No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Nags Head

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
London Road, , , Great Missenden, HP16 0DG
The Nags Head in Great Missenden, Buckinghamshire is a traditional 15th century pub and Inn situated along the valley of the River Misbourne in the Chiltern Hills in Buckinghamshire. Great Missenden is a large village in the valley of the River Misbourne in the Chiltern Hills in Buckinghamshire between Amersham and Wendover.

It closely adjoins the villages of Little Missenden and Prestwood. Great Missenden at the head of the Misbourne valley is an attractive small town, with a long curving High Street of half timbered and Georgian shops, a graciously proportioned Baptist Church and a number of traditional pubs. Church Street is full of interesting old houses and leads, via a bridge over the by - pass, to the mainly 14th century Parish Church of St. Peter and St. Paul. Great Missenden has been host to a variety of famous people over the centuries, including Robert Louis Stevenson (author of Treasure Island). The village is now best known as home to the late Roald Dahl, the internationally famous children's author.

The newly refurbished Nags Head keeps all of its original features, including a large inglenook fireplace and old oak beams, but there's a new bar, a new kitchen and stylish new furnishings throughout. Known for its fine dining, The Nags Head serves a new menu of English and French fusion cooking.
Picture of The Nags Head, Great Missenden at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort away
Very warm friendly welcome. Relaxed atmosphere with good attention to our needs. Room and en suite were beautiful, just as advertised and spotlessly clean. Must say the bed was so comfortable.

Reviewed by
M Cray

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great pub accommodation with fabulous restaurant
Restaurant is superb - good menu, well cooked, good wine list at reasonable prices. Excellent service. Bedroom good except for continuing horrible smells from the kitchen, apparently coming into our bathroom. Do not stay in rooms 4 or 5 - hopefully the others will be ok. We will come again to eat, but will not stay in one of those two rooms.

Reviewed by
P Scott

From Crickhowell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Little Place
Stayed here 2 consecutive weeks now and have been very impressed on both occasions with the excellent friendly customer service, the food is great and the accommodation is very good considering the old building.
I have already booked next business trip stay here.

Reviewed by
GARY RICHARDSON

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Few Changes
I last visited the Nag's Head 25 years ago and it has certainly changed. A really careful and thorough refurbishment make it an excellent base for a short stay. Also to be recommended are the lovely food and very friendly, welcoming staff. The room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated; not huge but not cramped either, just as you would expect in a country pub. For information, it's just under a mile from Gt Missenden itself and there are no streetlights for most of the way, though there is a footpath.

Reviewed by
Jerry S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Nags Head
Didn't actually stay here because Laterooms had double booked so no roooms were available, however the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and even offered to find me alternative accomodation. I had an email confirming the cancellation in minutes - if the customer service is anything to go by then I'll be staying next time I'm in the area

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
We had an excellent stop-over. Staff were welcoming & helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our meals in the restaurant were of a very good quality and the evening dining experience was very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Terry L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stopover
Very pleased with service, lovely warm welcome. Had not booked for a meal but were given an early table that suited us. Excellent food. french influence, but plenty of food on plate!
Bar area decorated with Quentin Blake illustrations from Roald Dahl books. It was apparently Dahl's local inn.
Room over bar but after 11pm, very quiet, so no problems getting to sleep. Excellent facilities in room and great ensuite. If you are a "Big Friendly Giant", watch out for the low ceiling as you enter the room!

Reviewed by
Terry L

From Lichfield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place is real treasure

Reviewed by
gary f

From Llanon, UK
Who stayed in September 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.