Clifton, Banbury, OX15 0PE
The Duke of Cumberland's Head is a beautiful thatched village inn that dates from the seventeenth century. It has five bedrooms which have been decorated to a high standard. The price of the rooms includes a continental breakfast including boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, tea and coffee. Cooked breakfast is available at the weekends.

Our excellent chefs have created a delicious menu which is their interpretation of traditional pub food. The menu constantly evolves and is complemented by our specials board which reflects whatever the kitchen has sourced that day, from game and fish to locally-sourced vegetables and meat. The full menu is available 12-2:30, 6:30-9:30.

Beyond the end of the garden, there are beautiful walks through the North Oxfordshire countryside and the pub is a perfect place to stay for a weekend, being perfectly situated for Bicester village, Oxford, Chipping Norton and The Cotswolds. The pub is only five miles from junction 10 of the M40.
Picture of The Duke of Cumberland's Head, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Stayed here last year, quaint thatched old inn. Some what grubby corridors with slug trails over carpet, shower didn't work, (not enough water supply supposed to be corrected this week)
Drinks expensive, Food, starter of of anti pasti for two £13.00 was very poor like a packet out of Asda, but main meal of skate was wonderful. Seems to have lost its way over the last year.
Management was unconcerned when we pointed these items out.

Reviewed by
G Barnett

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely worth a visit
A lovely pub serving excellent food, service was also excellent. Only slightly put out about the music and conversation I could hear till after 4am. But all in all a very pleasant stay and for the price we paid would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
GRAHAM TEDFORD

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Cumberland's head stay
The Hotel room was at a bargain price and ideally situated in a quaint Oxfordshire village within an easy drive from Oxford, The Food was superb and the booking and payment was simplicity itself. The buffet breakfast was also very good. Our room with its creaky floorboards was small but perfectly OK for an overnight stay, with its own on suite.

Reviewed by
ray norton

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
Nice clean room - watch out for low beams throughout though !
Thoroughly charming - exactly what we wanted, thanks

Reviewed by
S Watson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise
Normally you get what you pay for, but The Duke proved that's not always the case. Lovely setting, historic building (so not 5 star, but for me so much better than that), extremely helpful and friendly staff - including setting up the Aunt Sally game for us in the pleasant garden and hints as to how to play the game, good food and drink, bargain price. Anytime I'm in the area I know where I'll be trying to book a room

Reviewed by
Peter Denby

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were amazing and the food out of this world. Will be staying there again.

Reviewed by
sylvia pass

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally good would stay again.
Only issue tv stop working

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff , pleasant surroundings , good value for money.
We had a 3 night stay as a base for touring the Cotswold ,friendly staff , pleasant surroundings , good value for money.

Reviewed by
adrian heaton

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended !
Pretty location and beer garden, lovely place to stop for long or short stop off, carpets a little tired in the room we stopped in but always clean and lovely comfortable bed and room with piping hot water and fresh linnen and lovely pleasant staff this is the second time we have stayed and can recomend the Duke of Ciumberlands Head significantly higher than a lot of high class 4 and 5 star hotels we have used.

Reviewed by
A Ecclesfield

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next