No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Nags Head

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
London Road, , , Great Missenden, HP16 0DG
A 10 minute walk from the centre of Great Missenden is the Nags Head Hotel, a 4 star 15th Century inn. Guests can enjoy contemporary styled interiors, Anglo-French fusion cuisine and free Wi-Fi. Each en-suite room is individually designed, some featuring original wood beams and all boasting modern fittings. Views look out onto the surrounding countryside and the Nag’s Head’s own large garden. The hotel’s kitchen has been awarded an AA Rosette and ingredients are sourced locally wherever possible. The bar area also features a selection of real ales and has an impressive open fire. Nearby Great Missenden is home to the Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre, and in the local area there are many quaint villages and pretty country walks to discover. The village can be reached from central London via the Underground system to Amersham or via rail links from Great Missenden itself.
Picture of The Nags Head, Great Missenden at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small and over-priced but food and atmosphere were lovely
While the room was newly refurbed, clean and fresh, it was small for the £115 we paid. The mattress and pillows felt cheap and the toilet was in an alcove only suitable for skinny people. Downstairs, the menu was great and the food and general atmosphere of the place met our expectations. I would not recommend this pub for a romantic break if you want a special room but it's ideal to get away from town for a gastropub dinner and nice wine.

Reviewed by
Rob M

From Southend-on-Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort away
Very warm friendly welcome. Relaxed atmosphere with good attention to our needs. Room and en suite were beautiful, just as advertised and spotlessly clean. Must say the bed was so comfortable.

Reviewed by
M Cray

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub accommodation with fabulous restaurant
Restaurant is superb - good menu, well cooked, good wine list at reasonable prices. Excellent service. Bedroom good except for continuing horrible smells from the kitchen, apparently coming into our bathroom. Do not stay in rooms 4 or 5 - hopefully the others will be ok. We will come again to eat, but will not stay in one of those two rooms.

Reviewed by
P Scott

From Crickhowell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Little Place
Stayed here 2 consecutive weeks now and have been very impressed on both occasions with the excellent friendly customer service, the food is great and the accommodation is very good considering the old building.
I have already booked next business trip stay here.

Reviewed by
GARY RICHARDSON

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Few Changes
I last visited the Nag's Head 25 years ago and it has certainly changed. A really careful and thorough refurbishment make it an excellent base for a short stay. Also to be recommended are the lovely food and very friendly, welcoming staff. The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated; not huge but not cramped either, just as you would expect in a country pub. For information, it's just under a mile from Gt Missenden itself and there are no streetlights for most of the way, though there is a footpath.

Reviewed by
Jerry S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Nags Head
Didn't actually stay here because Laterooms had double booked so no roooms were available, however the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and even offered to find me alternative accomodation. I had an email confirming the cancellation in minutes - if the customer service is anything to go by then I'll be staying next time I'm in the area

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
We had an excellent stop-over. Staff were welcoming & helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our meals in the restaurant were of a very good quality and the evening dining experience was very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Terry L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.