No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Harrington House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
, Cheltenham, GL54 2BY
Harrington House, Bourton-on-the-Water, Cheltenham, Gloucs, GL54 2BY

Harrington House dates from the Tudor period, and is just 100 yards from the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water. This charming and peaceful location is ideal for a relaxing stay. During your stay you can relax with a drink in our elegant lounges, or perhaps enjoy a game of croquet in our attractive gardens.

This is an ideal location from which to explore the Cotswolds. Chipping Campden, Stow-on-the-Wold and Hidcote Gardens are all within easy reach; with Stratford-upon-Avon, Blenheim Palace, Oxford and Warwick all possible day trips. For walkers have a well equipped boot and drying room, and an excellent selection of maps, guidebooks and walk directions which guests can borrow.

Communal dining at fixed dinner times.
Picture of Harrington House, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed with the room

Reviewed by
M Wakefield

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel & location
This hotel is tucked away behind the high street so it is nice and quiet. Room was large and well furnished, good shower and very comfortable beds.
The food was excellent, there was a great choice of breakfast food and the cooked breakfast was really good. Good portions too.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
D Edmondson

From Heathfield, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location very close to main high street
Only stayed one night. Room was a twin and quite small bathroom was a good size. Lovely view over back lawn and very peaceful nights sleep.

Reviewed by
D RAYMOND

From Shanklin, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite clean
Quite clean efficient srvice

Reviewed by
James O

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful hotel, delicious food, excellent location, friendly efficient staff, no complaints at all
Lovely hotel, rooms very comfortable and very clean. Bathroom a little dated but clean and perfectly adequate and shower pressure really good with plenty of hot water. We slept well as it was so quiet and peaceful even though the hotel is literally around the corner from the centre of Bourton on the water. We were staying just the one night as a stop over but the majority of people were there on walking holidays and we did have to point this out a few times as it seemed there were a few formalities associated with the walking groups that didn't apply to us, but it wasn't a problem to remind them.. We were just bed and breakfast, the breakfast was smashing. Plenty of choice, cereals fruit organic yogurts and almost any combinations of cooked breakfast you could wish for, which was absolutely delicious and the dining room staff couldn't be more friendly and efficient. We ate breakfast at tables set for 10,so very much a social group type environment but everyone was so friendly it was very nice. Altogether a very enjoyable place to stay and should we be back in the area we would stay again definitely, extremely good value for money.

Reviewed by
Debbie S

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful building and grounds, great location and the manager was very friendly and helpful, really enjoyed our stay!

Reviewed by
A Hoad

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only one night
I only stayed for 10 hours as it was a stop off. Room was clean but a little tired of decor. Bathroom seems to have been recently renovated and was v clean. My room was a little cold and I thought that they would have left the radiator on to air the room.
At break fast I didn't want a cooked full English which put the staff out a bit. They didn't let me sit alone either which was odd as there was plenty of space and hotel wasn't full. Can't really comment too deeply on my stay as it was so short.

Reviewed by
G James

From Wrexham, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VERY PLEASANT IM SURE, BUT I WAS ILL :(
I had to leave the hotel early the next day, so didn’t have breakfast here, i was ill with a bad cough and cold. the room was ok though and bourton is so pretty, its a shame i didn’t see much of it at this time, would def go back.

Reviewed by
michelle wilson

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap Cotswold getaway
Hotel has lovely exterior and lawns but the interior leaves a lot to be desired. Our room was in an adjacent house with our room facing directly onto the road, clean facilities but in an old building. The hotel is apparently often used for large walking groups and, although they were extremely nice people, we had no choice but to join their table for meals. Not quite the overnight experience we had planned, but accept that we hadn't paid much for the stay and it showed.

Reviewed by
Patricia U

From Buckingham, England
Who stayed in August 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2