No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dial House Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Bourton on the Water, GL54 2AN
The Hotel is situated in idyllic surroundings and is built from the famous mellow Cotswold Stone. The Dial House dates back to 1698 and is the oldest building still standing in the village - it even pre-dates the bridges over the River WIndrush.The Dial House is a beautifully decorated country house style hotel with individually designed bedrooms from luxury four poster beds to our cosy and intimate romantic room. It is an excellent base from which to enjoy the Cotwolds and villages such as Broadway, Chipping Camden, Upper and Lower Slaughter and of course the nearby Spa town of Cheltenham.

If great food forms part of your ideal break away then dine our restaurant where head chef Jamie Forman has been awarded 2 rosettes for his excellent cuisine. Special dining packages are available together with private dining rooms for special occasions.

Please note that children under 12 are not accepted as residents at the hotel.
Picture of The Dial House Hotel & Restaurant, Bourton on the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic Retreat
The hotel was gorgeous and situated in an idyllic setting, however felt the bar was smaller than expected. More importantly very disappointed that the 'spa' turned out to be a hot tub in the garden and this was one of the reasons this venue had been chosen.

Reviewed by
J W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very small for a hotel of this quality of accomodation. To get into the hot tub there was only household steps which was not very professional. The outside area where the hot tub was not swept the whole time we were there with moss from the roof. Felt it was very poor

Reviewed by
lynn sale

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful stay
We stayed for just one night and every aspect of our stay was perfect. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Annalise M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Dial Hotel Bourton on the Water
I stayed one night at The Dial Hotel arrived at 15:00 to a warm and friendly welcoming from a young gentleman who was very helpful, who carried our suitcase to our room. The room was very impressive clean and catered to all our needs. Had a very peaceful good nights sleep. Breakfast was good served by the very friendly staff. I will be going back there for its very central location

Reviewed by
Edward S

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and quiet - and superb breakfast
We stayed in the separate coachhouse, which although lacking some of the character of the main building was still supremely comfortable. No proper shower in the bath though, which was a bit of a shame. Breakfast was very good indeed - I'd go back there for the full English alone...

Reviewed by
Ben B

From Stockbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptionally Good Hotel - A Real Joy to Stay In
This hotel surpassed all our expectations. The service was unusually good and we felt truly looked after throughout our stay. The building is old and beautiful and much thought has gone into the decor. The bedroom was very comfortable, the bath enormous and the restaurant a delight. Very good value all round. I have stayed in many hotels which often blur into "sameness" but this one is original in all the right ways. We will definitely be returning. I cannot recommend it enough - particularly for a romantic get away.

Reviewed by
Catherine O

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff extremely helpful, we were there for the second night of new restaurant, how lucky we were the French/ English cuisine was to die for ! perfect position for touring the Cotswolds.

Reviewed by
brian r

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Black Hole
when we arrived we were told we had been given an upgrade, we had room 3 which was like the black hole! decor was all very dark brown! no windows had been opened and it was a very hot day, and because the room was so dark it absorbed the heat. the best part of the room was the ensuite which was pale creams and whites. please, please, please change the decor to light colours, i wouldn't be in a hurry to book there again unless the room was lighter. also whatever happened to a proper shower over the bath, as someone who has back and knee problems, a free standing bath with a hand shower was useless. good job we only stayed one night.

Reviewed by
D KING

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.